2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
Agreed, no more doing entire papers. Just identify weak areas and focus on those areas. Time is crucial and identifying weak areas and correcting them is the best action for my DD for this last league…
Dear KPs,
My DS said that for PSLE Chinese (Normal Chinese exam), the P6 topics tested are the first 7 chapters in his Higher Chinese textbook. Can someone kindly confirm? What about Normal Chinese? :? -
After listening to advice from many KSPs, I have decided not to buy 2012 prelim papers as many KSPs said, my DD's school already gave top school papers.Instead, I will just let her do 2011 papers.Are there any differences in 2012 and 2011 papers? And Chenonceau, I happened to land in your blog and you had mentioned that your DS school paper was very tough. Would you mind typing out some of those impossible questions? I think a lot of DDs and DSs would benefit from being exposed to questions of such difficulty. Of course, this is if you do not mind doing so. :imsorry: if I asked for something wrong. All KSPs who helped me: :thankyou: ! :lovesite:Yes... I agree. Don't buy because others are buying. Buy according to your need. DS has completed all the Math Top School papers we have, even though we've hardly touched the English and Science. We need more access to Math problems with a twist that he hasn't seen before. His school gives WHOLE practice papers. That is generally a good practice so near to PSLE. But it doesn't quite fit our need at the present moment.
In our case, we have one very specific area to work on and for that we need a new pool of strange questions. -
My DD is always getting high A or low A star for math,English and science.I have no idea what I can do so that DDs marks improve.Oh, I do not know if this would help, but DDs compre cloze is not very good. What can I do to help? This kiasu mummy wants DD to go to her dream school but has no idea what to do. Why am I so blur? :stupid:
Hi Balu_Priya, apologies… I can’t type out my son’s Paper 2 Math questions because it’s as good as revealing to the world which school DS goes to. Very very sorry. Next, I am afraid there is not much academic strengthening you CAN do at this late stage. To tackle compre cloze, I started DS in early P5 on a regime of non-fiction readings…
- Time
- Newsweek
- National Geographic
- Readers’ Digest
- History
Right now, I have switched my focus away from academic strengthening and managing more his emotional state. No panic. No fear. Just keep up the gentle practice to keep the brain toned up. Eat well. Play more. Rest enough. Stay in good health. -
My dear, I'm on the same page as u... As in the focus is on emotional & mental well being. Tough to keep off the \"push\" factor from external sources.Hi Balu_Priya, apologies... I can't type out my son's Paper 2 Math questions because it's as good as revealing to the world which school DS goes to. Very very sorry. Next, I am afraid there is not much academic strengthening you CAN do at this late stage. To tackle compre cloze, I started DS in early P5 on a regime of non-fiction readings...
- Time
- Newsweek
- National Geographic
- Readers' Digest
- History
Right now, I have switched my focus away from academic strengthening and managing more his emotional state. No panic. No fear. Just keep up the gentle practice to keep the brain toned up. Eat well. Play more. Rest enough. Stay in good health.
Everyone's revving up and I'm asking her not to.
Just read your blog and am trying to comprehend it but it's so cheem :sad:
DD loses a lot of marks to carelessness and that's my biggest worry. Is making her \"happy\" partly a reason why? Based on your blog, it seems to be. Especially when she is less careless after I'm harsh with her. But I've been a \"zen\" mum as I thought that's what I have to be this year. -
Peony... heh! Experimental lab studied show that people perform better at analytical/logical mental tasks when their emotions have been primed to be SAD (i.e., watch a sad movie). People perform better at creative tasks when their emotions have been primed to be HAPPY (i.e., watch a funny movie).
Paper 1 needs our kids to be logical and careful.
Paper 2 needs our kids to be creative.
I'm not sure of how effective it is to get DS to be sad in Paper 1... and then happy in Paper 2. Sometimes, the application of research to real life can completely foul things up. The blog post was just some musings. Don't take it too seriously. I haven't messed around with this particular notion enough to be able to recommend anything to anyone. It's just me thinking out loud and experimenting with an idea to see how it can work in real life.
Seriously though... I can just see how some people will think I am :siao: to even suggest to DS that he should...
(1) be sad in Paper 1
(2) be happy in Paper 2
DS himself said \"Mom, you are trying to make me into a cuckoo? It will be so odd for me to swing from sad to happy in the 30 minutes break between Paper 1 and Paper 2.\"
And ummm... he is right. :rotflmao: This PSLE is driving me psycho too. -
Er... I try everything... From music to whole brain methods etc. so I don't find you :siao: lol!
If anything, am game to trying new strategies especially when it comes to overcoming her carelessness.
What u say makes sense coz she does better (less careless) when she's anxious for maths and science but not for compo. Her best compo was written when she was calm & happy.
I discussed this with her and she said \"I'm happy when the qns are easy\". Hence the reason why she's careless? :slapshead:
I always thought it was coz she goes too fast when doing an easy qn.
Thanks so much for sharing so much. :udawoman: -
Chenonceau, you have a point there.DD reads a lot of fiction materials but not non-fiction. I will get her to read the materials you suggested. :thankyou: for your suggestion! And Chenonceau, you might consider PMing me with the names in the questions changed, but it is perfectly alright if you cannot do so. :thankyou: once again for all your help! :snuggles:Hi Balu_Priya, apologies... I can't type out my son's Paper 2 Math questions because it's as good as revealing to the world which school DS goes to. Very very sorry. Next, I am afraid there is not much academic strengthening you CAN do at this late stage. To tackle compre cloze, I started DS in early P5 on a regime of non-fiction readings...
- Time
- Newsweek
- National Geographic
- Readers' Digest
- History
Right now, I have switched my focus away from academic strengthening and managing more his emotional state. No panic. No fear. Just keep up the gentle practice to keep the brain toned up. Eat well. Play more. Rest enough. Stay in good health. -
Chenonceau, I think we all need to be treated for PSLE burn out after all this!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.