Catholic High (Primary)

1.9k Posts 150 Posters 666.4k Views 3 Watching
      Japmiki

https:
      CH Family Day cum Homecoming Day 2012

http://www.facebook.com/chsfamily

30 June 2012, 8:30 am to 3:30 pm
      It has fun fair and is open to public.

Photos of previous years events
      http://www.flickr.com/photos/rawbeanladen/sets/72157624486861832/
      http://www.schooltubers.sg/MHT/Photos/Photos_All_Photos.php?albumid=939

Thanks for the info!

meiah

firefly38:

No letter from the school to inform us of it's new cut-off point leh.. Could it be that the letter was given out BEFORE my DS2 joined the school in 2011 (P3)? But I also don't recall receiving the letter, when my DS1 was with the school 2009-2011 (P4-P6).. :scratchhead:

Thanks Phankao.. I will check with the school first before I break the news to DS2.. He has been very complacent, always thinking he has a safety net to fall onto.. Maybe this piece of news will give DS2 a good wake-up call.. :yikes:
        Your DS1 would not have received the letter as it would not affect him. My DS1 did not receive anything, but his cohort was affected by the 230 cut-off pt for 2011 Sec1. The previous batch was at 225. However when I registered DS2 for P1, we were given a letter stating that affiliation points would be around 10 pts lower than non-affiliation when he reaches P6. The exact cut-off point was not mentioned. DS2 is also P4 now.

• phankaoP Offline
          phankao

meiah:
          firefly38:

No letter from the school to inform us of it's new cut-off point leh.. Could it be that the letter was given out BEFORE my DS2 joined the school in 2011 (P3)? But I also don't recall receiving the letter, when my DS1 was with the school 2009-2011 (P4-P6).. :scratchhead:

Thanks Phankao.. I will check with the school first before I break the news to DS2.. He has been very complacent, always thinking he has a safety net to fall onto.. Maybe this piece of news will give DS2 a good wake-up call.. :yikes:

Your DS1 would not have received the letter as it would not affect him. My DS1 did not receive anything, but his cohort was affected by the 230 cut-off pt for 2011 Sec1. The previous batch was at 225. However when I registered DS2 for P1, we were given a letter stating that affiliation points would be around 10 pts lower than non-affiliation when he reaches P6. The exact cut-off point was not mentioned. DS2 is also P4 now.

Eh, Meiah - Firefly's ds1 is same year as my ds2 - both a year your ds1's junior, leh. Both Sec 1. Altho' hers is in RI sec 1.

meiah

Wah! How nice.

But my ds1 is also your ds1's junior leh. So he's the most senior! 😄

• phankaoP Offline
              phankao

meiah:
              Wah! How nice.

But my ds1 is also your ds1's junior leh. So he's the most senior! 😄
              Wah, don't make it so complicating lah. *hehe*.

Anyway, my point was that Firefly's ds1 would be subject to the same COP as your ds1.

meiah

Yep. Same COP, but my ds kena first. Then firefly’s next. So logically no need to inform kids since COP already raised for 2011’s entry and COP for 2012’s entry cannot be lower than previous year.

iFirefly

meiah:
                  Yep. Same COP, but my ds kena first. Then firefly's next. So logically no need to inform kids since COP already raised for 2011's entry and COP for 2012's entry cannot be lower than previous year.

Feel that CHS (Sec) should not suddenly raise COP for its affiliated pupils, just because it is running IP from next year onwards.. Afterall, CHS will still admit pupils for GCE O Levels, right? Maybe no special bonus points for affiliated pupils who choose the IP track.. but for those who choose the normal GCE O Level track, everything should remain as it has been, right?

DS2 can't DSA for CHS Sec (unlike phankao's DS2), coz he has nothing to DSA leh.. His only skill is playing football at the Parade Square every morning, every recess, every afternoon, every lunch time, and every single free time that he has at school.. :slapshead:

• phankaoP Offline
                    phankao

meiah:
                    Yep. Same COP, but my ds kena first. Then firefly's next. So logically no need to inform kids since COP already raised for 2011's entry and COP for 2012's entry cannot be lower than previous year.

but I did receive for my boy who was same year as firefly's elder boy lah.

So your ds2 and firefly's ds2 both p4 this year? Did you hear anything about the new COP? My fren who went for briefing was who I heard from about the new much higher COP - her boy is now p6.

• phankaoP Offline
                      phankao

firefly38:

DS2 can't DSA for CHS Sec (unlike phankao's DS2), coz he has nothing to DSA leh.. His only skill is playing football at the Parade Square every morning, every recess, every afternoon, every lunch time, and every single free time that he has at school.. :slapshead:
                      You know, this year the only domains for DSA is for IP & for Sports??? No other domains??? SO my ds2 also cannot try if it were like that this year. 😜

My ds2 also plays football every morning and breaktime at the Parade Square! Even now!!!

• phankaoP Offline
                        phankao

firefly38:

Feel that CHS (Sec) should not suddenly raise COP for its affiliated pupils, just because it is running IP from next year onwards.. Afterall, CHS will still admit pupils for GCE O Levels, right? Maybe no special bonus points for affiliated pupils who choose the IP track.. but for those who choose the normal GCE O Level track, everything should remain as it has been, right?
                        You know, every year, CHS secondary's vacancy should be around 400. In the past, before they imposed the min.COP for affiliated boys and left the affiliated COP to \"market forces - demand/supply\", the full 400 was mostly filled.

I don't know about Meiah's ds1's time, but for my ds2's time, the intake (affiliated plus outside) totalled 330 at 1st January 2012. Means there's 70 places available????

With the new IP, would it then mean the cohort size will shrink further??? Bc afterall, how many more boys with scores that qualify for top IP will choose to go CHS sec instead? AFterall, that very premium school v nearby ... so location similar. So the number of boys 250 and above choosing to apply to or for affiliated - to stay in CHS sec, may not increase by all that very much I'd think.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 100 / 192