/*fiction: Men and temptation of an affair...
verykiasumummy:
why ur wife became like tat, dave?? and why u confront ur wife so suddenly??
i thought u still love ur wife... really...verykiasumummy:
The wife became like that is because what I think is;why ur wife became like tat, dave?? and why u confront ur wife so suddenly??
i thought u still love ur wife... really...
she cannot get over her past and is addicted to 'power' and her 'job'
She studied and got MBA. Dave wife then has a team under her. Scholars lead very stressed life because they need to perform but yet the people under her may not be so motivated. So dave wife need to work extra hard to keep up to fill up the gap. in addition there are office politics (esp worse in govt orgs). These office politics is ni si wo huo - either you die and I live and they are over little stupid things like email wordings - don't ask me how I know). In addition, dave wife is slated for promotion and got talent. So the pressure to perform is even more intense and people want to shoot her down. From an ordinary above average worker to become a manager, the stress is immense. It can harden an ordinary person to become 'ruthless'. It is an example of bringing the work world home.
dave wife also got her own mental issues. For the first time she is doing very well at work. She now has status and a level of power. Remember she has this value from her upbringing, work/ study hard, to have more power, more money and that comes from more education and to have more money means you have more say. (it is not totally correct value but a lot of people have it nonetheless). also part of this upbringing is 'you work harder, you get more money' / more education = more money. (this is because she see her father being irresponsible in providing for her and her mother so she mentally wants to be as far away from that as possible).
wife cannot understand why Dave career cannot keep 'rising' for the past few years. This causes tension. Add to the tension of study mba, promotion, it is quite a volatile formula.
So Dave now is in trouble. Cos he is already top level in his small company. There is little place to move out or move up according to him. Boss son is back from his studies, he is the next to be no1. Potentially to Dave all he worked for is in danger. He also is depressed because of tension with wife and the lacking of attention and/or affection (kids and work took up her time. The kids have their own issues too but it would be too long to write) Basically their career curves are not aligned and they didn't take time / didn't know how to maintain their relationship.
So he buys a sportscar thinking that it would make him feel better. Of course wife now wants more 'authority' over him as she thinks that she has the right, since she's earning more money and by her own initiative, took over the child maintenance and expenses (actually it's a subconscious preparation for protecting herself in case of divorce) It backfires badly as dave does not want to be accountable to his wife on this. (my money is my money) Worse still dave has his 'female best friend' and 'colleague' in the background that he gets along very well with. She also has issues of her own as she is divorced. worse part and this is a spoiler, she secretly admires Dave but is not acting on it. .
So how? potential bomb, right??
I know the ladies would be screaming 'eh, not fair, woman cannot rise in career meh' but hey, this is just a fiction. Women can rise in their careers, it's just that the couple has to handle it properly. But nowadays, life is so complicated and sometimes we need someone older and more experienced than us to show us the way, but sometimes there isn't any people that do that...
my point is:
1) men can have career crisis and depression from time to time
2) woman may 'bring' their work world home -don't do it
3) men want to be respected and admired by their wives.
4) wives want to be loved by their husbands but sometimes husbands don't know how to 'express it'
about the 'confront' wife suddenly....it is because wife confronted him first? and besides, it's a quarrel. Anything can be said in a quarrel.
I think twice about completing this fiction as I realize it would be quite big..... but I think I shall press on.....
edit- the later parts would get a lot of women angry
if I write a next one, it would be....dunno la....thinking. -
dear joule, u hv been MIA for weeks liao… when is the next episode due??
imagine i’m the editor and pushing u to submit ur journals… r u enjoying with that girl?? -
hi
sorry la, it's approaching end of year
I got a huuge backlog of real life work to do
it's work, go home, have dinner, take care of kid a bit, work some more, sleep
I'll try to write up something.....yes will try
by the way I got to be a bit clandestine. if wife asks me what I'm doing and I'm writing a fiction of a man being tempted into having an affair.... :spank: -
ok ok I got tea break
here goes
/fiction start
I went to my favourite spot along Bedok Reservoir to simmer. As I walked to the waterside, I purchased a pack of cigarettes from the 7-11 nearby. I had been smoking before for some time until my wife made me quit. She said that it was harmful to our children. Now, I was fuming and I did not care.
As I sat at the water side, I felt really upset.
Some people get divorced in real life, and some people do not, but in effect I wonder if I was already emotionally divorced from my wife.
It seemed as though we were growing apart rather than growing together. I wonder if we did not have children, we would have divorced much earlier? A real-life divorce would be incredibly unfair to them…
Suddenly, my cell phone rang. Esther was calling. This is really a bad time…
"Hello."
"Dave, there’s a situation in the office. One of our servers has gone down and we’ve restored it to an earlier date. As you know, we have a big presentation the day after. There’s been 2 weeks of lost work! Could you come by please?"
"Must it really be now? this is REALLY BAD LUCK!"
"I’m sorry Dave, but this concerns a lot of people and we do have to give an account of what happened…I’ve been trying to get you earlier. I’m sorry, but this is important."
I was hardly dressed for the office but this couldn’t have come at a worse time. I drove back.
Most of the damage had been restored, and I had copies of the work documents on email, so it was just rather comparing the older and newer documents rather than re-doing from scratch. After about 4 hours, there was some semblance of progress. It was about 2 am in the morning. Esther was still around, so I offered to send her home. I was silent throughout the drive.
When we reached, I offered to drop her off. She looked concerned…
"You had a bad night?"
"I’ve had a big argument with my wife… over the car"
"I see…"
"And over time, our relationship is getting worse. We don’t even talk properly anymore and what conversation I get with her is defensive in nature…"
and our conversation wasn’t meant to last that long, but somehow, I spend the next 10 minutes ranting about my relationship woes to her…
"Oh, I’m sorry you heard that…it wasn’t professional"
"Don’t worry about it. Dave, you’re a good man and a good friend."
"good night"
"good night."
somehow, hearing her voice, I felt better.
/to be contd -
Getting interesting…
no longer updating?
hi;
I’ve been away, and not been really able to channel adulterous feelings to write lately leh -
Recently got so many scandal, use them lah
Hey Joule,
Please continue the story. I'm still waiting
I am waiting too!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.