MOE not tweaking P1 registration
Average Joe:
I think some refinement to Phase 2A for e.g. to impose some form of quota (25% of remaining vacancies after Phase 1?) is not entirely unreasonable.
Disagree.
:imanangel: -
after all, MOE keep hiring so many trainee teachers every batch / year. They come in easily. There is no lack of teachers. So teacher staff resources should not be an issue ... at most, can open up more classes.
I thought MOE always got problems hiring new teachers? Also nowadays loosing teachers to the tuition market. I have one ex-colleague who quit to become a teacher. Once the bond is up, she came out again. She said teaching is a very stressful job, better come back out to be an accountant!
It is a matter of time soon that there may need to ballot in P2A and these schools will only cater to children of alumni and doors are shut to all others. Wonder what is MOE's stand on that when the day comes.

I agree with the reply from MP Lawrence Wong!Channel News Asia
10 September, 2012
SINGAPORE
MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, Mr Liang Eng Hwa, said: \"For non-gifted schools, would MOE consider higher allocation to those who live within one kilometre so they have a higher chance and a shorter distance to travel to schools for the kids?\"
Senior Minister of State for Education, Lawrence Wong, said:-
\"There are also concerns raised, that if you were to give even more priority, what would be the impact on property prices for example? Would that then force out more parents who may not be able to afford living within that area? Would that be a fairer way of allocating? -
While my first reaction is to rejoice over the status quo since I am registering next year, I am also concerned about P2B. The gate is open too wide. Should be tweaked eventually.
Wow, it is a noble goal. If MOE is able to supply so many teachers to the schools I am sure the work-life balance of the teachers and the teaching quality should improve. Then it may help to reduce the attrition rate of teachers as well as the work-load.
so, a school which has 180 × 6 (P1 - P6) = 1080 students will have 60 teachers altogether? Schools really hv so many teachers ar?Sun_2010:
The student teacher ratio is the no of students to number of teachers. Not no of students in a class.
But don't think it will translate to reducing the class size. Already schools are going single session and having problems with the premises and/or reduced intake. If class size reduced further will need even larger premises or drastically cut intake.
Smaller class size is always welcome, if it means teachers are less stressed and hence less likely to tell those weaker students or those kids with special needs to go. If it allows for greater accommodation for weaker students, I am all for it! -
This is the first time MOE has publicly announced that they have heard us. Unfortunately, even with loved ones, you sometimes need to be loud and insistent.
I agree that nowadays we MUST speak up to our beloved gahmen, perhaps not so loudly but certainly in large numbers and insistently. I get the feeling as well that never before has the gahmen's ears been so on-the-ground and listening. Also put into actions the feedback!
It is very heartening to me that the parent's petition regarding regulation of pre-school fees got such an overwhelming response from the men on high. ie. in setting up a new stat. board etc. Really satisfying.
So please take heart and continue to speak up.
My hope is miracle transformation to the primary school system that is all to the benefit of my darling boy going in couple of years' time. Small class size included. Can't blame me for holding my hopes high. Wa..ha..ha..!
Depending on which one is more prestigious? :rotflmao:Just wondering..
If there is 2 school that are EQUALLY GOOD in All aspects.. (Just, for example). Would the alumni send their kid to their alma mater 5km away, or the school next door? What you all feel? -
Really ah? In that case, I should change my marketing materials to reflect that we have a student teacher ratio of less than 8. And if I add staff who are qualified but not teaching at all, my ratio is even lower. And I add therapists who come in to support special needs kids, wow, I can claim my ratio is 4. How wonderful. And I can even claim that it is lower as, we have practicums who join us that means 2 teachers to 1 class, hurray, we are giving your kids 1-1.Sun_2010:
Err...Looks like that is the accepted def of the term Student teacher ratio.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Student%E2%80%93teacher_ratio
Sorry Sun2010. Not targetting at you hor. I am just :siao: today.
We parents also not stupid leh!
going forward:-
MOE had stated publicly that the futuristic direction is towards smaller class size. We may not see it happening right now at this point in time, because at Upper primary - class size still big, hovering around 40+. But many years down the road, it can turn into a reality (no longer a dream) - perhaps during our grandchildren generation; 20 or 30 years later. Let us extend our vision further, into the time horizon.
When there’s a will, there’s a way out. MOE is working objectively towards this goal, taking positive action. They’re listening to voices / disgrunted murmuring from the ground now.
recall what happen in the 1960s when there was a baby boom, & there was a critical, urgent need for accomodation ? HDB quickly swung into action - built many HDB flats. The sky is the limit. Back then, HDB built many flats that reached 10 storey high.
likewise if there’s a lack of classroom facility, this can be tackled / resolved. MOE can build additional new tower block in current school premises - multiple storey high. In the event there’s no space to build new building, the school can find some existing old building to demolish, and then re-build from scratch brand new tower block that extend upwards into the sky, with a new lift. The sky is the limit. How many new storey the school wants - the school management can gather together & discuss at meetings to decide.
The new tower block built not just to accomodate more new classroom, but also to accomodate some new facilities too. So long as financial muscle strength is available, it can be done - as long as the will power mentality is there. With smaller class size, teachers can pay more / better attention to individual kid - including facilitate special need kids to merge / adapt well into the Mainstream. This is the future many parents look forward to.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.