2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    6.0k Posts 467 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching

fifiyeo:

[quote=\"fifiyeo\"]Sigh...am I the only one feeling like that?

No, you are not the only one.
      I'm 'recovering' slowly...still have to coach #2 bcos she has SA2...do what we can. Just don't have high expectations. Her FT advised me to go easy bcos she is slow. Telling myself, SWITCH FOCUS...she is going to P3 next year. There will be Science !!!

It's so low morale looking at no.2's work and still have to push on. Actually I'm not fair to no.2. Expect him to do better than no.1 but hardly ever coach him. But no.1 is so NOT independent.

[/quote]My no. 1 has never been independent...but #2 is. She prefers to get things done by herself. Where homework is concerned, she will take it out to do...but I don't remember my son ever doing that when he was in P2 :slapshead:
      I tell hubby and myself NOT to have high expectations bcos she is slow...and I'm really out of brain juice. Age must be catching up.

mummy so kiasu

fifiyeo:

What happens when other family members are the ones waiting to put the kid down and condemn the parents when he doesn't do well enough for the top few schools? [\\quote]

To deal with school teachers who put down my kids... I tell my kids that I am their mother and I know them better than anyone else. Hence, it doesn't matter what anyone else says. It only matters what I say. This draws up a psychological firewall around their psyches.

To deal with family members, I will tell my kids the same thing... and then separately, I will deal with my family members. If I need to, I will reduce contact between my kids and those people... until they stop being negative. Different family members needed to be dealt with differently but by now... all know better than to put down my kids. I don't get angry but my expectations are made known and most are nice enough and respect me enough to cooperate, especially when my skills are motivating also help THEIR kids.

I will probably do the same. Reduce contact or stop contact for the time being until Chinese New Year. All kids have different abilities, even twins. Why should we compare them with other kids & put them down? As long as our kids have put in their best, we should encourage them to keep up with it. Most top O & A level scorers are not top PSLE scorers. Don't let others negative comments affect you & your kids. After all, we are the kids' mummies & we know our kids better than anyone else. :snuggles:

mommylow

PSLE marking day is next Monday onwards. I feel it's important to pray for our DCs during this period too. Pray for reasonable teachers marking our DCs' papers. I understand there are two markers and they must both agree unanimously to the student's answers.

Heard that if your paper gets marked towards the end of the day, the teachers tend to get tired and so be more lenient, especially for compos, so will not be so strict to deduct marks? 😂

mommylow:
            PSLE marking day is next Monday onwards. I feel it's important to pray for our DCs during this period too. Pray for reasonable teachers marking our DCs' papers. I understand there are two markers and they must both agree unanimously to the student's answers.

Heard that if your paper gets marked towards the end of the day, the teachers tend to get tired and so be more lenient, especially for compos, so will not be so strict to deduct marks? 😂
            This is true...that teacher friend of mine told me to hope and pray son's compo is marked towards the end of the marking days. Bcos they are tired after intensive marking on the first 2 days.
            Was telling hubby the exam papers are locked all this while...come Monday, they will be taken out 🙏

mommylow

Janet, bring kopi or ginseng tea for the teachers marking our DCs' papers. Maybe they award more marks to our kids. Haha......just kidding lah! :rotflmao:

mommylow:
                Janet, bring kopi or ginseng tea for the teachers marking our DCs' papers. Maybe they award more marks to our kids. Haha......just kidding lah! :rotflmao:

of course you are kidding...if i know which teacher(s) are marking son's scripts, maybe i bring manuka or birds nest soup :rotflmao: wait, CANNOT bring ginseng lah...make them more alert leh.

mummy so kiasu

mommylow:

Ha..ha.. Good suggestion. Can you help us to find out who are the markers so that we can bring Kopi or ginseng tea? I think all the parents will buy you bird nest as well. :rotflmao:

All this while, the exam scripts were marked by own school teachers…now they are marked by other teachers.

Marking is so stringent…they have to report to centers at 8am, put their belongings in a locker including mobile. Lunch/tea break provided. Then back to marking again. Teachers only know the school code and index no…but son told me names are printed on scripts.

mummy so kiasu

slmkhoo:

And for children whose parents are not supportive, my heart goes out to you. My parents were pretty hard on me and I can understand. Till now, with a BA from a top university and an MA, my father still says that I am not smart and have not achieved much (because I was a librarian and now a SAHM). It's hard on my daughter to hear this because she will never achieve as much as I did academically, but I can't stop him from saying it, can I? I just turn deaf and tell her to do the same.
                      I don't understand why do you say that your daughter will never achieve as much as you did academically. Since you are a highly educated SAHM, you should be able to coach her in her studies. Have more faith in yourself & your girl. Even if she does not achieve as much as you did academically, she might be successfully in other thing. Some parents are not so good in expressing their love to their kids. I can understand how you feel, don't take it hard.

mummy so kiasu:
                        slmkhoo:

Till now, with a BA from a top university and an MA, my father still says that I am not smart and have not achieved much (because I was a librarian and now a SAHM). It's hard on my daughter to hear this because she will never achieve as much as I did academically, but I can't stop him from saying it, can I? I just turn deaf and tell her to do the same.

Since you are a highly educated SAHM, you should be able to coach her in her studies. Have more faith in yourself & your girl. Even if she does not achieve as much as you did academically, she might be successfully in other thing. Some parents are not so good in expressing their love to their kids. I can understand how you feel, don't take it hard.

Hi simkhoo,
                        It could be your decision to be a SAHM that made your dad upset. He thinks it is a waste...but what he didn't realise is your love for the kids. Your daughter will do well with intelligent mummy coaching at home. She will outshine you. Believe in her.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 513 / 602