[Novena] Primary Schools

1.6k Posts 200 Posters 607.8k Views 1 Watching
      sglady

almost daily calls for scoring 70 -80 ? seriously you are joking or your good friend is not telling the complete truth or just a cover for something else ?

I don't believe what you post. please name the school. SCGS ? RGPS ? MGS ? St Nick ?
      Hmm, chill off. No hard feelings.

You can choose not to believe it and this is just a hearsay from my friend which may not be true. And maybe my friend feels very paiseh when the teacher is so concerned about her daughter wanting my friend to do something about the grades.

And I believe every school is different and so are the teachers when approaching weaker students.

sglady

Just to clarify, my friend transferred her daughter out not the school.

• 2 Offline
          2hotTOhandle

sglady:
          Just to clarify, my friend transferred her daughter out not the school.

I too dun believe that the teacher will call the parents daily when the girl is scoring 70-80. Like u said she is an average student. There are lotsa average students! Can u name the sch??

• cindycsmC Offline
            cindycsm

Hmm I thought all schools have this Learning Support Prog to help weak students? Dun think any sch will kick a student for some unreasonable reason.

• Z Offline
              Zeng

cindycsm:
              Hmm I thought all schools have this Learning Support Prog to help weak students? Dun think any sch will kick a student for some unreasonable reason.

Agree. But for those with actual learning disability, esp the milder ones, depending on resources, different schs may have diffferent ability to support such students. For relatively common problems like dyslexias, sch teachers may not even recognise them.

jtoh

sglady:
                The school will never ask the students to leave but it's the pressure the parents receive from the school; the parents can take them no longer and thus transfer their kids out.

Daughter of my good friend was in a very popular girl school but was transferred out coz my friend and her hubby couldn't stand receiving calls from school almost daily. Her daughter is just an average student scoring 70-80 for most of the subjects.
                70-80 is pretty good, no? I don't think teachers will call up the parents daily if a child is scoring those kind of marks. If the child was failing then there may be cause for concern. Of if the child had behavioral issues.

MR06

The school will never ask the students to leave but it's the pressure the parents receive from the school; the parents can take them no longer and thus transfer their kids out.

Daughter of my good friend was in a very popular girl school but was transferred out coz my friend and her hubby couldn't stand receiving calls from school almost daily. Her daughter is just an average student scoring 70-80 for most of the subjects.

sglady:

almost daily calls for scoring 70 -80 ? seriously you are joking or your good friend is not telling the complete truth or just a cover for something else ?

I don't believe what you post. please name the school. SCGS ? RGPS ? MGS ? St Nick ?

Hmm, chill off. No hard feelings.

You can choose not to believe it and this is just a hearsay from my friend which may not be true. And maybe my friend feels very paiseh when the teacher is so concerned about her daughter wanting my friend to do something about the grades.

And I believe every school is different and so are the teachers when approaching weaker students.

You posted this under Novena Primary Schools thread. There is only 1 girls' school here. Hope you are not alluding to SCGS, her focus is on holistic education and is one of the least competitive girls' school.

What I often hear however is, the school will try to take back their primary school girls who did not make the cut in PSLE by 1 or 2 point when a vacancy arises.

sglady

No worries. It’s not SCGS.

It’s RGPS. Like i’ve mentioned it’s just a hearsay or maybe my friend doesn’t really relate the full details to me. I believe every teacher’s approach to each individual child is different too.

mummy of 3

My cousin study in RGPS and her grades are below average and her PSLE get less than 180 but she was not out of the school. Btw her classmate also the same... Maybe its the parents who cant take the stress ba :roll:

How is SCGS academic standing today (compared with “All Girls” School) ?

================================================================================================

ilovemymm:
                        wondering anyone knows the 2011 psle results ranking of all the chij primary schools?

any comment of CHIJ OLN ? heard that the current principal is good. How about the students there?
                        lack Haig Girls, CHIJ Kellock, CHIJ OLGC (Our Lady of Good Counsel), CHIJ St Nicholas data (offer Integrated Programme, 2013 Sec 1). anyone has ?

2011 PSLE Quality Pass (All Girls’ School)
                        hoskins8h:

English Maths Science Chinese

MGS\t(Bukit Timah) 91.2%\t75.4%\t83.3%\t94.2%
                        RGPS \t85.3%\t74.2%\t73.5%\t91.5%
                        i)\tSCGS 91.2 % 68.6 % 82 % 89.3 %

ii)
                        CHIJ Toa Payoh 73.8 % 53.2 % 63.6 % 85.6 %
                        http://www.chijpritoapayoh.moe.edu.sg/NWeb/achievements.html

iii)
                        Paya Lebar Methodist 72 % 63.1 % 62.9 % 92.8 %
                        http://www.payalebarmethodistgirlspri.moe.edu.sg/cos/o.x?c=/wbn/pagetree&func=view&rid=47794

iv)
                        CHIJ Katong Convent 70.5 % 41.6 % 45.1 % 79.2 %
                        http://chijkcp.moe.edu.sg/parent-portal-news/main-post/sexuality-education-programme-2011/

v)
                        CHIJ OLQP (Our Lady Queen of Peace) 61.2 % 47.5 % 56.3 % 83.3 %
                        http://www.chijourladyqueenofpeace.moe.edu.sg/images/stories/2012update/psleresults2011.pdf

vi)
                        CHIJ OLN (Our Lady of the Nativity) 59.4 % 34.1 % 41.5 % 81.9 %
                        http://www.chijourladyofthenativity.moe.edu.sg/cos/o.x?c=/wbn/pagetree&func=view&rid=1100126

