In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching

Hi ningning,

This sister of his is no angel to begin with. If i were as cheap as her, I don’t think I would be able to gain my hubby’s respect. She stays out all night but told my hubby to go home as it was late.
      The old one told me to continue working after getting married so that her precious son will not have to support me, and give her more allowance. In her brain, the only thing in it is MONEY. It took me a long time to change hubby’s mindset that money isn’t everything. Haven’t quite succeeded but at least much better now.

Precious2.012911lee

The thing I simply can't stand about my IL is table manner. They simply eat like hungry ghosts and till today, I feel so uncomfortable eating with them. If can avoid, I try to avoid but sometimes really \"Bo bian\"! When a certain dish is nice, they will just take as much as possible for their kids and themselves, never think of others in the table. I am always slow so always ended up eating left overs. Why am i slow? Thats because i also need to SNATCH for my 2 kids! It's really \"xi bei stress\" to eat with them. The most embarrassing moment was actually at their grandma's wake. At dinner time, my SILs simply filled up their plates with mountain of crayfish and tiger prawns. Can you imagine it was a funeral yet they were eating like yummy buffet at the hotel. 😓

Precious2.lee:
          The thing I simply can't stand about my IL is table manner. They simply eat like hungry ghosts and till today, I feel so uncomfortable eating with them. If can avoid, I try to avoid but sometimes really \"Bo bian\"!

Just this year for CNY, we ate KFC. Old one said she lost her wok, so cannot cook. My SIL told me old one better not cook since her cooking isn't nice. So ordered in KFC lor. Lucky at home, or else so embarrassing to see her eat.
          Enjoying food is one thing, but it's like never eaten before.

Precious2.012911lee

Precious2.lee:

The thing I simply can't stand about my IL is table manner. They simply eat like hungry ghosts and till today, I feel so uncomfortable eating with them. If can avoid, I try to avoid but sometimes really \"Bo bian\"!

Just this year for CNY, we ate KFC. Old one said she lost her wok, so cannot cook. My SIL told me old one better not cook since her cooking isn't nice. So ordered in KFC lor. Lucky at home, or else so embarrassing to see her eat.

Exactly, they eat like never eaten before or have not eaten for a month! Moreover, my SIL is a super rice tai-tai. However, the moment she eats, alas, the image is all gone. Actually, I do not my kids to eat with them, it's really very bad influence. Imagine next time when they grow up and eat like this, :stupid: !

BeContented

Precious2.lee:

[quote=\"Precious2.lee\"]The thing I simply can't stand about my IL is table manner. They simply eat like hungry ghosts and till today, I feel so uncomfortable eating with them. If can avoid, I try to avoid but sometimes really \"Bo bian\"!

Exactly, they eat like never eaten before or have not eaten for a month! Moreover, my SIL is a super rice tai-tai. However, the moment she eats, alas, the image is all gone. Actually, I do not my kids to eat with them, it's really very bad influence. Imagine next time when they grow up and eat like this, :stupid: ![/quote]Ha! Tell me about it :rant:
              Not just the manners, hygiene lacking too.
              When they are sick, they still use their cutlery to dig/share food. Told them off repeatedly but still same. Also they will dip into chili sauce/soy sauce & instead of using new one for others, add onto same saucer for those who join later. MIL also kept those dipped & soaked chilli padi overnight by her other sons for DH - refused to waste. Well, i have managed to persuade DH to allow me to dispose once overnight. MIL also sneeze with mouth open at the dishes & will use her bare hands to touch the food.

ningning

Hi ningning,

This sister of his is no angel to begin with. If i were as cheap as her, I don't think I would be able to gain my hubby's respect. She stays out all night but told my hubby to go home as it was late.
                The old one told me to continue working after getting married so that her precious son will not have to support me, and give her more allowance. In her brain, the only thing in it is MONEY. It took me a long time to change hubby's mindset that money isn't everything. Haven't quite succeeded but at least much better now.
                Whats is wrong with these SILS?? My hubby's sister the one that i mentioned her parents pay everything for her family to her hubby's business (PILS gave her big sums to help her hubby set up a business which is exactly the same trade as them!!), she has the cheek to scold her brother \"cheapskate\" when he merely claimed some official expenses he has paid on behalf of the business!! :shock: She is totally not embarassed that if not for her parents, she cannot even set up her family so soon and keep havin babies coz her pay salary increase whenever she has a newborn mah unlike us, think if we have ten kids also no increment. Even haircut , she also claimed from business.!! I hate it most is that, she will tell her parents that the business has to cut cost on this and that(at one point so many staff leave coz low salary) and every penny spent on business even on stationary to toilet papers have to be cautious. so wow, her parents is so so happy to think she is so filial knows how to save all the money for them, but on the otherhand she and her whole clan of her hubby's family live on her parents business. Pretend to save but actually spend big on her own families, so her own MIL will love her and she will have the full respect from her hubby's whole clan. My hubby is so sick of her coz not only her hubby is their business competitor but she also leak business info to him and managed to get hold of their good customers. SHES SO DESPICABLE YET PILS STILL THINK SHE IS VERY FILIAL!!!

