Opinions of the Primary School Registration System
MOE can consider rotate current Subject Head (for 4 subjects) every 3 to 5 years from each of the branded hot, popular school to the average neighbourhood schools, in order to help establish common best practices methodology implementation across all schools in SG.
example:
if MGS (Blackmore drive) Subject Head in languages are so strong in getting entire school to gain impressive Quality passes in English at 91.2 % and Chinese at 94.2 %, can consider post them to neighbourhood schools that are weak in lanaguages, every 3 to 5 years.
http://www.mgs.sch.edu.sg//article/358#top
MOE can also consider invite and hire semi retired / retired Principals, Vice Principals, Subject Head(s) of Department with many years of rich, extensive experience from hot, popular schools back to schools to work on contract assignment basis - plant them in the average neighbourhood primary schools, tap upon their rich valuable experience(s) to hand hold and train the younger, junior inexperienced teachers from average neigbhourhood schools the best Practices motivational teaching method(s) cum curriculum, in the 4 subjects.
ya, this is really a good suggestion. so, standard of all schools can be equal and we parents are willing to just register our kids in any schools around our area. -
It is the name of the school that matter.
You move the head to another school, but the teacher over there cannot move, there is nothing he or she can do in the short term. You need to have long term n this takes many years to build up. They cannot do magic with 6 years.
This applied to the real business world. When the CEO resign, the company still function as per normal or even better because a lot of people want to take up the challenge n improve the company further.
A lot of stake holder will not let it fall. Even if all the teachers left, the brand name will attract a lot of good teachers to replace them. -
err.. why would they rush down at last min..? unless they're really busy..?PhoBIA:
Some parents just leave it as it is after registering.
quite a number of parents from a few hot, popular schools were hit hard & caught in dilema when past 4 pm on the last day of Registration (both Phase 2B and 2C), some selfish inconsiderate parents staying < 1km suddenly rush down last minute to register. This throw those parents residing (1 to 2 km) and > 2km completely off course - with no time to react ie. to withdraw and go try another school, at the 11th hour. Pity them. And because they were caught, they wasted a very, very precious golden chance & opportunity at Phase 2C. Now they're stranded, helpless. After that, the clock chime 4.30 pm: \"Dong ! Dong ! Dong !\" Registration closed. They can't do anything (since system is closed for registration), except to move onto next phase 2C Supp, to register. Is a real pity for them.
Usually, parent very kan cheong and kiasu one rite.. first day all rush to reg already..
from my personal experience.. I went to RSS on the first day in the morning.. within the 1st hour, they put up notice that <1km need to ballot..
Which is good thing.. coz the very afternoon I go to another school to reg.
phtthp your kid not in Primary sch yet? -
MR06:
It will NEVER happen..phtthp:
This year was bad!...
How about registration order
Day 1 strictly for applicants within 1km
Day 2 for applicants 1-2km
Day 3 for applicants>2km
with penalty as follow:-
Those within 1km would be considered under 1-2km if they register on Day 2. All who register on Day 3 are classed under >2km irregardless of actual distance from school.
however, something similar would be 1st week <1km, 2nd week 1~2km etc..
coz, you can Not restrict registration to 1 day only.
It is not fair to those who may not be able to take leave on any particular day. -
Imami:
her citizenship is irrelevant.. the kid shd be SC rite?
But I feel that credits should be given to the PRs too. I have a friend who is a PR. She married a sg man and is staying with his family in sg. She can't convert to singaporean because of some family issue back in her Indonesian home. Something like if she convert, she cannot own any property in indonesia. As she is the only child, she would need to takeover the property when her parents pass on. -
Imami:
Thanks dorisp. I so scare Kenna flamed and stoned.... For speaking my view.
kena flame so be it lor.. at least no one calls you cockroach.... juz bcoz the views differ..
:evil: -
Blessedwife:
What is \"right\" is highly subjective..
