thks for the advise!Don't expect your kids to be able to remember all the multiplication tables at the tip of their fingers. They will tend to forget after learning since at P1 it is not frequently in use yet.
I did not make DD, who is now in P3, memorise the multiplication tables. At the start of the year, she struggled a little with counting in multiples when it involves the bigger numbers. But with her school work requiring her to apply the concept very frequently, it is kinda programmed into her little mind oredi.
Getting your kids to memorise the timestable has its advantage since they will be able to complete their work a bit faster and learning division will also be easier. But at P1, go easy. Start with the 2, 5 and 10.
i am starting with the easy ones first

Wah... I haven't start on multiplication table... Dun stress me leh...
I teach dd add/subtract up to 20 also want to vomit blood liao...
Simi \"make 10\" method... With renaming, without renaming...
Faint... Add ε°± add mah, subtract ε°± subtract mah... Use all these terms more confusing...
:faint:
I was thinking exactly that when I DD was in P1. The method totally confused her cos she was taught straight forward addition and subtraction with carry overs and borrowing. The way we learnt lah. Then this text book come and say 16 + 8 works out to be 10+6+8, which is 10+14 and 14 is 10 + 4 so it is 10+10+4 = 24 or something like that.
However now with DS, somehow no such problems. Maybe cos his abacus in kindy class uses similar methods. He can add beyond 100 very quickly using this method. He will be chanting something like +10-10+smthg = smthg, I oso dun follow but his answers will be correct. -
I checked his homework.. so was exposed to the term..
Make 10 = group of 10..
U got do your homework... :razz:
The sch says no need learn multiplication now... So I stopped teaching... Later make dd blur only...
That day ask dd if she knows multiplication table... She replied \"I only know multiplication of 1\"

:oops: :oops: nope , she brings back her worksheets where I take a look to see if there are mistakes...
U never see their Maths textbooks right?
:razz:
usually it is in the area of more than & less than. -
DD1 school said the same thing. DD1 is learning it coz of problemsums.com lol based on the speed , the kids would have memorised up till 7 timestable.
Make 10 = group of 10..
U got do your homework... :razz:
The sch says no need learn multiplication now... So I stopped teaching... Later make dd blur only...
That day ask dd if she knows multiplication table... She replied \"I only know multiplication of 1\"

your DD1 is the same as my DD2 :rotflmao: -
Good noon..
Just had a good lunch..
:rotflmao: buay tahan , what did you have for lunch?Good noon..
Just had a good lunch..
DD1 is one happy camper, BASC brought her to Science Centre and Kids Amaze yesterday
brought DDs to Voyage de la Vie, they loved it!!! So recommend to bring your DC to it
! -
pssttt⦠where is it?
:rotflmao: alamak.. a show..
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.