Yes same, my PILS and SILS their entire life and concern only evolved around on MONEY. But mine is so much so much worse and ugly .Money is so important to them that I never see them show their sympathy towards the weak and poor. They even tried left their store pet dog to painfully slowly bled to death for days at a corner at their store after the pet met a serious accident. I had brought the pet to vet and home after i learnt its poor fate through my hubby and nursed her throughout the two years before the vet put her to sleep. What i saw happend on their pet, it is wake up call for me for then, I will share the same fate too, if oneday i happened to be seriously sick and cannot contribute to their business.
                I had since left their business. If my DD was close to them what kind of values they would have cultivate on her??

tutormum

ningning:

Hi ningning,

This sister of his is no angel to begin with. If i were as cheap as her, I don't think I would be able to gain my hubby's respect. She stays out all night but told my hubby to go home as it was late.
                  The old one told me to continue working after getting married so that her precious son will not have to support me, and give her more allowance. In her brain, the only thing in it is MONEY. It took me a long time to change hubby's mindset that money isn't everything. Haven't quite succeeded but at least much better now.

Whats is wrong with these SILS?? My hubby's sister the one that i mentioned her parents pay everything for her family to her hubby's business (PILS gave her big sums to help her hubby set up a business which is exactly the same trade as them!!), she has the cheek to scold her brother \"cheapskate\" when he merely claimed some official expenses he has paid on behalf of the business!! :shock: She is totally not embarassed that if not for her parents, she cannot even set up her family so soon and keep havin babies coz her pay salary increase whenever she has a newborn mah unlike us, think if we have ten kids also no increment. Even haircut , she also claimed from business.!! I hate it most is that, she will tell her parents that the business has to cut cost on this and that(at one point so many staff leave coz low salary) and every penny spent on business even on stationary to toilet papers have to be cautious. so wow, her parents is so so happy to think she is so filial knows how to save all the money for them, but on the otherhand she and her whole clan of her hubby's family live on her parents business. Pretend to save but actually spend big on her own families, so her own MIL will love her and she will have the full respect from her hubby's whole clan. My hubby is so sick of her coz not only her hubby is their business competitor but she also leak business info to him and managed to get hold of their good customers. SHES SO DESPICABLE YET PILS STILL THINK SHE IS VERY FILIAL!!!

Yes same, my PILS and SILS their entire life and concern only evolved around on MONEY. But mine is so much so much worse and ugly .Money is so important to them that I never see them show their sympathy towards the weak and poor. They even tried left their store pet dog to painfully slowly bled to death for days at a corner at their store after the pet met a serious accident. I had brought the pet to vet and home after i learnt its poor fate through my hubby and nursed her throughout the two years before the vet put her to sleep. What i saw happend on their pet, it is wake up call for me for then, I will share the same fate too, if oneday i happened to be seriously sick and cannot contribute to their business.
                  I had since left their business. If my DD was close to them what kind of values they would have cultivate on her??

Don't bother about them. From what I can see from my DH family, just plan for your own future and don't expect anything from them. 4 of DH brothers work for the family business which officially belonged to them. MIL already put that down on her will cos she had foresight what would happen when she's gone. The 2 elders took almost everything and now 😢 😢 business bad and can't help the 2 younger ones. When PIL set up business, the 2 elders were put in charge. They raised their families with the business and claimed the 2 younger would be entitled to the same. However, when business go down hill, they claimed that they lost everything including the bros share. Now, they claimed that they are keeping business cos at this age, they would be out of job. Their children are U graduates and working already and actually can support them but the 2 younger bros just started their families. Their houses and later HDB flats were fully paid for from the business but the younger bros paid their own. They paid the bros very low salaries and little CPF contributions cos don't want to tie up money in government fund. They promised the younger bros who worked for the business since they were teenagers that \"we save the money for you so that when you get married we can buy you a flat\". What happened after that? They claimed business was so bad that they had to cut everything in order to survive. Their sacrifice was to sell their landed properties to live in HDB flats (yet the money for the HDB flats were from the sale of the landed properties - still money from the business, not their own pockets). When the younger ones got married, they were told to pay for the HDB flats through their CPF cos that meant they didn't need to use much cash. Worse, their wives were working so can contribute for the HDB flats using their CPF lor. What logic is that? End up both younger ones break from family business now, doing their own things. After sacrificing more than 20 years of their lives this is what they get. They would be better off if they had not worked for the family business. :sad: :sad:

My hubby's spoilt and hopeless sister married cheapskate ang Moh...the most recent visit was to get her mother to sell the flat and make sure she has a share. Her ang Moh husband bought a washing machine for his mother-in-law...with an ulterior motive. Btw, this ang moh is supposed to be a dentist in America.

This idiotic sister of his expected to be treated like royalty...fly kite. Asked my hubby for my kids' phonics books to teach hers. She, the husband and 2 sons stayed in mother's place, dirtied it and made her mother hit the roof. Didn't pay a cent and neither did she fork out money for meals. During the 2 weeks here, she literally made hubby buy breakfast and send all the way there :mad: damn bit%^.

LOLMum

My hubby's spoilt and hopeless sister married cheapskate ang Moh...the most recent visit was to get her mother to sell the flat and make sure she has a share. Her ang Moh husband bought a washing machine for his mother-in-law...with an ulterior motive. Btw, this ang moh is supposed to be a dentist in America.

This idiotic sister of his expected to be treated like royalty...fly kite. Asked my hubby for my kids' phonics books to teach hers. She, the husband and 2 sons stayed in mother's place, dirtied it and made her mother hit the roof. Didn't pay a cent and neither did she fork out money for meals. During the 2 weeks here, she literally made hubby buy breakfast and send all the way there :mad: damn bit%^.

Did your hubby buy breakfast for them daily? :yikes:

friendship

to settle these problems, employ a maid. Anything ask and tell the maid.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 421 / 529