City Harvest's founder Kong Hee & 4 others arrested/charged

1.5k Posts 196 Posters 556.4k Views 1 Watching
      blessed777

Lyddon:
      blessed777:

.... when our pc stop working last month after accidently splashed by water i asked my dd to lay hand on the pc n pray together with me for it to be restored n it did restored soon after we prayed n working perfectly ok until now.

I don't know which part of PC was splashed with water ... but from engineering perspective, it would be prudent to:

1) remove the source of electrical power BEFORE laying any hand(s) on the PC, and
      2) with power unplugged, ensure all visible water has been removed, and
      3) wait a couple of days for residual water to evaporate before plugging power in and turning on PC. (if in doubt wait a week)

Having faith in religion is one thing, but I hope you have taken precautionary steps for basic safety.

Thanks Lyddon, i did take the first 2 steps except fr no.3 as dh asked me to call technician asap (we need to use the pc) to check whether its possible to restore the pc, after trying to on and off several times (this was a mistake should not turn it on immediately).
      I know God can use technician to help n its a norm, nothing wrong with it
      but as usual i pray first before trying other means :D.
      Will take note the no.3 as safety precaution step.

Way2GO

blessed777:
        Lyddon:

I don't know which part of PC was splashed with water ... but from engineering perspective, it would be prudent to:

1) remove the source of electrical power BEFORE laying any hand(s) on the PC, and
        2) with power unplugged, ensure all visible water has been removed, and
        3) wait a couple of days for residual water to evaporate before plugging power in and turning on PC. (if in doubt wait a week)

Having faith in religion is one thing, but I hope you have taken precautionary steps for basic safety.

Thanks Lyddon, i did take the first 2 steps except fr no.3 as dh asked me to call technician asap (we need to use the pc) to check whether its possible to restore the pc, after trying to on and off several times (this was a mistake should not turn it on immediately).
        I know God can use technician to help n its a norm, nothing wrong with it
        but as usual i pray first before trying other means :D.
        Will take note the no.3 as safety precaution step.

Gud advice fr Lyddon on safety precautions except I wld differ on pt 3.
        Remove residual water/moisture ASAP without delay to avoid water damage, eg by drying with hair dryer.

concern2

Daddy 😧
          [quote]
          ... when our pc stop working last month after accidently splashed by water i asked my dd to lay hand on the pc n pray together with me for it to be restored n it did restored soon after we prayed n working perfectly ok until now....
          真的吗???
          Like that also can? :siam:[/quote]Sorry, no time to read all the comments, but this one caught my eye, and I remember DH is sometimes fond of saying, lao ya po ho, dian nao mai go pai, and it also worked leh... :rotflmao:

december21

Daddy 😧
            [quote]
            ... when our pc stop working last month after accidently splashed by water i asked my dd to lay hand on the pc n pray together with me for it to be restored n it did restored soon after we prayed n working perfectly ok until now....
            真的吗???
            Like that also can? :siam:[/quote]This is called miracle. I myself also encountered this miracle on my camera. As long as you got faith, it will. I even know of greater miracle like healing of illness. Anyway, it's just the level of faith. Non Christian may never understand and probably take it as joke..

SilentHermit

[quote]... when our pc stop working last month after accidently splashed by water i asked my dd to lay hand on the pc n pray together with me for it to be restored n it did restored soon after we prayed n working perfectly ok until now....[/quote]

Sorry, no time to read all the comments, but this one caught my eye, and I remember DH is sometimes fond of saying, lao ya po ho, dian nao mai go pai, and it also worked leh...
              december21:
              This is called miracle. I myself also encountered this miracle on my camera. As long as you got faith, it will. I even know of greater miracle like healing of illness. Anyway, it's just the level of faith. Non Christian may never understand and probably take it as joke..
              Having followed this post for a while, I see that it has now become more of a discussion about religion, the different denominations and not so much related to the subject title “City Harvest's founder Kong Hee & 4 others arrested….” Being a newbie of a forum, I suppose this is normal? Perhaps we could keep it this way till 25 July when more developments come about? hehehee

Anyway, at this point, I wish to provide my 2 cents..

I think it is normal how the same kind of incident can be interpreted in different ways by different cultures or religions. The subject was about a PC gotten wet, a prayer was said and the PC restored to its working condition. I did not trace to see who provided this post, but I take it that it was by a Christian and the prayer was to God – prayer was answered. Concern2 shared that her DH, when in similar situations, “prayed” to “Lao Ya” and “Dian Nao Mai” and DH also seem to achieve the same result – prayer answered.

As a reader, when you read this post, you probably can relate one way or the other, to a similar situation in your past, where you have witnessed others or experienced it for yourself, “prayed” for something to “whatever-they-believed-in” (i.e. God) and the prayer was answered, very similar to the wet PC scenario mentioned above. But maybe that person is not a Christian, but a Taoist, a Buddhist or a Muslim. Somehow, sometime, you find that people’s prayers are answered. In accordance to whatever beliefs they have, they will also find a way to reconcile with the situation when their prayers are not answered (i.e. the Gods are testing the strength of their faith”)

The truth is our kids will grow up to see the above happening to all his relatives, friends, colleagues and associates from all different cultures and religions. And if the kid is in the process of searching for a faith, I wonder how is he going to judge which of these “miracles” prayed for by different people from different cultures and religions, truly have a basis to attribute “the PC restoring to normal operation” as a prayer answered? I mean, after all, because of their different background, they are praying to different God or Gods or whatever…and who can say they are wrong.. or right? Muslim say Muslim right, Christian say Christian right and so on..

