All About Life Without Maids
Irobot is definitely not a must-have...bcos it cannot vacuum corners.janet_lee.. so for ur case.. irobot is not a must to haf?
been considering about it but till date have not bot it due to clusters at home..
I like thermal pot.. guess preparing the ingredients are not tat tough bah.. pork ribs, wolfberries, red dates, radish/old cucumber/corn soup.. tatz wat i do usually..
Yes i agree.. for us FTWM, just haf to make do tat a bit of dirt won't kill.. :evil: Though i m still quite particular, esp since i can see all the hairs tat drop on my tiles.. :skeptical:
Now that thing is sitting in one corner :slapshead: The hair on the floor irritates me most...my tiles are white :faint: now back to my karcher. It's so wonderful bcos after I have vacuumed, mopping is effortless. -
Imami.. Yes.. dds n i haf long hair.. can tell.. as theirs are quite thin while mine is rough n thick..

b2b3m4,
dishwasher ah, no space leh.. have to give up kitchen cabinet space.. sigh.. i've also been eyeing on dyson vaccuum.. but well.. tat i still nid to find time to vaccuum as well.. sigh..
janet, u bot from local distributor or amazon? -
Mintymin,
Well, it really depends on how’s your house’s configuration. I find that it is easier to vaccuum than to go around the house trying to save the irobot from some hurdle. And i do agree with Janet, without proper regular servicing, the irobot efficiency some how diminish with time. For mine, i believe it is the battery. After less than 20min of moving around, it just died on the spot and ‘cry’ low batt. Services and spare parts in SG are too expensive, so i figured I’ll just get a vaccuum cleaner and clean up the whole house once a week. And spot cleaning when necessary. Previously with irobot, I’ll be blocking the irobot to ‘force’ the robot to vaccuum the correct spot. -
I have decided to send her away this saturday, and already called the agency to tell them. But now seems that my mum and sis are trying to talk me into keeping her for a while more( i am a teacher and this is my crazy marking period also my husband is working OT more frequently recently), they are worried that i cannot handle the household chores. They do not see the black face that i received from my maid(maid will go to parents place to help when my kids come back from childcare). so they wont see her true colors.
They only think i am fussy, no patience, (i sent back 1st one in 2010 April after using for 3 months when she talked back a few times) -
janet, u bot from local distributor or amazon?
amazon.
irobot died...so I work lah...but very happy doing so.
anyway, i am very happy and relieved NOT to have maid...those days of seeing their black faces (as if i owe them)...didn't even scold her...but tell her nicely...wah lau, i scold my kids all the time but never the maid leh.
told her nonstick pan cannot wash immediately and even explain (which is a waste of time)...not happy and dumped the dishes into the sink. i pretended not to know she is unhappy or else she will show me more nonsense. my blood pressure shot up and still have to 忍. -
MOrning Ladies..
Hi worried_mum08, how many kids do you have and how old are they?
Like Janet, I am also v relieved NOT to have a maid and to deal wif those black face situations and grumbles under her breathe or even worried tat she might take it on my kids..
I have 3 kids, aged 7, 5, 3.. all goes to student care n childcares.. weekends are bz bz to bring kids ard for enrichment classes..
When i decided to send my last n final maid bak.. my mum was also asking me to tink twice.. but i lay it down to her and let her understand y i did it.. whh she agreed tat yes... eventhough maid is very gd at hsewrk.. she seems to gone wild after juz ONE DAY off, after wrking w me for 1yr n 8 mths.. n tat was the last straw..
So i guess.. u haf to simply make them understand y u feel the nid to send her off.. but of coz.. u can choose not to.. n ignore watever they say.. the call is urs.. as ultimately u r the one tat have to handle her most..
:hugs: -
amazon.
anyway, i am very happy and relieved NOT to have maid...those days of seeing their black faces (as if i owe them)...didn't even scold her...but tell her nicely...wah lau, i scold my kids all the time but never the maid leh.
told her nonstick pan cannot wash immediately and even explain (which is a waste of time)...not happy and dumped the dishes into the sink. i pretended not to know she is unhappy or else she will show me more nonsense. my blood pressure shot up and still have to 忍.
Ooooo... ok ok..
I may rule out irobot den..
Thanks for all the valuable feedback about it.. My dh will sure b happy tat i rule it out.. :rotflmao:
Anyway.. anyone using the wireless vaccuum cleaner?
http://www.bosch-home.com.sg/products/vacuum-cleaners/handstick-vacuum-cleaners.html -
Good morning MIntyMin!MOrning Ladies..
Hi worried_mum08, how many kids do you have and how old are they?
Like Janet, I am also v relieved NOT to have a maid and to deal wif those black face situations and grumbles under her breathe or even worried tat she might take it on my kids..
I have 3 kids, aged 7, 5, 3.. all goes to student care n childcares.. weekends are bz bz to bring kids ard for enrichment classes..
When i decided to send my last n final maid bak.. my mum was also asking me to tink twice.. but i lay it down to her and let her understand y i did it.. whh she agreed tat yes... eventhough maid is very gd at hsewrk.. she seems to gone wild after juz ONE DAY off, after wrking w me for 1yr n 8 mths.. n tat was the last straw..
So i guess.. u haf to simply make them understand y u feel the nid to send her off.. but of coz.. u can choose not to.. n ignore watever they say.. the call is urs.. as ultimately u r the one tat have to handle her most..
:hugs:
How u arrange the enrichment classes ar? Looks challenging to me – 7,5,3, how to schedule? Not many all under one roof enrichment schools right? Unless, they going for music/CMA/Chinese classes? -
I think irobot is only good if your home is spacious ( got a lot of space for irobot to run) and clutter free. If there are a lot of cables, stuff on the floor, then it is not effective. Sometimes, my irobot also got into trouble with my kid’s hullahoop. The poor fellow was literally running in circles!janet_lee88:
amazon.
told her nonstick pan cannot wash immediately and even explain (which is a waste of time)...not happy and dumped the dishes into the sink. i pretended not to know she is unhappy or else she will show me more nonsense. my blood pressure shot up and still have to 忍.
Ooooo... ok ok..
I may rule out irobot den..
Thanks for all the valuable feedback about it.. My dh will sure b happy tat i rule it out.. :rotflmao:
Anyway.. anyone using the wireless vaccuum cleaner?
http://www.bosch-home.com.sg/products/vacuum-cleaners/handstick-vacuum-cleaners.html
I have a wireless vacuum too. Mostly my kid’s eraser dust, narrow corners and sofa (those little crevices). -
Hello Imami,
Yes.. v challenging indeed.. my 3 yr old = dd2, no enrichment.. so she basically follows me ard..
7yr old = ds,
saturday morning:
0730 has soccer trg
130pm maths
sunday:
12pm chinese,
5yr old=dd1
Saturday:
11am Maths
Sunday:
245pm Chinese
By right they have swimming lessons on saturday mornings.. but i stop for now as i m still trying to wrk it out on the timings.. very taxing.. w the fact all by public trpt.. plus if raining worst.. n dh is on shift work timings..
Have trouble finding under 1 roof sch or even nearby each other or same timings..
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.