at wat age can our kids renounce their citizenship?
ahkeong:
So birth cert write singaporean or...???my both DS born in SG
but thinking of leaving this damn place and settle down elsewhere
at wat age would it be for them to whether keep their status or leave the country? -
laughingcat:
I would certainly feel proud of any boys to serve NS. But aside from being proud, i still feel that it is a total waste of time in terms of today's practicality. Neighbouring countries are already looking at shorter NS. My main reason for advocating the shortening of NS is that since the Government has welcomed such a large number of foreigners into our workforce in the past decade, Singaporean males urgently need to close the gap as to when they start their working life. Also some employers prefer to hire foreigners over Singaporeans, because Singaporean males are liable for reservist training. Understandably, the employer is left in a lurch when the employee cannot show up for work, particularly when the job in question is labour intensive.Ā
Agree. :celebrate: -
shinri:
Mature or not mature depends much on characters too. Some could become worst by picking up bad habits like smoking etc.About NS, actually ah, I think is good for the men and also the women.
The men, because NS helps to toughen them up (well, most of them anyway).
The women, because the men after NS tend to be more matured, can think better, and then the women can benefit from better bfs/husbands.
Not to say that those w/o NS cannot be good husbands, but NS men been through shit & hell, so probably other undesirable scenarios are ok compared to NS.. -
earned? true.. so how many of us really respect a soldier when we see one? as for the NS boy who ask leticia to carry full pack for him, isnt it clear he is an elite??? so he is a peasant like me..Respect is EARNED, not begged.
The NS boy who ask the maid to carry fieldpack.. does he deserve respect?
I always felt that soldiers sleeping on the train is unsightly..
Do they behave like soldier, or a boy wearing military uniform?
Shouldn't they behave in a way that is more acceptable? (YMMV)
And.. \"soldiers\" nowadays.. aircon bus.. trolley bags.. catered meals.. over pampered.. don't know what to say also.. route march also can fall out.. apparently lack of fitness.. not sure is the MO failed in the duty to assess correctly or the boy don't know how to take care of himself.
soldiers cannot sleep on public transport? got such a rule meh? not that i know of all these yrs leh.. tired cannot sleep? so OL who sits on MRT seats can sleep? no doubt wearing the uniform prohibits u from smoking, drinking and other bad habits in public, sleeping on public transport is certainly not one of them.. so wat kinda behaviour is appropriate when wearing the army uniform?
of cos wanna compare the soldiers nowadays and back then, confirm alot more welfare, even my time oredi damn welfare compared to the 70s soldiers.. so wat kinda standard is acceptable according to u? too tough on them and parents go around complaining to ancestors, MPs, CO of the camp.. go soft and singaporeans like u dun respect the soldiers anymore.. how then? -
we are considering moving to australia.. or maybe somewhere nearer like malaysia and even indonesia which is my wife's country of birth
Hi ahkeong, so where are u going? :preen: -
Oppsgal:
now singaporean
So birth cert write singaporean or...???
hopefully can settle this before they take their IC -
ahkeong:
so you belonged to the more welfare soldiers.... enuff said..
of cos wanna compare the soldiers nowadays and back then, confirm alot more welfare, even my time oredi damn welfare compared to the 70s soldiers.. so wat kinda standard is acceptable according to u? too tough on them and parents go around complaining to ancestors, MPs, CO of the camp.. go soft and singaporeans like u dun respect the soldiers anymore.. how then? -
Why ar, why arh? Please enlighten me.Way2GO:
Why is d US shifting more military assets to Asia Pacific region n increase its presence in SG? To protect SG?
[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4DZQhfrl5Y][/youtube]Big brother telling made in china....I am watching....
u caught on or u nid some elaboration?
My questions were to probe d forummer who said d dynamics hv changed n thus a military deterrence is no longer relevant for SG in today's world. -
ahkeong:
no law against men in uniform sleeping on public transport wat..
soldiers cannot sleep on public transport? got such a rule meh? not that i know of all these yrs leh.. tired cannot sleep? so OL who sits on MRT seats can sleep? no doubt wearing the uniform prohibits u from smoking, drinking and other bad habits in public, sleeping on public transport is certainly not one of them.. so wat kinda behaviour is appropriate when wearing the army uniform?
MPs also sleep in parliament. :rotflmao:
its just a question of projecting a proper image in public lah.
I ever hv one course-mate can sleep anywhere anytime wan.
Its a sight to behold - sat cross-legged, mouth opened big big, head tilted back,
can sleep liddat under d midday scorching sun somemore when lecture going on. -
wow, the pink army dun need to hold guns can make the enemies weak in their knees.. died drooling :evil:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.
Popular Topics