Cannot say PR taken up rate is not significant so we just open one eye and close one eye. What is right is right and what is wrong we must change. If u experience balloting before you will then know that even ONE vacancy makes a big difference to all parents. Some school went into balloting just because of that ONE vacancy exceeded.limlim:
Not 2C lah.. that is too much.. Let the PRs have a go at 2C..
Afterall, the number isn't that significant.. The seats taken by 2A to 2B far outweighs those taken by PRs at 2C.
Don't forget, at 2C, All SCs are admitted first before PRs.
That is already significant priority already.
If MOE were to put SC priority before PR throughout registration can you imagine so many more SC parents and their kids can succeed to get into their preferred school within 1km, 1-2km and even for those out of 2km.
There will be lesser disappointed SC parents in KS forum.
I am a Singaporean so my main concern is for our own Singaporean friends after which then our PR friends. Isn't this what our fellow Singaporeans want our garmen to do?
Again, I repeat, SC ALREADY have absolute priority over PR within a phase. And I agree this is the correct direction.
They have a choice. If they give up their chance, and it is picked up by a PR, then, why blame the PRs? Why don't they zero in on THAT school from the start and not take the risk at the other school's ballot? They would have gotten the place.
I am SC, and I feel the priority within a phase is good. However, I don't feel pushing PRs to P2D is \"right\".
Give priority to SC is fine, but not discriminate against the PRs until they are left with, not only the \"leftover\", but the \"leftover of the leftover\".
If the govt want to promote SG as education hub, extreme discrimination isn't the way to go..
Please read again your comment in blue. As of now, SC already have absolute priority within a phase. And they do enjoy absolute proiority over PRs at the preferred school if they had applied at P2C. -
How about this? Let parents fill in three choices. Then those parents who are not eligible to participate for firstachoic school ie out of distance bracket for ballot, will be allocated second choice school. Parents can also fill in yes or no as to whether they want to participate in ballot if they are eligible, or forgo ballot option and accept second option school. With that, parents who would like to ballot will really think about whether they want to ballot or risk their second choice school taken automatically by those who opted not to ballot or not eligible for ballot.
Chances are one might be termed \"sore eyes\" and \"vast interest\"......Imami:
Thanks dorisp. I so scare Kenna flamed and stoned.... For speaking my view.
kena flame so be it lor.. at least no one calls you cockroach.... juz bcoz the views differ..
Just joking.
IMHO, nothing else should matter if you are genuine and are in the discussion for the better of the topic or system.
We have to accept that opinions do differ and to agree to disagree wherever possible.
Actually thought of that also... but thinking further, it might not really work as the students from these \"good\" schools are normally more well to do thus most of them are either going for enrichment lessons outside or having more tution so they are \"smarter\". So if smarter students will definitely produced better results.MOE can consider rotate current Subject Head (for 4 subjects) every 3 to 5 years from each of the branded hot, popular school to the average neighbourhood schools, in order to help establish common best practices methodology implementation across all schools in SG.
example:
if MGS (Blackmore drive) Subject Head in languages are so strong in getting entire school to gain impressive Quality passes in English at 91.2 % and Chinese at 94.2 %, can consider post them to neighbourhood schools that are weak in lanaguages, every 3 to 5 years.
http://www.mgs.sch.edu.sg//article/358#top
MOE can also consider invite and hire semi retired / retired Principals, Vice Principals, Subject Head(s) of Department with many years of rich, extensive experience from hot, popular schools back to schools to work on contract assignment basis - plant them in the average neighbourhood primary schools, tap upon their rich valuable experience(s) to hand hold and train the younger, junior inexperienced teachers from average neigbhourhood schools the best Practices motivational teaching method(s) cum curriculum, in the 4 subjects.
When the HOD set the teaching methods or material from these popular schools, they are \"cater\" to these smarter students. Therefore, the HOD are transferred to another a normal school that do not have so many of these \"smarter\" students, the methods or material may not work.
What do you think.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.