Club 2010 Kids
one tips for this age on alphabets: show them leap frog letter factory–> after like few viewing they can pick up just like that. DD (now coming to 5) and DS learn from leap frog no other extra materials… then i just write the alphabets on board poitn one by one ask them to say the letter and the sound…colours, DS still not very sure… most things he will say green or blue… haizzz… am doing soem colouring matching games, he can match but cant say 100% correctly yet… shapes he picks up from school he knows the basic shapes including oval like an egg…puzzles so far so good… we are doing 8 pieces now in SM.
There are so much to pick up… but i feel at this age, they pick up effortlessly… so just input input input… they may not show that they know now… but just one day they shock u with those things u have taught them before… this is experience i got from my DD…
Ganbate all! -
Always21:
My 23 month girl knows basic colours, But only knows letter A. Loved to play blocks and 6 piece puzzles. She can ride a scooter on her own. Hope to sent her to school next year to learn all her letters and numbers.
I'm not sure if my boy actually knows colors, but he has a habit to sometimes sort his mega blocks by colors & he gets about 90% correct. But when I teach him the names of the colors he tags what he sees & says wrongly 90% of the time.
He loves riding his mini car (use leg to push along) & he does the same on the tricycle too coz his feet can't fully reach the front foot paddles. -
I've got the leap frog laptop! My DS1 (4 this yr) used to like it but finds it boring now. I find the educational games on the iPad very useful for learning too... But supervision is required coz they might select other stuff to play, especially YouTube videos. Sigh, recently DS1 has been watching angry birds space version & dunno what rude orange videos. I delete all history but he can still find the videos!!!

I am sending my dd2 who is born in Dec to half day kindergarten in Jan next yr. Wonder whether it is safe for her to take school bus as she will only turn 2 yo when entering school. Any kind advise?
erista:
I wasn't aware that childcare were so popular till I check around my neighborhood few months back, it's like \"Sorrie, we are full\", \"Sorrie, only got vacancy next year\".... :sad: I think I was lucky considering that I managed to get one that I like and not too far away from my place, now just hoping that I made the rite decision.... :xedfingers:
I super kiasu, when he was only few months old I called up the childcare that my older boy goes to, to book a place already. Hehe... We are assured that he is on priority list already.
My DS2 is born in June... I now headache buying stuff for his bday goodie bag. Ordered some stuff from Qoo10 (G Market), seller texted us that dont have enough stocks!
As for the goodie bag, you can try these sites:-
http://www.bagagoodie.com/pre-packed_party_bags
http://www.kidzgoodies.com/eshop.php?view=productListPage&category=1
http://www.partyinabag.com.sg/
http://www.klassic.com.sg/index.asp?gclid=COnJr8zRk7ACFQp76wodnQGfkg -
micollh:
just to share DS 27 months now.. can recognise A-Z and their sounds.. numbers 1-5 nia.. but can recite 1-30.. am still trying on this part.. he can join two items together in lines using pencil.. circle still very crooked.. stright lines usually is wavy lines.. talks like nobody business.. teacher said he talks a lot.. haven get him to cycle.. i saw some his age can cycle on tricyle.. he at home just sit on the tricycle and ask us to push him..
My DS now almost 18mths liao dun even know how to call mommy...teach him ABC he point to something else, ask him to point 'A' to mommy, he point anything else but 'A' ...
but he can point Cat to me...and I was so happy when he did that
Ymom:
Hi Ymon, u may want to try showing him flashcards for alphabet. My dd2 who might be same mth as yr turning to 18 mths next mth recognize A-Z and certin numbers although sometimes she didn't follow me to read up the letters. I showed her flashcards almost 3 times a day. Maybe yr ds knew the letters but refused to point to u. My dd2 called me mummy when she is abt 8 mo but now she refused to call me mummy, instead she called me daddy or ah ma - her grandmother. Quite sad....micollh:
just to share DS 27 months now.. can recognise A-Z and their sounds.. numbers 1-5 nia.. but can recite 1-30.. am still trying on this part.. he can join two items together in lines using pencil.. circle still very crooked.. stright lines usually is wavy lines.. talks like nobody business.. teacher said he talks a lot.. haven get him to cycle.. i saw some his age can cycle on tricyle.. he at home just sit on the tricycle and ask us to push him..
My DS now almost 18mths liao dun even know how to call mommy...teach him ABC he point to something else, ask him to point 'A' to mommy, he point anything else but 'A' ...
but he can point Cat to me...and I was so happy when he did that 
ectanz:
Hi Ectanz,
Hi Ymon, u may want to try showing him flashcards for alphabet. My dd2 who might be same mth as yr turning to 18 mths next mth recognize A-Z and certin numbers although sometimes she didn't follow me to read up the letters. I showed her flashcards almost 3 times a day. Maybe yr ds knew the letters but refused to point to u. My dd2 called me mummy when she is abt 8 mo but now she refused to call me mummy, instead she called me daddy or ah ma - her grandmother. Quite sad....
Thanks for the suggestion, will try it out, BTW, how do you use these flash card hur? U just show and say 'A' then hide the card and proceed to the next? and how many are you suppose to show each time? Also, U buy them off the shelf or DIY? if off the shelf, can share where did you got them from?
Maybe your DD is just playing with you to see your reaction so purposely dun call you, dun be sad... well, look at the bright side, at least she can speak...mine can't speak at all, still at pointing stage, but now know how to nod for yes and shake his head for no...but sometimes he will just node his head b4 U even ask him.... -
Ymom, thanks for sharing the list of online shops where I can get goodie bags… But can’t find what I looking for. I looking for Teddy bear themed stuff as my boys absolutely loves stuffed toy bears. I seem to only find rilakuma or pooh stuff but no generic Teddy bear stuff.
Ymom:
Hi Ymon, I bought it off the shelf - kiddy palace. I juz show her A-Z and also ask her what does each letter stands for. Sometimes she refused to answer but I will juz continue. I made it a routine for her so that she will bring it to me to read to her. I will also play educational DVD for her to watch when I was preoccupied with my dd1 who is P1 this yr and doing chores.
Hi Ectanz,ectanz:
Hi Ymon, u may want to try showing him flashcards for alphabet. My dd2 who might be same mth as yr turning to 18 mths next mth recognize A-Z and certin numbers although sometimes she didn't follow me to read up the letters. I showed her flashcards almost 3 times a day. Maybe yr ds knew the letters but refused to point to u. My dd2 called me mummy when she is abt 8 mo but now she refused to call me mummy, instead she called me daddy or ah ma - her grandmother. Quite sad....
Thanks for the suggestion, will try it out, BTW, how do you use these flash card hur? U just show and say 'A' then hide the card and proceed to the next? and how many are you suppose to show each time? Also, U buy them off the shelf or DIY? if off the shelf, can share where did you got them from?
Maybe your DD is just playing with you to see your reaction so purposely dun call you, dun be sad... well, look at the bright side, at least she can speak...mine can't speak at all, still at pointing stage, but now know how to nod for yes and shake his head for no...but sometimes he will just node his head b4 U even ask him....
Are u a SAHM? I turned to SAHM abt a yr after withdrawal of my dd2 fr IFC.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.