However, among all the posts I found one comment by WeiHan that I think, can survive the test of time... I quote his/her wise words:

WeiHan:
              Previously, I wrote about genuine spirituality.

It doesn't matter how many interpretations there exist for the Bible. It doesn't matter how many schools there are in Buddhism. The gauges are how kind and compassionate that person has transformed into. Has wisdom starts to shine through him?
              I think the greatness of a faith, can do wonders to a person's character and behavior, indirectly leading to the betterment of a community, a nation, mankind and ultimately towards achieving world peace.

kwcllf

OK. Back to KH and the gang of 4.

BeContented

SilentHermit:
                  [quote]... when our pc stop working last month after accidently splashed by water i asked my dd to lay hand on the pc n pray together with me for it to be restored n it did restored soon after we prayed n working perfectly ok until now....

Sorry, no time to read all the comments, but this one caught my eye, and I remember DH is sometimes fond of saying, lao ya po ho, dian nao mai go pai, and it also worked leh...
                  december21:
                  This is called miracle. I myself also encountered this miracle on my camera. As long as you got faith, it will. I even know of greater miracle like healing of illness. Anyway, it's just the level of faith. Non Christian may never understand and probably take it as joke..
                  Having followed this post for a while, I see that it has now become more of a discussion about religion, the different denominations and not so much related to the subject title “City Harvest's founder Kong Hee & 4 others arrested….” Being a newbie of a forum, I suppose this is normal? Perhaps we could keep it this way till 25 July when more developments come about? hehehee

Anyway, at this point, I wish to provide my 2 cents..

I think it is normal how the same kind of incident can be interpreted in different ways by different cultures or religions. The subject was about a PC gotten wet, a prayer was said and the PC restored to its working condition. I did not trace to see who provided this post, but I take it that it was by a Christian and the prayer was to God – prayer was answered. Concern2 shared that her DH, when in similar situations, “prayed” to “Lao Ya” and “Dian Nao Mai” and DH also seem to achieve the same result – prayer answered.

As a reader, when you read this post, you probably can relate one way or the other, to a similar situation in your past, where you have witnessed others or experienced it for yourself, “prayed” for something to “whatever-they-believed-in” (i.e. God) and the prayer was answered, very similar to the wet PC scenario mentioned above. But maybe that person is not a Christian, but a Taoist, a Buddhist or a Muslim. Somehow, sometime, you find that people’s prayers are answered. In accordance to whatever beliefs they have, they will also find a way to reconcile with the situation when their prayers are not answered (i.e. the Gods are testing the strength of their faith”)

The truth is our kids will grow up to see the above happening to all his relatives, friends, colleagues and associates from all different cultures and religions. And if the kid is in the process of searching for a faith, I wonder how is he going to judge which of these “miracles” prayed for by different people from different cultures and religions, truly have a basis to attribute “the PC restoring to normal operation” as a prayer answered? I mean, after all, because of their different background, they are praying to different God or Gods or whatever…and who can say they are wrong.. or right? Muslim say Muslim right, Christian say Christian right and so on..

However, among all the posts I found one comment by WeiHan that I think, can survive the test of time... I quote his/her wise words:

WeiHan:

It doesn't matter how many interpretations there exist for the Bible. It doesn't matter how many schools there are in Buddhism. The gauges are how kind and compassionate that person has transformed into. Has wisdom starts to shine through him?
                  I think the greatness of a faith, can do wonders to a person's character and behavior, indirectly leading to the betterment of a community, a nation, mankind and ultimately towards achieving world peace.[/quote] :goodpost:
                  Being a freethinker myself, I too agree with WeiHan's words 🙂

kiddo

SilentHermit:

WeiHan:

I think the greatness of a faith, can do wonders to a person's character and behavior, indirectly leading to the betterment of a community, a nation, mankind and ultimately towards achieving world peace.

Thank you Guys :hi5: ....If the famous 5 do not have a faith ...
                    would more damage be done ? I think so............
                    Whichever faith provided it is not taken to the extreme and become a cult
                    but make you a better person for yourself and the world at large
                    is to be celebrated 🙏 :celebrate:

concern2

SilentHermit:

Totally agree that the discussion on religion is :offtopic:
                      Sorry, I just couldn't help being tickled by the kind of comments that my DH make, which rang a bell when blessed777 brought up a similar incident. In any case, such wishes and hopes are usually made when all other efforts have been exhausted - bo bian liao. 🤷

december21

i guessed in the first place, the non-christian would not have said a prayer over the "PC restoration"…that’s the difference between a christian and non-christian faith. But nothing wrong with either religion, just a different kind of "faith". It’s really not advisable to discuss or exchange ideas in details about religion here cos it’s not easy for non-christian to comprehend. If it’s so easy to preach then anyone can be pastor…

We need to respect every religion…even in this CHC saga, I do not want to condemn anyone, let God judge (this is for believer) or let Singapore’s law judge (this is for non-believer)…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 123 / 148