Spouse or Kids? Which comes first?
Couples would have entered another stage of marriage...past that tinkle-tinkle spicy newly-married romance. With present stage with school-going kids, I do deposit them at parents' place for a break from them.
Sometimes, I get hubby to apply leave to spend time together shopping...looking at our stuff. NO children dept.
Dress nice, smell nice...wink wink all I want :rotflmao: cannot do that in front of daughter or she will ask what is wrong with my eyes...worse still, pick it up and tell teacher her mummy does that. -
When relationship with spouse is good, the atmosphere at home is generally better. So I'll say, spouse first when necessary/possible.
Having been together 25years, yap.....white hair, pot belly, flabby muscles, wrinkles/age spots cannot be avoided. But I think I need to start some exercise to widen our weight gap & not let it merge. :scared: -
slmkhoo:
:goodpost:mummy so kiasu:
Ha..ha.. Before marriage has better figure & complexion as well as no lamp posts (I mean kids). Where got same lah. How to flirt & show skin with kids around? Must be a role model to the kids, how to get back lah! Most SAHM don't have helpers & we have not going dating with our hubby since our first child come along. Sigh! Sometime, envy FTWM with helpers.
You can be creative. I have been married 25yrs and been a SAHM for 15yrs. No maid. When the kids were small, we put them to bed early and kept a couple of kids-free hours to ourselves every night. When the got older, we told them to read for a while before bed, and still put them to bed quite early. So we got to talk, watch a video, have a special snack etc without kids underfoot even though we couldn't go out. When in Singapore, we put the kids with grandparents 1 night a week so we could go out, but we've lived overseas most of our kids' lives, so that wasn't too often. When the kids went to school, we would sometimes have lunch together. As for appearance, we have to be realistic - both have wrinkles and white hair, but so what? We can still be neat and clean, and a cheerful smile works better than the best makeup.
Definitely agrees out the smile part. Ladies, you dun need a bombshell figure, a pleasant friendly attitude and taking a little care of appearances does wonders. -
I always find it a bit odd that parents feel the need to restrict themselves from showing affection towards each other in front of their kids. I personally think it would be beneficial too for the kids to see parents being affectionate to each other. Not talking about pawing each other and r rated stuff but kissing, holding hands, snuggling and hugging, teasing each other, all these are fine right?
My kids get tickled pink whenever we make a huge show of giving each other smacking kisses and being lovey dovey. It usually end up with them being caught up with snuggles and kisses from DH and myself as well. Of course when they reach their teens, they will be rolling their eyes at us, or not, since they would be use to it by then. But for now, they totally enjoy it. -
:hi5: agree totally.I always find it a bit odd that parents feel the need to restrict themselves from showing affection towards each other in front of their kids. I personally think it would be beneficial too for the kids to see parents being affectionate to each other. Not talking about pawing each other and r rated stuff but kissing, holding hands, snuggling and hugging, teasing each other, all these are fine right?
My kids get tickled pink whenever we make a huge show of giving each other smacking kisses and being lovey dovey. It usually end up with them being caught up with snuggles and kisses from DH and myself as well. Of course when they reach their teens, they will be rolling their eyes at us, or not, since they would be use to it by then. But for now, they totally enjoy it.
In fact, these days when we go out as a family, instead of coming between us, DS will make DH & myself hold hands. -
BeContented:
Nice! Kids love it when their parents get along, and hate it when they squabble.
:hi5: agree totally.Funz:
I always find it a bit odd that parents feel the need to restrict themselves from showing affection towards each other in front of their kids. I personally think it would be beneficial too for the kids to see parents being affectionate to each other. Not talking about pawing each other and r rated stuff but kissing, holding hands, snuggling and hugging, teasing each other, all these are fine right?
My kids get tickled pink whenever we make a huge show of giving each other smacking kisses and being lovey dovey. It usually end up with them being caught up with snuggles and kisses from DH and myself as well. Of course when they reach their teens, they will be rolling their eyes at us, or not, since they would be use to it by then. But for now, they totally enjoy it.
In fact, these days when we go out as a family, instead of coming between us, DS will make DH & myself hold hands. -
When I was in the delivery room, hubby was made to choose - wife or baby and I was made to choose - baby or me. That was one of the very few occasions my hubby wept. Strangely, I didn’t. I told him, no matter what happen, our child must live. So well…
First forward to today, my choice is still the same. -
Imami:
Thank god. 母子平安When I was in the delivery room, hubby was made to choose - wife or baby and I was made to choose - baby or me. That was one of the very few occasions my hubby wept. Strangely, I didn't. I told him, no matter what happen, our child must live. So well...
First forward to today, my choice is still the same.
For daughters, we worry for them when they give birth.
And for sons, we worry for them when they go NS. -
PiggyLalala:
Thanks piggylalala. Indeed, 母子平安。
Thank god. 母子平安Imami:
When I was in the delivery room, hubby was made to choose - wife or baby and I was made to choose - baby or me. That was one of the very few occasions my hubby wept. Strangely, I didn't. I told him, no matter what happen, our child must live. So well...
For daughters, we worry for them when they give birth.
And for sons, we worry for them when they go NS. -
Imami:
Wow! Didn't know you had to go through this. Luckily all ends well. I thought these days science is so advanced that labour seems almost prob free. Guess I was wrong.When I was in the delivery room, hubby was made to choose - wife or baby and I was made to choose - baby or me. That was one of the very few occasions my hubby wept. Strangely, I didn't. I told him, no matter what happen, our child must live. So well...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.