PM Lee: What future do you want for Singapore?
θΏιεΎε€ :siao: η... δΉ ζ―ε°±ε₯½...
GLORYmum:
[quote=\"Daddy D\"]εζ₯ζζ‘ιͺζ§...
ε¦ε¦, εε°ε©εζ₯δΊ.... :faint:
:siao:
[/quote]Just saw this.
Who ar? :imanangel: -
so why the need for the hefty rewards then..?
That's a bit of a cynical view limlim. Why not, most of them were never in with a chance for the monetary reward.limlim:
I am doubtful most of the sportsman that took part in Olympic did it for personal glory or national glory..
Althou for countries like China.. I would believe most did it for their country..
Maybe $1k or $10k already a lot.. They achieved personal glory and fame (and maybe commercial interests later?). The country already spend so much to put them there. Hasn't the country done enough for them? -
so why the need for the hefty rewards then..?
That's a bit of a cynical view limlim. Why not, most of them were never in with a chance for the monetary reward.3Boys:
[quote=\"limlim\"]I am doubtful most of the sportsman that took part in Olympic did it for personal glory or national glory..
Althou for countries like China.. I would believe most did it for their country..
Maybe $1k or $10k already a lot.. They achieved personal glory and fame (and maybe commercial interests later?). The country already spend so much to put them there. Hasn't the country done enough for them?[/quote]
Apart from table tennis, no one else, in swimming, sailing, weightlifting, shooting, athletics, was in for any kind of a realistic chance for a medal. So they are in fact there for the competition and to fly the flag.
C'mon limlim, fair is fair, ok?
Further, some of these are professional sportspersons, they train full time and don't really have any other means to make a living. You can debate that philosophy if you like, but it is the reality of present sporting culture. So why begrudge them a payoff if they do very well at the top level? -
1) I wish Singaporeans would think about the impact of policy changes before suggesting them and raising a hue and cry when ignored
2) I wish Singaporeans would think before they hit the 'post' button on forums
3) I wish Singaporeans would think about getting off their bums and doing something about an issue before complaining about it to ah gong
4) I wish Singaporeans will regain their 'can-do' spirit and just get on with getting things done instead of always looking for handouts.
5) I wish Singaporeans would stop this 'us versus them' attitude to the foreigners who help build our nation, consume goods and services, and pay taxes. The British welcomed Mo Farah (5K/10K gold winner emigrated from Africa, trained in USA) into their fold, we should do the same to our sportsmen holding red passports.
All definitely OPEN to challenge or debate, no point posting otherwise.
I agreed with all your pts except pt no.5 which you cleverly placed olympic gold medallist together with our foreign workers.
Olympic gold medallist is always considered a natural treasure, in yr above case he's a double medallist! We may not produce one in another generation without outside talents. For foreign workers, they came here with their eyes open, taking the opportunities offered by our beloved nation. We provide them with a conductive enviroment to develop their careers, making money, bringing up their families etc. While not being the only good nation, Singapore is one good place to live. So foreign workers are expected to bring something on the table otherwise our nation does not need them.
I hve had mentioned the value of an olympic gold medallist as much greater than a President scholar in the London games' thread.
Our nation must find ways to encourage earlier marriage and procreation. Our guys are prepared to lay down their lives to protect the President. Constituition and submit to orders from the government who are duly elected. Surely, all these noble activities must rank above the contributions from foreign workers no matter how much the latter can offer.
Of course i welcome foreign workers to contribute to our nation. However, it is not on the same level as outlined in my above arguments. -
Edureach:
Hah hah Edureach, thank you. No, I hadn't intended to be naughty that way. But you are right, I did mix my metaphors, they are, as you say, different.
I agreed with all your pts except pt no.5 which you cleverly placed olympic gold medallist together with our foreign workers.
Olympic gold medallist is always considered a natural treasure, in yr above case he's a double medallist! We may not produce one in another generation without outside talents. For foreign workers, they came here with their eyes open, taking the opportunities offered by our beloved nation. We provide them with a conductive enviroment to develop their careers, making money, bringing up their families etc. While not being the only good nation, Singapore is one good place to live. So foreign workers are expected to bring something on the table otherwise our nation does not need them.
I hve had mentioned the value of an olympic gold medallist as much greater than a President scholar in the London games' thread.
Our nation must find ways to encourage earlier marriage and procreation. Our guys are prepared to lay down their lives to protect the President. Constituition and submit to orders from the government who are duly elected. Surely, all these noble activities must rank above the contributions from foreign workers no matter how much the latter can offer.
Of course i welcome foreign workers to contribute to our nation. However, it is not on the same level as outlined in my above arguments.
But on the workers bit, we only see the downside, we quite often fail to see the contributions to the overall economy apart from the labour they provide. There is a lot of intellectual capital that comes aboard. A lot of SMEs depend significantly on resident aliens for business also. We must not forget that when we look at the whole equation.
See, debate much more refreshing.
[/
But are you guys deviating for the thread??
The thread is meant for others to express their wish list for Singapore not debating over the worth of an Olympic medal. -
GLORYmum:
6) I wish that Singaporeans would not get too hung up on where our Olympic medallists come from and cheer their achievements instead.
The thread is meant for others to express their wish list for Singapore not debating over the worth of an Olympic medal.
I'm sure people disagree, so go ahead and bash. -
Let's say I followed the policies thoroughly but the rules were too stringent for a divorcee. the ask for compromise resulted in a few emails to the PMO office.
Wah... U also sibei fierce one... Dun mess with u... :razz: -
6) I wish that Singaporeans would not get too hung up on where our Olympic medallists come from and cheer their achievements instead.GLORYmum:
The thread is meant for others to express their wish list for Singapore not debating over the worth of an Olympic medal.
I'm sure people disagree, so go ahead and bash.
:rotflmao: Some wish lists 'self-invite' the debates :rotflmao:
You know what they say about wishes - beware, or you may just get what you wish for! (together with the side-effects!
)
:hi5:
6) I wish that Singaporeans would not get too hung up on where our Olympic medallists come from and cheer their achievements instead.
I'm sure people disagree, so go ahead and bash.
We seem so concern whether they will ran away but maybe we should rejoice that by having a medalist, we can look forward in having them nurture our kids to be future Olympians.
:offtopic: but didn't Fandi part time to Jb as techncial advisor... and took on a more lucrative offer with Indonesian club Pelita Jaya.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.