Recommendation of changes to reduce Stress for PSLE

228 Posts 52 Posters 65.4k Views 1 Watching
      mamago

There will be changes to Science, Geography, Math & maybe history for next year 's Sec 1...our kids are just done with PSLE :faint:

Hah? Really ah? Anyway... dun panic yet. Wait and see how the kids cope first lor... gotta let go sometime. In their teens, they also wanna be left alone to feel good about being able to cope. Dun panic yet. Most people I talked to don't think secondary school is too bad at all.

True.... don't panic... 兵来将挡, 水来土掩!

5 days a week - 4 subjects in primary school.

5 days a week - 8/9 subjects in sec school + longer hours. Not quite possible to be easier. Still I have to learn to let go one day.

I give myself time to relax and recuperate in the meantime.

mamago

5 days a week - 8/9 subjects in sec school + longer hours. Not quite possible to be easier. Still I have to learn to let go one day.

船到桥头自然直。。。。

(Don't worry too much, whatever will be, will be...)

Melodies

Do you know the ex-actress-陈秀环 ? She is SAHM too to look after 3 daughters? She started her acting career when she was 15, do she can't be highly educated. Her eldest daughter is now in sec 3 in RGS n was from NYPS. 2 younger daughters r still studying in NYPS n all 3 r outstanding. Eldest one is among top 10 scorers in NYPS with t-score in range of 270~. The second is gepper n young talented musician. She took plse this year n believed to score well too. So as the 3rd one in the making.. In fact, she has done a much better job than most highly educated parent! She is really inspiring...

So, please do not look down on yourself. If she can make it, so can you. 加油!

There will be changes to Science, Geography, Math & maybe history for next year 's Sec 1...our kids are just done with PSLE :faint:
            I am not highly educated. So there is a limit I can coach my kids. For the highly-educated parents, they are worrying too early when they have not even started a family.

Education will change, hopefully for the better. Quality of teachers should also be upgraded. Just thinking, wouldn't it be a good idea for MOE to 'interview' the students?

Chenonceau

Melodies:
              Do you know the ex-actress-陈秀环 ? She is SAHM too to look after 3 daughters? She started her acting career when she was 15, do she can't be highly educated. Her eldest daughter is now in sec 3 in RGS n was from NYPS. 2 younger daughters r still studying in NYPS n all 3 r outstanding. Eldest one is among top 10 scorers in NYPS with t-score in range of 270~. The second is gepper n young talented musician. She took plse this year n believed to score well too. So as the 3rd one in the making.. In fact, she has done a much better job than most highly educated parent! She is really inspiring...

So, please do not look down on yourself. If she can make it, so can you. 加油!
              :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:

• NebbermindN Offline
                Nebbermind

Hah? Really ah? Anyway... dun panic yet. Wait and see how the kids cope first lor... gotta let go sometime. In their teens, they also wanna be left alone to feel good about being able to cope. Dun panic yet. Most people I talked to don't think secondary school is too bad at all.

Yalor! Donch need to panic. Whatever change, every kid will be affected. It may just change in the way that will benefit your kid 😉 Remember, there are at least 40,000 kids out there facing the same sh!t!

Brenda10

mamago:

Dear Janet,

In Sec 1, there are new subjects like History, Geography, Design and Technology, Home Econ on top of EL, CL, Math and Science they had taken during the primary school. They are also various CCA with once a week, twice a week or three times a week based on what you have chosen. They are also having group project and may be individual project (I guess). I’m also surprise that they even have to form a team for the PE grading assessment. As you are aware that I have backed to the workforce since last December and in fact I have less time for DD and she has to manage herself. Perhaps due to they are using the slate PC, most of the homework could have done online during the school or before I back home. FYI, I seldom see DD doing homework at home and so far her results are still alright and seems like they have these mini test per subjects after learning a few topics... Beside all these, she is also preparing her piano grade 7 exam for next Feb/Mar and she is still having time to read those EL and CL novels like Harry Potter series and CL novels as well as on line watching her favourite comics.

Therefore, just relax and not to worry too much about Secondary One.

Just my 2 cents thought

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

We also had the same no. of subjects when when were in secondary school. You had a more relaxed secondary school life? :scratchhead:

Lilac66

We also had the same no. of subjects when when were in secondary school. You had a more relaxed secondary school life? :scratchhead:

During my sec days, I remember I had only 7 subjects leh

I admit I wasn't very ON when I took my PSLE :oops:

My mum didn't really push but then stakes weren't so high. Now, it's 'payback' time...short of walking into exam hall to sit for them.

As for sec school, lagi worse...returned to the school after I was done with O levels.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 11 / 23