how is LKY? Watch NDP! :)
Must watch NDP on tv this year!
BeContented:
My source says he is alive. But I could not dig out if he's sick or attending NDP. But still good news to some extent

I'll wait for ND news. Most official. Definitely accurate.
E-hem. IF - if har, he didn't turn up, but unable to attend leh? Means true meh? -
We watch ndp every year either on tv or at times becos of on-site duty and also becos upon returning to school, the kiddies usually hafta write compo based on ND.
[quote=\"BeContented\"]My source says he is alive. But I could not dig out if he's sick or attending NDP. But still good news to some extent

I'll wait for ND news. Most official. Definitely accurate.
E-hem. IF - if har, he didn't turn up, but unable to attend leh? Means true meh?[/quote]Not whether see him there or not.. I said news.
Of course him not being there means there's a possibility that it wasn't a rumour to begin with.
BeContented your source from inside the house or outside? :evil: -
BeContented:
My source says he is alive. But I could not dig out if he's sick or attending NDP. But still good news to some extent

:rahrah: :rahrah:
:love:BeContented:

Yeah.....for the first time in my life, I bought the Singapore flag for my child and for the first time in my life, I am going to sit in front of the TV and wave the flag with my kid.... Better late than never....
Btw, I am waving the flag not because I am proud to be a Singaporean, far from it. I am proud to be living here only. I am waving because I am happy that everything is a vicious rumour afterall. :boogie: -
Thanks for understanding what I mean. At least, you don't twist my words.
:? Funny bit of history there. LKY didn't put an end to World War II. But then again, I know what you mean by appreciating the peace we have now.Mychildren:
Hi, good to c u here again. My grandpa was nearly pulled to be gunshot..... during the Japanese occupation.
Do enjoy the peace when there's. :xedfingers:
By the way, I'm not rich, I'm a peasant. I earned with my blood & sweat for traveling, not that I born with a silver spoon.
I agree with you there are gaps and sometimes hard to fill. During Jap Occ, in my grandpa's casem he did not have a choice if he could translate or not, he was just arrested to be asked to do it and he just did his best. Even if he did not know Jap, I think what helped him was his \"street-wiseness\" to be offered as a value to the Japs, I vaguely remembered he offered sign and body language where he could not express in translated words. True in formal translation that I have done, all the required skills have to be in my qualifications... But between life and death situation, I tell you, the survival instincts preceded la.... So when senior folks shared their challenges, I never doubted what they said because I knew one of their STRONGEST qualification then was SURVIVAL INSTINCT!!
u better pm Mychildren to cfm u two hv d same grandfather anot! :evil:Way2GO:
[quote=\"ksi\"]
Oi :pokeeye: , don't poke people's grandfather ok? :heresmyfish:
Maybe mychildren has the same grandfather as I or this is the common tactic used during Japanese occupation... :shock:
Ur grandfather has a lot of explaining to do!
Oi again...why need to drag grandpa in this again and have explaining to do? Maybe mychildren is my relative leh? Aiyo I trust your mind is broader than that leh...
:rotflmao: Now I 大跌眼镜。。。
Why 大跌眼镜 leh? U misinterpreted.
Fren, I wasn’t asking u to explain ur grandfather’s experience during d Japanese Occupation leh; not my place to ask such questions of him.
wat I meant was, in a humourous way, dat he has some explaining to do if it turns out u hv blood relatives u don’t know about!
In one of Donny Yen’s Ip Man movies (based on semi biographical accounts of Ip Man’s life),
Gordan Lam played d role of a Japanese translator who was scorned as a traitor but
ultimately redeemed himself by sacrificing himself for his ppl.
His rationale for crossing over to d enemy was he has to feed his family;
try justifying dat with Lim Bo Seng’s family n those who volunteered in Force 136 n many others who put country before self during d War.
There are always people who serve directly and those who serve indirectly due to priorities at that point of time is different, ultimately the end result is the same. This 国家 thingy has always been debatable. 有国才有家 or 有家才有国。。 something like the 成家立业 or 立业成家? For me, it can be both ways depending on the situation.
OK. won't go into a debate into contentious sensitive issue.
For me , its 有国才有家.
[/color]ksi:
Its a logical connection dat one has to be fluent in at least d languages/dialects to be translated to be able to work effectively as a translator.
My grandfather also helped bridge communication, maybe he knew some Japanese language but he was definitely conversant in Chinese dialects, and he was also threatened to be shot by the gun by the Japs. :yikes:
u shd know dis better than most as u hv done translation work urself.
My point here is let's not take things at face value. There r questionable gaps.
I cannot simply apply today's logic of highly educated group to our forefathers. I am writing this in the context of my grandpa hor... [/quote]
Lynn2:
http://temasektimes.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/photo-lee-kuan-yew-walking-out-of-sgh-today/
Read that , people:
Contrary to unverified rumors being circulated in cyberspace by malicious individuals, Singapore’s Supreme Leader Lee Kuan Yew is as FIT as a bull.
:rahrah: :rahrah:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.