By Election for Hougang

926 Posts 87 Posters 198.2k Views 1 Watching
      magiccastle

DC has to work extra hard in HG bec HG has a stronghold of opposition support. He has no choice since it is the ward allocated to him by the PAP . He just has to listen n follow the instruction . Is either he continue to 'fight' or give up like Eric Low. 有缘无份 to become a MP。The HG residents chose by party n not person. If DC is from WP , he will get into parliament Liao. Look at Potong Pasir - sitoh . Did he actually speak up in parliament for his residents ? Any difference he made to the estate ? Did he work equally as hard now compared to before he become the MP. He is 3rd time lucky bec of CST 's health n leaving PP . CST is too individualistic .if he could have grow his political party like what LTk did to WP , PP will still be an opposition ward.

Really felt unfair to those PAP candidates that are fielded in strong opposite ward ESP HG . Tried a few time , work hard at ground level still cannot make it n compared to those lucky ones who don't have to do any campaign n last min just piggy back got in to parliament . So PAP will field the 2nd rate candidates in the the opposite ward , up to their luck whether they are lucky to get in the parliament .
      DC , tho didn't get in to parliment but he is now well known to Singaporeans. Compared to other new younger MPs who piggy back into the parliament , we didn't even know of their names, faces or existence . :stompfeet:

• cool_hiC Offline
        cool_hi

I am not staying in HG, but I sincerely thank all HGers for their votes for WP…usually, I am super-lazy to post…but coz i am really happy…I tell myself I really want to thank them, for helping S’poreans voice up!!

coz I seriously think our govt is really too complacent!!
        WHILE our people are dealing with inflation daily, squeeze in super-uncomfortable MRT which may ANY time breakdown+waste millions of people’s time, all-time high property prices(which is hindering young couples from starting a family, though they are encouraged to tie the knot & reproduce??), & many other problems…
        what are the ministers doing? & still enjoying super-high pay(one of the highest in the whole world, which Ang mohs also ‘no fight’,in the holy name of attracting talents into paliament!!), ALL from our pockets…
        To me, yes reasonable pay, but if need super-high pay to attract so-called talents, then what can u say of these talent’s sincerity in serving??

I was really worried that PAP may win…now am super-glad & relieved that they didn’t!!!
        CHEERS!!

Strparent

Strparent:

but I also read of another similar story, about someone who serve as a RC grassroot helper for 20-25 years, and when he passed away, not a note from the PAP branch, but LTK came during the wake to give his customary respect.

*shake head* can post it here?

Did a search again, it was on none other than https://www.facebook.com/notes/neo-swee-lin/i-was-there-forgot-all-about-this/10150179241319206. She played PhuaChuKang's mother in PCK. 😉

ok I was mistaken, the deceased got a plaque 😓

http://i46.tinypic.com/rhmyjq.jpg\">
          There is some merit to old man's arguments about having GRC
          to bring in minority candidates.
          Frankly, there is a dearth of good calibre minority candidates,
          n some of d present ones wouldn't get pass d post by a long mile in a SMC contest.
          Having all SMCs n wanting some minority representation in parliament
          wld mean going back to enclaves along racial lines.
          But I also strongly believe d GRC has deviate from its noble intent n abused by d MIWs.
          there aren't that many high calibre opposition too, imho. How many LTK, PS, CSM are there to compete for 87 wards ?
          Okay, but you have a valid point, so perhaps possibly half should be SMCs ? :evil:

I still remember Chiam See Tong's attempt to refine this GRC issue with the original PM Lee and GCT in parliament....
          [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f6NTRAOaIwU][/youtube]

Pris.011283tang

ok anyone can clarify for me mei hwan drive under which grc pls thanks

fightingmom

Pris.tang:

If I am not wrong, it should be under Aljunied GRC now. However , I believe 4 years down the road , nearer to GE2016, it may change ward due to new electoral map. :rotflmao:

Pris.011283tang

Pris.tang:

If I am not wrong, it should be under Aljunied GRC now. However , I believe 4 years down the road , nearer to GE2016, it may change ward due to new electoral map. :rotflmao:

buddy u dont laugh hor cause i was wondering outside got put amk ave 1 lei lol :rotflmao:

fightingmom

Pris.tang:

[quote=\"Pris.tang\"]ok anyone can clarify for me mei hwan drive under which grc pls thanks

buddy u dont laugh hor cause i was wondering outside got put amk ave 1 lei lol :rotflmao:[/quote]My cousin stays in Hougang itself but last year GE2011 our garhment changed his ward to Pasir Ris-Punggol. :faint:

cantbearit2

Hi all,

Thot i shld share my thots since IM an Hougang resident (and proud 2b one).

In my 8 yrs of stay, LTK came knocking at our door 3x. There were no one to prep us an MP is coming. He juz ring e bell & smile & ask if we have any concerns. I have NEVER come across anybody fr PAP (not sure why) during these 8 yrs.

Not that i enjoy torturing our MPs wif eir walkabout session. I tink these walkabout session r useful for residents who r in need of help but does not noe e avenue to seek help.

Personally if u ask me, i did not tink much of Png as an MP. However DC was not my choice either. For those who r wondering why DC nv left Hougang despite losing in GE2011, u may chk out Pritam's rally speech on 19 May 2012. 😉 For supporters of DC, sori, i have strong doubts on DC's sincerity.

I felt like spoiling my votes however i oso felt a strong urge to exercise my rights as a citizen. Aft giving much consideration, i have decided to cast my vote to one whom i believe is independent of our current government. IM v unhappy over many issues from housing to transportation to our education system. Somehow, i felt there were no synergy bet our MPs. Each policy rolled out did not gif due consideration to e cause & effects.

However i do agree tat we shld learn to respect one another. Despite not agreeing wif e many policies fr our MIW, I will still gif em a nod as acknowledgement to show my respect to em as leaders of my country if i happen to mit em (so far never lor).

For now, i hope tat Png can help to bring out some issues at national level & all MPs can work together to bring back e Singapore which I WAS once so proud of.

kooky83

let’s just see how Png performs this 4 years. hope things will improve within these 4 years. and pappies will come up with better policies

Pris.011283tang

My cousin stays in Hougang itself but last year GE2011 our garhment changed his ward to Pasir Ris-Punggol. :faint:
                        Can i dont change my add then since my add is still my old place not even dh current place lol :please: :please:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 87 / 93