how is LKY? Watch NDP! :)
:yikes: You are talking about your real real grandfather or OUR grandfather? :scratchhead: getting confused here..
My grandfather also helped bridge communication, maybe he knew some Japanese language but he was definitely conversant in Chinese dialects, and he was also threatened to be shot by the gun by the Japs. :yikes: -
Lilac66:
Is it an unidentified reliable source?concern2:
[quote=\"Lilac66\"]
Funny leh, I just heard from a friend (also from reliable source) it's not a rumour. So which reliable source is reliable. :?
But the mystery will be unravelled tomorrow. I do hope he'll appear

Err.. it's an unreliable identified source, I guess.
[/quote] :rotflmao: so which one is more reliable har?
:rotflmao: so which one is more reliable har?
ND Parade will be more reliable... :boogie: -
My real grandfather la...oops..you mean mychildren was talking about OUR? Even if it is OUR, my real grandpa shared similar experiences so don't doubt them lor...
:yikes: You are talking about your real real grandfather or OUR grandfather? :scratchhead: getting confused here..ksi:
My grandfather also helped bridge communication, maybe he knew some Japanese language but he was definitely conversant in Chinese dialects, and he was also threatened to be shot by the gun by the Japs. :yikes:
One thing I agree is that his impact is not the stopping of WWII of course but his building of nation after WWII. -
That's the good thing about sharing. We learn more from each other! :hi5:
My real grandfather la...oops..you mean mychildren was talking about OUR? Even if it is OUR, my real grandpa shared similar experiences so don't doubt them lor...ksi:
No intention to contradict that.One thing I agree is that his impact is not the stopping of WWII of course but his building of nation after WWII.
u better pm Mychildren to cfm u two hv d same grandfather anot! :evil:
Oi :pokeeye: , don't poke people's grandfather ok? :heresmyfish:
Maybe mychildren has the same grandfather as I or this is the common tactic used during Japanese occupation... :shock:
Ur grandfather has a lot of explaining to do!
In one of Donny Yenโs Ip Man movies (based on semi biographical accounts of Ip Manโs life),
Gordan Lam played d role of a Japanese translator who was scorned as a traitor but
ultimately redeemed himself by sacrificing himself for his ppl.
His rationale for crossing over to d enemy was he has to feed his family;
try justifying dat with Lim Bo Sengโs family n those who volunteered in Force 136 n many others who put country before self during d War.ksi:
Its a logical connection dat one has to be fluent in at least d languages/dialects to be translated to be able to work effectively as a translator.
My grandfather also helped bridge communication, maybe he knew some Japanese language but he was definitely conversant in Chinese dialects, and he was also threatened to be shot by the gun by the Japs. :yikes:
u shd know dis better than most as u hv done translation work urself.
My point here is let's not take things at face value. There r questionable gaps. -
I agree with you there are gaps and sometimes hard to fill. During Jap Occ, in my grandpa's casem he did not have a choice if he could translate or not, he was just arrested to be asked to do it and he just did his best. Even if he did not know Jap, I think what helped him was his \"street-wiseness\" to be offered as a value to the Japs, I vaguely remembered he offered sign and body language where he could not express in translated words. True in formal translation that I have done, all the required skills have to be in my qualifications... But between life and death situation, I tell you, the survival instincts preceded la.... So when senior folks shared their challenges, I never doubted what they said because I knew one of their STRONGEST qualification then was SURVIVAL INSTINCT!!
u better pm Mychildren to cfm u two hv d same grandfather anot! :evil:ksi:
Oi :pokeeye: , don't poke people's grandfather ok? :heresmyfish:
Maybe mychildren has the same grandfather as I or this is the common tactic used during Japanese occupation... :shock:
Ur grandfather has a lot of explaining to do!
Oi again...why need to drag grandpa in this again and have explaining to do? Maybe mychildren is my relative leh? Aiyo I trust your mind is broader than that leh...
:rotflmao: Now I ๅคง่ท็ผ้ใใใ
In one of Donny Yenโs Ip Man movies (based on semi biographical accounts of Ip Manโs life),
Gordan Lam played d role of a Japanese translator who was scorned as a traitor but
ultimately redeemed himself by sacrificing himself for his ppl.
His rationale for crossing over to d enemy was he has to feed his family;
try justifying dat with Lim Bo Sengโs family n those who volunteered in Force 136 n many others who put country before self during d War.
There are always people who serve directly and those who serve indirectly due to priorities at that point of time is different, ultimately the end result is the same. This ๅฝๅฎถ thingy has always been debatable. ๆๅฝๆๆๅฎถ or ๆๅฎถๆๆๅฝใใ something like the ๆๅฎถ็ซไธ or ็ซไธๆๅฎถ? For me, it can be both ways depending on the situation.
[/color]ksi:
Its a logical connection dat one has to be fluent in at least d languages/dialects to be translated to be able to work effectively as a translator.
u shd know dis better than most as u hv done translation work urself.
My point here is let's not take things at face value. There r questionable gaps.
I cannot simply apply today's logic of highly educated group to our forefathers. I am writing this in the context of my grandpa hor...
:hi5:
That's the good thing about sharing. We learn more from each other! :hi5:ksi:
My real grandfather la...oops..you mean mychildren was talking about OUR? Even if it is OUR, my real grandpa shared similar experiences so don't doubt them lor...ksi:
No intention to contradict that.One thing I agree is that his impact is not the stopping of WWII of course but his building of nation after WWII.

+1 talented..Imami:
He thinks he whispers sweet nothing but we hear nothing sweet.
That's nice. :rotflmao:
level up! -
My source says he is alive. But I could not dig out if he's sick or attending NDP. But still good news to some extent

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.