By Election for Hougang

926 Posts 87 Posters 205.8k Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

No one would mock them if they didn't treat us like idiots in the way they dig their heels into their policies (especially education policy). Come on, who truly believed that All Schools Are Good? No one would mock them if they didn't gloss over the truth with ineffectual denials. Come on, who truly believed that PSLE standards did not rise over the years? No one would mock them if they TOOK RESPONSIBILITY. Come on, which parent believes the MOE line that ONLY parents are to blame for the tuition phenomenon?

At the very least, SHARE the responsibility with parents instead of pushing it all to us. It takes TWO hands to clap.
      Intermezzo:
      Come on Chen... it's very sian to come into some innocuous-looking thread hoping for a glimpse of CSM's cute smile and running smack into the same old moan..

Please don't try to speak for all the parents. For every parent complaining and making noise about education, there might be another 2 whose kids are happy and enjoying school. Of course the one making more noise gets your attention, right?
      For every parent whose kids are happy... there might be 10 whose kids are not. You don't know, do you? In almost every poll we have run, do you see happy parents in the polling results?
      Intermezzo:
      Just to answer your questions above..

1. Yes I believe that in Singapore, all schools are good. Or at least, good enough.

2. Yes of course I believe that PSLE's standard went up over the years.
      Frankly, I'd be more worried if it didn't. And I'd be very worried if it remains stagnant since my time, ie a whole generation ago.
      So why did MOE say it did not? The issue isn't that it DIDN'T go up. Of course we did. But why did MOE say it did not?
      Intermezzo:
      The process of Learning is getting more fun. (Ipad!) The sharing of knowledge-related resources is getting so easy with better books and the TV and internet. Human knowledge and intelligence are progressing, of course the exams must change to cater to that, otherwise it's just too boring for the kids, right?
      Your kids have iPADS in school? How many schools use iPADS? Clearly, you belong to a privileged category? It may be good to care a little more about those less privileged. So whilst your school has iPAD, other schools without iPADS are good enough for other kids?
      Intermezzo:
      3. Did MOE say that \"ONLY parents are to blame for the tuition phenomenon\"?
      Honestly, I didn't read that anywhere. But yes, I think parents are LARGELY to blame for the tuition phenomenon.
      Has MOE indicated that the responsibility is shared? Has MOE accepted to take the lead to get us out of the mess?
      Intermezzo:
      People say that not all schools are same good.. a handful are MUCH better than others.. Much better resources Much better teachers Much better computers Much better canteen food blah blah blah..

Then take NYPS. One of the top primary school in singapore, right?
      With the best resources best worksheets etc etc etc right? So of course, there should be no need for NYPS students to waste money on tuition right?
      Then how come 70 or 80% of the students still go for tuition / enrichment?

Parents sent them what.....
      I've never said parents are not to blame. It's everyone's fault. However, we are still waiting for someone to lead us out of the mess.
      Intermezzo:
      Parents need to believe in themselves. No need to do the 一窝蜂 thing for tuition like singaporeans do with any good hawker food. No need to succumb to peer pressure or scare tactics or posters put up by tuition centres. This is your own kids you're talking about. Observe them, be interested in what they have to say and what they want to show you, and think for yourselves the best ways to motivate and encourage them.

Is it possible to do well in the PSLE without tuition? Of course. Hundreds and thousands of kids have done that. My kids have done that, and frankly, the so-called \"method\" i used is so simple that i would feel very embarrassed about sharing it, or even just calling it a \"method\" at all. It is nothing more than just common sense.
      You are obviously a highly educated parent with the intellectual capacity to help your children. What you can do, other parents are unable to do.
      Intermezzo:
      Can MOE change for the better? Of course, but then, so can anyone of us.
      Is MOE really world class as it claims? Frankly, i couldn't care less what it decides to call itself.
      Ok. So change.
      Intermezzo:
      When it comes to education for my kids, what I am concerned about is doing what I can do to get the best out of whatever system we are in, rather than to let the system get the better of me.
      My DD did well in PSLE without tuition either.
      My DS does reasonably well without tuition.
      We can individually all do our best to get the best out of the system... but why put up with a system that tries to get the better of us?

