Q&A - P3 Science

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 3
    1.4k Posts 217 Posters 717.1k Views 1 Watching
    • E Offline
      edanson

Tang:
      Grow in size is not a condition for classifying living thing. My parents do not grow in size, but I do.

Basic needs of living things are air, water and food. Once an apple is plucked, it does not need air, water and food.
      If you want to be exact the word in most materials state as GROW.
      I was trying to be fast when I make the explaination. Living things grow.

Living things grow , including your parents - they grow old, they grow fat, etc., etc,

• E Offline
        ET-PH

rains:
        But the teacher herself or himself also never put 'over flame' leh.

You mean 'heated' is still not clear ah? 'Heated' - of course is over flame lah, then over ice meh?
        Hi, for me both answers are acceptable, think the teacher is strict in her marking. But this has also prompted me to tell my dd to be more specific in answering her questions. If you relook at the question ..

\"What does the experiment above show about magnets?\"

So answer should start from \"A magnet .....\", so in this case \"A magnet loses its magnetism when heated\".

If the question is \"What will happen to the magnet if it is heated over a flame?\" Then the answer could be \"If you heat the magnet over a flame, the magnet loses it magnetism\"

Still I think both answers are acceptable if I am a teacher :lol:

leeven

tianzhu:
          Hi

Is this question from your son's SA science paper?If it is, take a look at the complete question after you have the opportunity to see it.

If the location of the apple is not indicated, then the answer to this question is subjective.

Best wishes
          the question dont state the location. it just gave 4 things FERN, ...., APPLE and asking are they living things. the choice was again \"ALL THE ABOVE \", THEN OTHERS SPECIFY THE PLANTS INDIVIDUALLY. MY SON WROTE ALL THE ABOVE.

tianzhu

Hi lynn2

Good Morning

As a follow up to one of your earlier question on pulse rates, I’ve just found out that you can feel the pulse rates from the temples.
            Please follow these links.

Happy reading

http://www.1bn2bdescsg.org/measure%20and%20monitor%20a%20casualty%202.ppt
            http://www.medicineonline.com/articles/p/2/Pulse-Rate.html

Puffer

Hi, DS just got back his Science paper today. I would appreciate clarification on the following question:

Q: Give 2 similarities between the platypus and the seal (2 marks)

DS' answer to the above:

(i) Both breathe through lungs.
              (ii) Both look after their young.

(i) was marked correct but (ii) marked as wrong. Reason from FT is that platypuses don't look after their young. I thought all mammals look after their young?

Other classmates' answer: Both suckle their young was also marked wrong.

rains

Puffer:
                Hi, DS just got back his Science paper today. I would appreciate clarification on the following question:

Q: Give 2 similarities between the platypus and the seal (2 marks)

DS' answer to the above:

(i) Both breathe through lungs.
                (ii) Both look after their young.

(i) was marked correct but (ii) marked as wrong. Reason from FT is that platypuses don't look after their young. I thought all mammals look after their young?

Other classmates' answer: Both suckle their young was also marked wrong.
                These two animals are mammals, so you need to list the characteristics of mammals eg. Both are covered with fur/ Both feed their young with milk. These answers are more specific and definite.

Muffins

rains:
                  But the teacher herself or himself also never put 'over flame' leh.

You mean 'heated' is still not clear ah? 'Heated' - of course is over flame lah, then over ice meh?

Heated doesn't necessarily mean over flame. It could mean, over a very hot surface, or something that has just been heated. SO MANY DIFFERENT METHODS, SO CONFUSING WAN! 😄 :oops:

lnk

tianzhu:
                    Hi VC

Air is a matter with no fixed volume and no fixed shape. It compresses or expands to take the shape of the container holding it.
                    Yes the WS’s answer is correct.
                    You are right that air has no fixed volume and no fixed shape and therefore take after the shape and volume of the container. That is if the container is rigid enough.

When air is taken out of the ball, the amount of air inside decreases and therefore the pressure inside the ball decreases as well. The air in the atmosphere will then push the ball in and thus lowering the volume of the ball until such a state where the pressure in the ball is equal to the pressure of the atmosphere.

Therefore the WS's answer is incorrect.

lnk

Full.Cream:
                      1stly, if they say 'apple', it's almost always a standalone apple. It wld be very cheeky to insist that the apple is still on the tree.

Eg, if there's a science qn on which of these (chick, puppy, tadpole) hatch from egg, we don't try to be funny and ask what if the egg is not fertilized, ya?
                      Is part of living thing a living thing. We are living thing, is our nail living thing. We are living thing, but when we die what are we. So must we say that living human is a living thing? It gets more and more cumbersome as it goes.

From a science question, it becomes a philosophical discourse.

By definition, living thing can grow, respire, reproduce.

Asking the question is seed a living thing, is like asking if an embryo is a baby. Of course it is a living thing, it respire and grow eventually reproduce.

Conclusion, the question is not well thought of, the writer of the question did not pay too much attention in crafting it and therefore do not require too much of our attention as well.

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                        starlight1968sg

I have not been following this thread closely.

A fruit should be considered a living thing because under certain conditions, it grows, reproduces and dies.

I think our nail is not really a living thing. It is made up of dead cells. Änother example will be our hair.

Can any Science teacher confirm?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 34 / 135