Comparing Enrichment Programme versus Private Tutor

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Academic Learning & Enrichment
    234 Posts 123 Posters 140.7k Views 1 Watching

Son’s English tutor started in Nov last year for PSLE…but I didn’t know of her then. Started in early Jan. I reserved a slot for all the ‘holiday’ programs. June was the worst…3 weeks everyday, I am glad my son didn’t rebel.

verykiasumummy

Son's English tutor started in Nov last year for PSLE...but I didn't know of her then. Started in early Jan. I reserved a slot for all the 'holiday' programs. June was the worst...3 weeks everyday, I am glad my son didn't rebel.

these are the very minimum that ks parents like us can do.... i play hard with them too... luckily my dc are contented with small rewards... i dun hv to buy them new ipad and iphone every year...

verykiasumummy:

Son's English tutor started in Nov last year for PSLE...but I didn't know of her then. Started in early Jan. I reserved a slot for all the 'holiday' programs. June was the worst...3 weeks everyday, I am glad my son didn't rebel.

these are the very minimum that ks parents like us can do.... i play hard with them too... luckily my dc are contented with small rewards... i dun hv to buy them new ipad and iphone every year...

Drive-through MAC and their fav treats once a month...nearer PSLE, once a week. But have to abstain from fried food before Oral and written papers.
          iPad is mine :evil:

verykiasumummy

verykiasumummy:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]Son's English tutor started in Nov last year for PSLE...but I didn't know of her then. Started in early Jan. I reserved a slot for all the 'holiday' programs. June was the worst...3 weeks everyday, I am glad my son didn't rebel.

Drive-through MAC and their fav treats once a month...nearer PSLE, once a week. But have to abstain from fried food before Oral and written papers.
            iPad is mine :evil:[/quote]wow monthy mac is like a luxury to my dc.. they can only eat once quarterly... but i do fry chicken wings (their fav) for them...

i'm paisay to say i'm still using ipad 1 when its already ipad 3 in the market... the casing is already torn and dirty but i cant find ipad1 casing anywhere anymore... extinct liao...

but no regrets, i rather spend that kind of money on tuition... the price of the ipad is about 2mths tuition fee right??

Don’t know price of IPad 3.

If the present one serves the same purpose, no need to get the latest.

flowy

When come to critical years like P5 & P6, do your kids have tution for all subjects?

My dd's weakest link is chinese and she has a 1-1 chn tution and another group class for chinese compo :oops:

verykiasumummy

Don't know price of IPad 3.

If the present one serves the same purpose, no need to get the latest.
                  women think like this but men think otherwise... they go for latest gadgets... luckily my dh not that crazy...

verykiasumummy

flowy:
                    When come to critical years like P5 & P6, do your kids have tution for all subjects?

My dd's weakest link is chinese and she has a 1-1 chn tution and another group class for chinese compo :oops:
                    it depends on how u want them to achieve in their results... if their makrs are already high and u dun want to push them further, not necessary to go for tuition...

• O Offline
                      Oodles Mummy

kyp71:
                      Congra all mummies,

Our DS n DD have finally complete one of the hurdle in life. Hah now I worried for my younger daughter. Can all parents give me your best opinion and advise as to private or group tuition you think can help the kids achieve better result. I know it will depends cos different child develop in their own way some cannot focus well in group so need individual attention. However I feel for longer term commitment and teaching material wise group will be a better choice cos the better teacher are usually engage by the reputable agency or would have setup their own Enrichment Ctr to enjoy economic of scale. Correct me if I am wrong.

Please mummies n all kiasu reader children feel free to share your valuable feedback. Thanks a lot.
                      For us, we had no luck with 1-to-1 tutors. Paid quite a bit per hourly over the years but could not see results. I find it very difficult to source for really good, qualified private tutors. Even qualified NIE current teachers may not be able to teach Science or P6 level work confidently, especially when it comes to marking for key words in Science. I guess if they have not taught P6 at school they have not developed the skills and marking experience to bring the child to a high A or A-star level.

Also, private tutors tend to use assessment books. Some of the assessment books have wrong answers.

So for us, we send our DS out to tuition centres since P5. But I've also learnt not to go for brand names. It boils down to the individual teacher. One thing about learning centres is they have a written curriculum that paces the school's including mock exam papers before the exams. I find it more organised and my DS enjoys the groups, which are streamed according to capability. He told us the lessons were stimulating and the Science hands-on experiments interesting. In school, he doesn't get a chance to do hands-on, usually he was just observing the teacher..

SarChar

I used to prefer tuition centre. If your kids are idependent and smart, then tuition centre will work. Kids will get exposure to different types of materials and worksheets. But if your kid like DD1 needs more attention, small group home-based tuition works for her. We will be able to call the tutor directly when we want to know DD1’s progress or if we have any question on Maths problem, we can text or call the home-based tutor. We cant do that with Tuition centre tutors, there is hardly any interaction at all.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 24