vii)
                        Marymount Convent 69.6 % 46.2 % 55.5 % 80 %
                        http://www.marymountconvent.moe.edu.sg/cos/o.x?c=/wbn/pagetree&func=view&rid=1130876

viii)
                        St Anthony Cannosian Convent (Bedok) 60.9 % 52.7 % 51.2 % 81.1 %
                        http://sacps.moe.edu.sg/achieve_2011.htm

ix)
                        St Margaret Anglican 54.6 % 35.6 % 49.8 % 74.6 %

x)
                        Cannosa Convent 46.9 % 43.7 % 50.4 % 81.3 %
                        http://www.canossaconventpri.moe.edu.sg/cos/o.x?c=/wbn/pagetree&func=view&rid=55624

a)
                        Chinese

MGS (Bukit Timah) 94.2 %

Paya Lebar Methodist 92.8 %

RGPS 91.5 %

SCGS 89.3 %

CHIJ Toa Payoh 85.6 %

CHIJ OLQP (Our Lady Queen of Peace) 83.3%

CHIJ OLN (Our Lady of the Nativity) 81.9 %

Cannosa Convent 81.3 %

St Anthony Cannosian (Bedok) 81.1 %

Marymount 80 %

CHIJ Katong Convent 79.2 %

St Margaret 74.6 %

Chinese

Seems like overall - girls are stronger & excel better in language(s).
                        Many Girls’ schools churn out impressive results for Chinese (2011).

In the lead is MGS (Bukit Timah), followed in 2nd place by Paya Lebar MGS.
                        hahaha ! Our Methodist Girls shine in Mandarin ! MGS is Top.

MGS (94.2 %), Paya Lebar Methodist Girls (92.8 %, wow !)
                        Paya Lebar Methodist Girls did exceedingly well (92.8 %) !
                        Great job done, PLMGS! Keep it Up !

Chasing up hot on the heel in 3rd and 4th position are RGPS and SCGS :-
                        RGPS (91.5 %), SCGS (89.3 %).

The CHIJ Convent girls family not only speak good English (general public opinion), but also done well in Chinese. Great job done, CHIJ girls ! Keep it Up !

CHIJ Toa Payoh (85.6 %)
                        CHIJ OLQP - Our Lady Queen of Peace (83.3%)
                        CHIJ OLN - Our Lady of the Nativity (81.9 %)

Other convent girls also done well !
                        Cannosa Convent, St Anthony Cannosian Convent (Bedok) and Marymount Convent - performed very well (achieved past 80 %).

Cannosa Convent (81.3 %)
                        St Anthony Cannosian (81.1 %)
                        Marymount (80 %)

Next, St Margaret & Katong Convent – also done well for Chinese.
                        CHIJ Katong Convent (79.2 %)

St Margaret - strongest subject lies in … Chinese (for 2011).
                        St Margaret (74.6 %)

b)
                        English

MGS (Bukit Timah) & SCGS both achieved same score: 91.2 %

RGPS 85.3 %

CHIJ Toa Payoh 73.8 %

Paya Lebar Methodist 72 %

CHIJ Katong Convent 70.5 %

Marymount Convent 69.6 %

CHIJ OLQP (Our Lady Queen of Peace) 61.2 %

St Anthony Cannosian Convent (Bedok) 60.9 %

CHIJ OLN (Our Lady of the Nativity) 59.4 %

St Margaret 54.6%

Cannosa Convent 46.9 %

c)
                        Mathematics

MGS (Bukit Timah) 75.4 %

RGPS 74.2 %

SCGS 68.6 %

Paya Lebar Methodist 63.1 %

CHIJ Toa Payoh 53.2 %

St Anthony Cannosian Convent (Bedok) 52.7 %

CHIJ OLQP (Our Lady Queen of Peace) 47.5 %

Marymount Convent 46.2 %

Cannosa Convent 43.7 %

CHIJ Katong Convent 41.6 %

St Margaret 35.6%

CHIJ OLN (Our Lady of the Nativity) 34.1 %

Mathematics
                        following schools weak scoring around 40% to 55% need to improve in Mathematics:-

CHIJ Toa Payoh (53.2 %)
                        St Anthony Cannosian Convent (Bedok) (52.7 %)

CHIJ OLQP - Our Lady Queen of Peace (47.5 %)
                        Marymount Convent (46.2 %)
                        Cannosa Convent (43.7 %)
                        CHIJ Katong Convent (41.6 %)

St Margaret (35.6%)
                        CHIJ OLN - Our Lady of the Nativity (34.1 %)

d)
                        Science

MGS (Bukit Timah) 83.3 %

SCGS 82%

RGPS 73.5 %

CHIJ Toa Payoh 63.6 %

Paya Lebar Methodist 62.9 %

CHIJ OLQP (Our Lady Queen of Peace) 56.3 %

Marymount Convent 55.5 %

St Anthony Cannosian Convent (Bedok) 51.2 %

Cannosa Convent 50.4%

St Margaret 49.8 %

CHIJ Katong Convent 45.1 %

CHIJ OLN (Our Lady of the Nativity) 41.5 %

Science

MGS and SCGS strong in Science.
                        MGS (Bukit Timah) (83.3 %), SCGS (82%)

following schools weak scoring around 40% to 55% need to improve in Science:-

Marymount Convent (55.5 %)
                        St Anthony Cannosian Convent (Bedok) (51.2 %)

Cannosa Convent (50.4%)
                        St Margaret (49.8 %)

CHIJ Katong Convent (45.1 %)
                        CHIJ OLN (Our Lady of the Nativity) (41.5 %)

co-ed schools :-
                        http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=424&start=2560

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 157 / 160