All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 923.3k Views 1 Watching

That's the sweetest thing anyone can say to me, cantbearit2.. :love:

You made my day. :please:

cantbearit2

joyceharper:
        Thanks cantbearit2 !

That really provides a lot of perspective. I initially thought that maybe some of the newer programs would be more effective but it sounds like Montessori is still very much something to explore. I recently saw a Montessori building (?) office (?) somewhere near the Clark Quay area - I just happened to pass it while traveling to another place.

Is there any particular place which you would recommend over the other? Or would you say that the quality control is pretty consistent?
        Hi joyceharper,

glad u dun find my reply naggy (wen it comes to Montessori, i keep trying to control myself to shorten e msg but juz so hard :oops: ) šŸ˜„ (tats probably y Buds can't reply u so soon, :evil: )

Unfortunately, I have only explored e Montessori sch in e NE region cos of logistics issue mah. thus im not able to gif much comments abt other Montessori sch.

I can only say (based on some hardworking mummies in tis forum who contributed eir comments) tat branded montessori sch does not equate gd sch. A lot is dependent on e sch directress. If there are any particular sch u r eyeing, it's better to go down to have a 'feel'. Do some homework b4 u go down & try to ask some 'difficult' questions & c if u r comfortable wif eir reply. make an apptm to mit e directress if possible. If u have e time, visit a few to 'feel' e diff. IM sure u will form yur own opinions eventually. šŸ˜‰

cantbearit2

joyceharper:
          i just realized... buds has 4 kids! oh my gosh! i never thought that would be possible in singapore. hats off buds!

U have to salute Buds!!! :salute: wif 3, i oredi find it hard 2 cope lor. Can't imagine 4. :faint:

:congrats: BUDS!!! :rahrah: I have been reading silently (agn) but not contributing much due to lack of time too (ok, can't compare wif u, i dun have mammoth memory & octopus hands to multi-task :rotflmao: ) Hope u dun find my congrats too late. :oops:

PS* pls inspire me in montessori way but not child bearing ok??? šŸ™

cantbearit2

That's the sweetest thing anyone can say to me, cantbearit2.. :love:

You made my day. :please:
            U r most welcome. pls continue to share given yur large fan base here at KSP forum. U r e reason i keep checking on tis thread lor. :hugs:

Tell Buds hubby he has nothing to worry abt. I am a mummy not daddy (in case he's worried abt u being 'stalked' in forum šŸ˜† ).

Tell him? No way. :dowan:

He'd rather i surf him than surf the forum hor. :rotflmao:

cantbearit2:
                joyceharper:

i just realized... buds has 4 kids! oh my gosh! i never thought that would be possible in singapore. hats off buds!

U have to salute Buds!!! :salute: wif 3, i oredi find it hard 2 cope lor. Can't imagine 4. :faint:

Aiyoh.. don't imagine la. Make you stress oni. šŸ˜‰
                cantbearit2:
                :congrats: BUDS!!! :rahrah: I have been reading silently (agn) but not contributing much due to lack of time too (ok, can't compare wif u, i dun have mammoth memory & octopus hands to multi-task :rotflmao: ) Hope u dun find my congrats too late. :oops:
                No worries, it's nvr too late. :hugs: Thank you for your congratulatory note. :celebrate:

I wish i had octopus hands so i don't have to leave chubs to the tv while i tend to baby or cooking or something.. at times, just reali no choice.. but i try to be quick. Now while i'm replying to you cos cannot sleep, i have the stove on preparing for tomorrow's lunch. Hopefully i can do more work with chubs tomorrow.
                cantbearit2:
                PS* pls inspire me in montessori way but not child bearing ok??? šŸ™
                Ohh i don't think i'm that good yet to inspire you on child bearing.. :evil: Not notti enuff. :imanangel:

Inspire you on Montessori teachings.. okay.. will see what i can whip up when i have more time. šŸ˜‰

natureautumn

Sorry I was away and had to look after boy, and I am soo happy u replied.

Yes! That's the page. Was looking for šŸ™‚
                  Thanks

Mucks !!!

brainkuku

Hi, Has anyone heard about The Learning Ladder @ Bukit Timah? It is under the same mgmt as Schoolhouse by the Bay. Any reviews? Thanks in advance.

joyceharper

cantbearit2:
                      joyceharper:

Thanks cantbearit2 !

That really provides a lot of perspective. I initially thought that maybe some of the newer programs would be more effective but it sounds like Montessori is still very much something to explore. I recently saw a Montessori building (?) office (?) somewhere near the Clark Quay area - I just happened to pass it while traveling to another place.

Is there any particular place which you would recommend over the other? Or would you say that the quality control is pretty consistent?

Hi joyceharper,

glad u dun find my reply naggy (wen it comes to Montessori, i keep trying to control myself to shorten e msg but juz so hard :oops: ) šŸ˜„ (tats probably y Buds can't reply u so soon, :evil: )

Unfortunately, I have only explored e Montessori sch in e NE region cos of logistics issue mah. thus im not able to gif much comments abt other Montessori sch.

I can only say (based on some hardworking mummies in tis forum who contributed eir comments) tat branded montessori sch does not equate gd sch. A lot is dependent on e sch directress. If there are any particular sch u r eyeing, it's better to go down to have a 'feel'. Do some homework b4 u go down & try to ask some 'difficult' questions & c if u r comfortable wif eir reply. make an apptm to mit e directress if possible. If u have e time, visit a few to 'feel' e diff. IM sure u will form yur own opinions eventually. šŸ˜‰

No problem! šŸ™‚ I actually appreciate the feedback. It helps!
                      Just curious though, why are you so passionate about this topic? You must have had an experience to make you such an advocate.

cantbearit2

joyceharper:

No problem! šŸ™‚ I actually appreciate the feedback. It helps!
                        Just curious though, why are you so passionate about this topic? You must have had an experience to make you such an advocate.
                        Hee....results speaks for itself. My DD progressed from zero phonics knowledge to blending 3 letters words in a short 4 mth period thru once a week montessori class & my active reinforcement at hm. šŸ•ŗ Even her montessori tr commented tat she had picked up v fast. Of course, wat e tr din noe was tat DD has a KS mum who did lots of reinforcement at hm mah. :evil:

If i really have to say, it's thks to Buds. Wen i started researching abt e diff types of phonics class, i chanced upon Buds input in e Montessori thread. Wif her clear instructions, i started using her mtds & try it out on my then 4 y.o. DD. She seems to take tis mtd of learning v well. We had great fun every nite.

Subsequently, i have oso attended a short workshop on Montessori Maths, phonics & grammar. I was hooked!!! :love: It's an addiction i couldn't get enough as e sys is brilliant in my personal opinion. e way grammar is introduced is fun yet systematic. Maths is really abt understanding. I hated rote drilling mtd :razz: , guess tats y Montessori appeals to me. I even ordered e Geography manuals using Montessori way & was even more impressed. :salute:

I realised tat i wanted more, not juz once a wk montessori phonics class. Despite e logistics issue i had šŸ˜“ , i withdrew my DD fr main stream childcare & put her in a half day montessori kindy. I have no regrets. šŸ˜‰ If there's any regret, it's bcos i din put her in a montessori environment sooner. šŸ˜†

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 146 / 165