MOE not tweaking P1 registration

214 Posts 38 Posters 42.3k Views 1 Watching
      rains

You sure......?

Everything equal except distance and affection. You choose affection over distance? I guess not many would do that.

for the very rich, maybe anywhere in SG not much difference to them.

But for most middle range families, the larger distance not only translates to inconvenience, but logistics, cost (petrol, sch bus e.t.c.), effort, traveling time etc..

well.. anyway.. it's their choice..

If later any alumni rant about costly sch bus, kid wake up at 5.30am etc go home very late etc..... maybe I can arm chio....... :evil:
      I hope I don't sound rude but you sound like you don't have an alma mater, because you don't seem to understand the sentiment of an alumni.

A few other ksparents have already testified to the sentiment as per your question earlier on, and theirs appear to be even stronger because they stated that they would still choose their alma mater even when the school near home is much better than their alma mater.

There are other considerations apart from proximity for some of us. I personally considered the peers' influence and the probability of getting a place at either school when I chose the alma mater over a popular school near home.

And I don't think people who choose alma mater despite long distance would complain that much about the need to wake up early because they already know the implication before they send their kids there. My kid for one woke up at 5am for more than 5 years just to attend her dad's alma mater and I never once doubted that I would send her there if i were presented with the dilemma all over again.

Chenonceau

rains:

You sure......?

Everything equal except distance and affection. You choose affection over distance? I guess not many would do that.

for the very rich, maybe anywhere in SG not much difference to them.

But for most middle range families, the larger distance not only translates to inconvenience, but logistics, cost (petrol, sch bus e.t.c.), effort, traveling time etc..

well.. anyway.. it's their choice..

If later any alumni rant about costly sch bus, kid wake up at 5.30am etc go home very late etc..... maybe I can arm chio....... :evil:

I hope I don't sound rude but you sound like you don't have an alma mater, because you don't seem to understand the sentiment of an alumni.

A few other ksparents have already testified to the sentiment as per your question earlier on, and theirs appear to be even stronger because they stated that they would still choose their alma mater even when the school near home is much better than their alma mater.

There are other considerations apart from proximity for some of us. I personally considered the peers' influence and the probability of getting a place at either school when I chose the alma mater over a popular school near home.

And I don't think people who choose alma mater despite long distance would complain that much about the need to wake up early because they already know the implication before they send their kids there. My kid for one woke up at 5am for more than 5 years just to attend her dad's alma mater and I never once doubted that I would send her there if i were presented with the dilemma all over again.

It's love. Pure and simple. The smells ... the old bench... that wall. You wanna share your childhood with your children. DD went to my alma mater. It's as simple as love.

keroppi

rains:

It's love. Pure and simple. The smells ... the old bench... that wall. You wanna share your childhood with your children. DD went to my alma mater. It's as simple as love.

Right! Me too. Such a simple reason. :grphug: Waking up early is never a problem for my kids - the fact is they want to be early in school - before 7 am to bond with their friends or play soccer ... all I did was to inculcate a good sleep routine from young to ensure they sleep and wake up early & have 9-10 hrs of sleep daily. :snooze:

• NebbermindN Offline
            Nebbermind

Oh! I still thought u did your pri school elsewhere!! šŸ˜‰

Anyways, :hi5:

Chenonceau

I did. Why?

• JGMumJ Offline
                JGMum

For most of us who complained, we knew that fixes will come too late for our kids. I am happy as long as the grandkids inherit a better system... less elitist... less judgmental... more forgiving of poor results at a single IQ test. Mainstream deserves a decent education too... and it should be decent for everyone, not just lucky ones in good schools. I have time to be patient. My timeframe is the grandkids. Those with kids in lower primary usually don't complain.

Now... they may not have to.
                Totally agree with the highlighted part. :goodpost:

Melodies

Just throw my 2cents worth, I think it is also something to do with the background of the students la. These two schools r comparable in all aspects including the parents background. If I'm not wrong, many parents r tai tai or successful professional! Many tai tai r having medical deg, law deg, post-grade deg,etc n have all the means to coach their dc, be it financially or their own self capability.

I don't know how u can learn from these schools, how to make all schools like them to have these advantages

I better :siam: before šŸ¦†

One possibility is to test hard and so mainstream parents get tuition or teach at home? Another reason could be the flow over of GEP materials into high ability classes in GEP schools?

Again... I think it's good that GEP has all this. No one is asking to take all this away from GEP. However, I still don't understand how HSK can say that small classes don't matter to quality teaching when GEP and LSP have small classes.

But what about the non-GEP schools? Maybe MGS/SCGS parents can enlightening if there's any hard testing in such schools? My impression is that they quite relax one. šŸ˜‰

It's something very personal...and it feels good as I walked down that path again...just yesterday, I was in the school attending daughter's dance performance. Old memories.

limlim

rains:

I don't get what you mean. You're suspecting that I never attended primary school?

It is clear that almost everyone have alma mater, but not everyone, or I would dare say, many, do not care. Look at the take up rate for P2A for those schools with vacancies for 2CS. A few KSP member does not represent the full picture.

• NebbermindN Offline
                        Nebbermind

Nebbermind lah!

We are just sharing why we feel so much for our alma mater. If u think we are sentimental fools :siao: , so be it lor. Can still be friends, ya?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 14 / 22

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring