2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    6.0k Posts 467 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching
      mommylow

PSLE marking day is next Monday onwards. I feel it's important to pray for our DCs during this period too. Pray for reasonable teachers marking our DCs' papers. I understand there are two markers and they must both agree unanimously to the student's answers.

Heard that if your paper gets marked towards the end of the day, the teachers tend to get tired and so be more lenient, especially for compos, so will not be so strict to deduct marks? 😂

mommylow:
        PSLE marking day is next Monday onwards. I feel it's important to pray for our DCs during this period too. Pray for reasonable teachers marking our DCs' papers. I understand there are two markers and they must both agree unanimously to the student's answers.

Heard that if your paper gets marked towards the end of the day, the teachers tend to get tired and so be more lenient, especially for compos, so will not be so strict to deduct marks? 😂
        This is true...that teacher friend of mine told me to hope and pray son's compo is marked towards the end of the marking days. Bcos they are tired after intensive marking on the first 2 days.
        Was telling hubby the exam papers are locked all this while...come Monday, they will be taken out 🙏

mommylow

Janet, bring kopi or ginseng tea for the teachers marking our DCs' papers. Maybe they award more marks to our kids. Haha......just kidding lah! :rotflmao:

mommylow:
            Janet, bring kopi or ginseng tea for the teachers marking our DCs' papers. Maybe they award more marks to our kids. Haha......just kidding lah! :rotflmao:

of course you are kidding...if i know which teacher(s) are marking son's scripts, maybe i bring manuka or birds nest soup :rotflmao: wait, CANNOT bring ginseng lah...make them more alert leh.

mummy so kiasu

mommylow:

Ha..ha.. Good suggestion. Can you help us to find out who are the markers so that we can bring Kopi or ginseng tea? I think all the parents will buy you bird nest as well. :rotflmao:

All this while, the exam scripts were marked by own school teachers…now they are marked by other teachers.

Marking is so stringent…they have to report to centers at 8am, put their belongings in a locker including mobile. Lunch/tea break provided. Then back to marking again. Teachers only know the school code and index no…but son told me names are printed on scripts.

mummy so kiasu

slmkhoo:

And for children whose parents are not supportive, my heart goes out to you. My parents were pretty hard on me and I can understand. Till now, with a BA from a top university and an MA, my father still says that I am not smart and have not achieved much (because I was a librarian and now a SAHM). It's hard on my daughter to hear this because she will never achieve as much as I did academically, but I can't stop him from saying it, can I? I just turn deaf and tell her to do the same.
                  I don't understand why do you say that your daughter will never achieve as much as you did academically. Since you are a highly educated SAHM, you should be able to coach her in her studies. Have more faith in yourself & your girl. Even if she does not achieve as much as you did academically, she might be successfully in other thing. Some parents are not so good in expressing their love to their kids. I can understand how you feel, don't take it hard.

mummy so kiasu:
                    slmkhoo:

Till now, with a BA from a top university and an MA, my father still says that I am not smart and have not achieved much (because I was a librarian and now a SAHM). It's hard on my daughter to hear this because she will never achieve as much as I did academically, but I can't stop him from saying it, can I? I just turn deaf and tell her to do the same.

Since you are a highly educated SAHM, you should be able to coach her in her studies. Have more faith in yourself & your girl. Even if she does not achieve as much as you did academically, she might be successfully in other thing. Some parents are not so good in expressing their love to their kids. I can understand how you feel, don't take it hard.

Hi simkhoo,
                    It could be your decision to be a SAHM that made your dad upset. He thinks it is a waste...but what he didn't realise is your love for the kids. Your daughter will do well with intelligent mummy coaching at home. She will outshine you. Believe in her.

BeContented

Ummmm. Just thinking.

If I have to outshine my mom, my DD has to outshine me. With most of us already being better educated these days.....
                      WHOA!!! :yikes: No wonder kids are so stressed cos they gotta learn tertiary stuff by 16/18 yo. If gong gong like me ok, if very smart type, kids will be unduly pressurized. 😓

Can just be good or not? Lead simple happy life ...... :love:

Hi simkhoo,

I know of this lady who is a U professor. Her sister is also highly educated but now doing missionary work. Father could not accept it. But for highly educated women like you, Chen and many others, to be SAHMs, it is for love of the kids...that is very noble.

Syllabus has been pushed downwards. I cannot bring myself to face Math and Science. Educated parents can understand after reading or surfing. I pity parents who are not educated...how are they going to coach? Money is also a big issue. 'All schools being good schools' :evil: , they have to teach everything, so that kids will have same chances to reach their potential.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 513 / 602