What's wrong with wanting...
      (1) better textbooks
      (2) a national sharing database for teachers?
      Intermezzo:
      Come on Chen... it's very sian to come into some innocuous-looking thread hoping for a glimpse of CSM's cute smile and running smack into the same old moan..
      You are sian because you are at the top of the heap and have no patience with the rest who aren't. For you, it's a matter of a cute smile only... for me, it's a matter of national policy, and therefore relevant to a thread such as this.

php

Hee, he better dun make it into a habit. TPL mentioned about someone before for dropping tears right? Anyway, he was only in HG for a year right? Not twenty, not sure how he got so emo about it leh.

wow...DC not only good painter but also good actor....

ttlkbs:

Feel really sad that pple here are getting more like Taiwan, mocking at our government becomes an entertainment to them!

ttlkbs, I can resonate with you. There's a part on this thread that I refused to join in, because I didn't think it appropriate to associate elections with entertainment, and that it should even be celebrated with :rahrah: However, as things moved on and with twists of things, my mindset changed. I was :yikes: , then :nailbite: , then 😓 , and :sick: and :skeptical: then :lightrod: , then :? and :please: and :frustrated: :stompfeet: :slapshead: :stupid: :mad: :rant: :nunchuk: ......So, don't you think it feels like watching a movie? - Unless, that is, one has missed out important scenes along the way and 🤷 :scratchhead: :siao: :roll: ...

Hee hee...

can you please compose a message 100% using emoticon only ?

concern2

can you please compose a message 100% using emoticon only ?
            :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rubhands:
            :roll: :scratchhead: :idea: :offtopic:

• MMMM Offline
              MMM

Hee, he better dun make it into a habit. TPL mentioned about someone before for dropping tears right? Anyway, he was only in HG for a year right? Not twenty, not sure how he got so emo about it leh.

:idea: If he eventually cannot become a HG MP, Mediacorp can employ him and maybe he can become best actor/ newcomer with his \"yan tao\" face.

• O Offline
                Oppsgal

:rotflmao: But pay so high? If want to hire must think first :?

fightingmom

[quote=\"hquek\"]Hee, he better dun make it into a habit. TPL mentioned about someone before for dropping tears right? Anyway, he was only in HG for a year right? Not twenty, not sure how he got so emo about it leh.

:idea: If he eventually cannot become a HG MP, Mediacorp can employ him and maybe he can become best actor/ newcomer with his \"yan tao\" face.[/quote]Then he got to eat his campaign slogan liao \"always there for you\" !

php

[quote=\"hquek\"]Hee, he better dun make it into a habit. TPL mentioned about someone before for dropping tears right? Anyway, he was only in HG for a year right? Not twenty, not sure how he got so emo about it leh.

:idea: If he eventually cannot become a HG MP, Mediacorp can employ him and maybe he can become best actor/ newcomer with his \"yan tao\" face.

Then he got to eat his campaign slogan liao \"always there for you\" !

:siam:[/quote]Don't need to worry for him la....his master already charted out his political career path....he is in his early 30s...excluding this BE, he still can fight for another GE...by then if he still can't take HG, he will probably say bye-bye HG, tag along with a minister in a GRC and receives his monthly $15k reward for his \"loyalty and hardwork\" in HG...by then, you will see whether he will drop tears for HG voters or not....

Joule

he’s working in NTUC

that means…he’s very free

wah lau, double dipping man. Got NTUC "cho bo" pay and got MP allowance some more

HUAT AH

concern2

Don't need to worry for him la....his master already charted out his political career path....he is in his early 30s...excluding this BE, he still can fight for another GE...by then if he still can't take HG, he will probably say bye-bye HG, tag along with a minister in a GRC and receives his monthly $15k reward for his \"loyalty and hardwork\" in HG...by then, you will see whether he will drop tears for HG voters or not....
                        ?? So the highlight was this onie ah? Hm..It's cooling off day hor...better don't talk too much.. :censored:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 63 / 93

motherhoood_loveM
                        motherhoood_love

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies
                        SkillsFuture course recommendations