"shocked and horrified at how bad many [state schools] were"
I totally agree - Perfect Match. They are worst than the National Geographic Magz... Maybe, suitable for Preschoolers to read for leisure. Think my boy's school intends to use another Science Text publisher fr P5 onwards, can't recall which one. The teacher mentioned that beginning this year. They supplement by using Vitaminz Science (workbook) on top of the Perfect Match Workbook last and this year.Imami:
Do all schools use the same text? Ok, even if there are a few variants to choose from, are all these scoped and scripted by moe?
Son's school uses 'Perfect Match'...in my opinion, bullshit. Lousy match more like it. When he was in primary P3/4, there were 2 supplementary assessment ordered for students - home practice and test units which at least gave him an idea that science isn't what he sees in stupid text. Strangely for upper pri, these titles were not ordered...instead some title by Ace Publishing.
Can MOE do something about those books we have to buy ?
No English text so I dun noe wat was taught and I have long given up the idea of asking him...I just checked his worksheets brought back fr school. His school is using Roald Dahl's Maltida to \"learn\" comprehension. There were a few worksheets on that last Term. P5, I heard the chool will use another story book for the same purposes. -
We also never bought textbooks for Math for P2/P3 because not all teachers use the textbook and bought only if required. They used the workbooks.[/quote]Yay!!!! Thanks for the tips! I have been finding ways and means to save costs, and you've just given me another idea!
I am IMPRESSED. I am not easily IMPRESSED. You have so much GUTS! I wanted to do that since Primary 4 but never dared. I only dared to stand up against the system in other ways for my son because I was desperate. If I had dared to NOT buy textbooks since P4, I could have saved $300. Man! You have guts.Chenonceau:
[quote=\"Coolkidsrock2\"]
I wrote to the school explaining that based on my experience, the texts have never been used, waste of $ and resources and to let me know if there is compelling reasons to buy it. Never hear from school thereafter, so take it as can lor. Seriously, there is nothing that is in the texts that is not covered in exam papers and teachers teach using the board.
For P6 English, the text is simply useless. How can the content possibly give kids a TRUE indication that PSLE is nothing like what they see in textbooks???
Grammar, vocab, comprehension cloze, comprehension OE etc…these are components tested. But are they found in the textbook?
Since school is made mandatory, MOE should do something about the text/workbooks and teaching style in schools. The poor quality is the reason why tuition centers are flourishing. -
Seems like the mindset of many parents now is to accept without question. If textbooks are lousy,just buy... then buy more guide books and assessments.
If a child does not quite understand the lesson.. seek help... but help from tutors. :roll: -
Lilac66:
hmmm...the best speaker for the ongoing debate shall represent KSP and register a formal complaint to the MOE on the inadequacy of the recommended texts in pri school!!! AYE??Seems like the mindset of many parents now is to accept without question. If textbooks are lousy,just buy... then buy more guide books and assessments.
If a child does not quite understand the lesson.. seek help... but help from tutors. :roll: -
hmmm...the best speaker for the ongoing debate shall represent KSP and register a formal complaint to the MOE on the inadequacy of the recommended texts in pri school!!! AYE??
Yes !
may i nominate Janet lee ? -
What debate? Looks to me like \"uni-directional collapse\" or \"one side fall\"
. -
Oops!! Was referring to the KSP debate @ playground!!Nebbermind:
hmmm...the best speaker for the ongoing debate shall represent KSP and register a formal complaint to the MOE on the inadequacy of the recommended texts in pri school!!! AYE??
Yes !
may i nominate Janet lee ?
My kids are still in kindy and elder one is going to P1 next yr. I am shocked to read from here that sch textbooks are useless! Are they really??
I remember when I was in Pri sch we used the textbooks but for English in P5 and P6 my English teacher often referred to another guidebook that I bought as well. This book contained exercises on grammar etc. I still remember the thick blue book
I also remember that my teacher photocopied many worksheets for us for comprehension, cloze passage etc.
I think some form of supplement is still required on top of the textbooks, but to say that textbooks are totally useless just shocks me! Guess I will know come next year! -
I think I am going to supplement DD’s English by making her do what I did in my days, get her to read more than 100 Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, Alfred Hitchcock & the Three Investigators etc. Yeah, how quaint. Nowadays can use Harry Potter. Guaranteed to make your DC’s English more powderful than the Powerpuff Girls.
Should have done that for my Chinese too, but meh, nobody told me there are readable Chinese books like Condor Heroes until after secondary school. A few sets of Jin Yong novels will do wonders.
Only problem is I may have to disconnect the internet connection…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.