Asia spending billions on tutors: study

1.2k Posts 76 Posters 254.2k Views 1 Watching

Some non-core subjects are ok to have ‘just pass’. But life is scarier in sec school. Hope my son can take up CCA which doesn’t require too many days of staying back. Or else how is he going to get homework done? Oh yes, sec 1 English just had change of syllabus.

Primary school, daddy can still help with art. But for how long? Neighbour’s son in sec 1 still has tuition for Math & Science.

SAHM_TAN

Steady ahh SAHM_TAN..! :ugogirl:

That's becos I never have tuition in primary school but I'm insecure abt primary maths becos so new to me.

In sec level also tuition free.

I only had tuition in JC level for maths and that was becos I wanted to take up AO maths earlier.

So I really want to have zero tuition for the kids.

I've pm u my wish list. I'm also insecure abt science as you can see from my wish list.

SAHM_TAN

Janet,

Why must help with art? Eh dd1 no art enrichment leh. Her drawing very eh dare I say ugly but I’m going to let her self-explore. Meaning you in sea learn to swim… Don’t burst my bubble leh, I don’t want to touch her arts stuff man

tutormum

tutormum:

The earliest DS3 comes home is 430pm which is once a week, the rest of the day is 6pm or even later when there's CCA. As he's taking 8 subjects for O level next year, the additional subject is scheduled after normal school hours, i.e. about an hour lunch before pm session. When he's home he just want to relax. :frustrated:

He's required to go back to school at least once a week during the long holidays for extra courses, training etc. He hates it cos he believes that sch holidays should mean holidays. :roll:
            He's also serving in church every Saturday which entitles him CIP points. However, he's more than enough CIP points but still continue to serve as he likes it.
            Next year, being O level year, he'll be required to attend night classes in school. :lightrod:
            Don't mention the word \"tuition\" to him cos to him it's a dirty word. I'm worried how's he going to sit for his O level. :gloomy:
            He's confident but I never see him studying at all. :slapshead: :slapshead: All I can do is 🙏 🙏 🙏

that is worse than RI year 2's time table : tuesday dismisses at 13:50 and Friday at 12:30. those without optional merit cca literally goes home at 12:30

But what I heard from one of my friends whose 2 sons attending RI is different lei. She told me RI is something like DS3's school. Maybe different subjects, CCA etc? DS3's history teacher just changed his lessons to Monday so instead of coming home at 230pm (earliest for the week) he's coming home at 4pm till further notice.
            Having said that, DS3 is confident that his teachers cover the syllabus and said he'll do his 'reading' (note not studying) if his teachers 'can't' teach. :nosebleed: :faint:

Snow Crystal

I'm aiming for zero tuition :evil: 😉
              Good aim! 😄
              Many sec sch parents start with zero tuition then only when kid :imdrowning: in some subjects then get tuition. I sense that sec Sch parents generally let go, nudging the kid towards maturity and independent learning. That should be the way cos the faster the kid become an independent learner the better. What I am afraid to see is newer generation parents in all eagerness extend the mollycoddling ways to secondary school and go all out to over prepare for academics even in sec school. A scary scene.

iFirefly

Neighbour's son has one day school ends at 1230, but he has CCA till 6 or 7 pm. Cousin's son is hardly home before 4 when he was in Sec 1. Practically no life in secondary school...very much worst. After a long day, homework still must completed before sleeping.

On the contrary, secondary school is FULL of life.. The child gets to meet so many new people, learn so many new things, handle so many new experiences.. How can it be ''no life''?? 🤷

And, not home before 4 does not mean ''no life''.. It simply means that life has extended beyond the 'home', for the child... 😉

SAHM_TAN

It’s my aim, let see how how long I can hold out for the other subjects

tutormum

firefly38:

Neighbour's son has one day school ends at 1230, but he has CCA till 6 or 7 pm. Cousin's son is hardly home before 4 when he was in Sec 1. Practically no life in secondary school...very much worst. After a long day, homework still must completed before sleeping.

On the contrary, secondary school is FULL of life.. The child gets to meet so many new people, learn so many new things, handle so many new experiences.. How can it be ''no life''?? 🤷

And, not home before 4 does not mean ''no life''.. It simply means that life has extended beyond the 'home', for the child... 😉

It's better for them, IMHO, to be in school doing 'things' with their friends than watching t.v. or playing computer games at home. I know DS3 will go to Parkway with his friends once a while to rewind. They usually have a meal at a fast food chain and window shop before going back to school for 2nd round.
                    DS3 is very against tuition cos he finds that most of his friends are only exam smart and only know what are taught in school. In his own words, they need to spend hours reading over and over again the textbooks to understand certain concepts while he only needs to read once. He's used to process information on his own but he really hate studying. He thinks that's the difference between an independent learner like him who has never have had tuition and one has tuition since primary school. (No offence to those in different camp, just wish that you can relax a bit on the tuition part).
                    I strongly recommend that you be less uptight about your children's education, no need to get all As. Some subjects can pass can already. Unless you want your child to be Mozart or Vinci, just let school be a learning process and let the children have fun learning. Maybe, life will be much happier then. Honestly, I've yet to see any paintings done in school from my 3 DSs. :skeptical: :oops: I don't believe in making them get As for all subjects though I do hope they do. 😉

Augmum

schweppes:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]I am not rich lah.

Happened to have insurance account which just matured. Next year, son is definitely on his own liao...with 9-10 subjects, where to find time for tuition?

which sec school offering 9 - 10 subjects in sec 1 ?

my kids' school... 😓 😓 :scared: :shock:
                      1. EL
                      2. MT
                      3. Maths
                      4. Science
                      pant... pant... pant...
                      5. Lit
                      6. History
                      7. Geography
                      pant... pant... pant...
                      8. Food & Nutrition
                      9. Art
                      10. Design & Technology
                      pant... pant... pant... and
                      11. Creative Arts/ Performing Arts

All examinable subjects including performing arts.

:yikes: :faint:[/quote]But are the above ALL CORE subjects which are needed for the computation of their academic results ?
                      usually only subj 1-7 are the core subj, the rest though examinable subj, but not included in the computation.

u prompted me to take a look at my gal's yr 1 photocopies, yes, the non-core subj are in a whole long list..... :faint:

besides subj 1-7 which are needed for their computation of GPA, they have

😎 RS (research studies)
                      9) ACC (appreciation of chinese culture)
                      10) CME (moral education)
                      11) Computing
                      12) Conversational Malay ( haha, after this course, she still cant speak malay)
                      13) Art
                      14) Music
                      15) Life skills programme
                      16) Maths/Science elective

fortunately, she opted out of 3 rd lang.

sec schs really think so highly of our kids horr......can squeeze in so many subjs in 1 yr..... 😂 :roll: :slapshead:

Augmum

BeContented:

My Goodness!!!! :yikes:
                        Do they really need to learn soooooo much things?
                        Yes...... sec schs indeed have many non-core subj.
                        but these pupils know where to put their emphasis lah, not too worry....
                        BeContented:
                        How to be happy like that? No time to relax. :sad:
                        Though they can be very stressed up in certain times,
                        but they do have fun and happy learning journeys esp for certain non-core subjs....
                        BeContented:
                        Can fail some ?? Or maybe borderline pass?
                        Can fail certain subj.....except that it wouldnt be nice to have it reflected in the dossier 😉 :evil:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 89 / 120