GEP 2012 - Screening & Selection
Honestly speaking, I think some street-wiser kids will not choose to ask their parents about the questions after the papers. If I made a silly mistake, you'll scold me. When I get the papers back, you'll scold me a second time. What for?[/quote]
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: This sound very familiar to me...!
You mean the letter which moe informed us which test centre, rm no and etc? My ds said today the invigilator took it away.And By the way, keep the rd 2 invitation properly. Even if u donch get into gep, I think it'll still help in dsa.
Cheers!
Btw, if our kids did not get thru 2nd round, will moe issue a letter informing us that our kids not selected and to 'certify' dat our kids have gt thru 1st round? -
Pen88n:
My elder one cannot rem anything leh. As for the wall, I think it is quite thick leh... So far I still hear nothing abt the nature of the questions tested. Maybe I did not find the right wall.PiggyLalala:
To make the gep test fairer, I think we shld not reveal any of the questions. Having said tt, I also do not have any idea on the nature of questions tested.
And those parents with younger kids will ask their older siblings what are the GEP questions in order to prepare the younger ones....... :rotflmao:
There is no way to prevent questions leak. Walls have ears :roll: But seriously, it doesn't matter. Getting / not getting into GEP, life still goes on and if the kid is not cut for it, why make life tougher by pushing him / her down the GEP route?
However I agree with u. Ge or not GE is really not impt. -
Kiatkhim:
My ds ranking its exactly like your ds. Alot of his classmates find english paper the most difficult and the easiest is todays math paper.
DS's ranking, from easiest to hardest:FireflyMom:
DD's ranking of the 4 papers, from easiest to hardest :
Math GA, Eng GA, Eng, Math
Maths, GA I, GA II, English -
PiggyLalala:
My elder one cannot rem anything leh. As for the wall, I think it is quite thick leh... So far I still hear nothing abt the nature of the questions tested. Maybe I did not find the right wall.Pen88n:
[quote=\"PiggyLalala\"]To make the gep test fairer, I think we shld not reveal any of the questions. Having said tt, I also do not have any idea on the nature of questions tested.
And those parents with younger kids will ask their older siblings what are the GEP questions in order to prepare the younger ones....... :rotflmao:
There is no way to prevent questions leak. Walls have ears :roll: But seriously, it doesn't matter. Getting / not getting into GEP, life still goes on and if the kid is not cut for it, why make life tougher by pushing him / her down the GEP route?
However I agree with u. Ge or not GE is really not impt.[/quote]It's ok, Piggy, I also don't know which is the correct wall, and will probably need to dig my ears first :rotflmao: -
PiggyLalala:
Exactly I believe most kids at p3 will not be able recall the questions. They shld be busy doing the sums and not memorising the questions:)
My gal can only remember the snacks which her friends brought and shared with her..I asked if she met any of her kindy friends and she could not even recall.. -
FQW:
The question is, why are they even 'preparing' the child for the selection?As a bystander, may I ask a candid question?
What's the difference between a parent who sends her kid to GEP preparation class vs one who buys those GEP assessment books and prepares her kid on her own? For the latter, if the kid qualifies, will she also struggle in P4?
Seeing how things here can get misinterpreted sometimes, I wish to reiterate that I'm only curious to hear differing views, not veering towards any sides at all.
Honestly, no one can say for sure if a child is prep or not will or will not 'suffer' under the program.
Probably with proper support and a very well organised individual, the child may just do well in GEP, just like a naturally selected child may not do well in GEP.
But the question is, what is this program meant to be, who is it meant for? I have given my views before, so I shan't repeat them here.
Anyway, if a child can be taught to do well, surely being in the mainstream would be just as easy for them to do well and get into a good school.
Cheers. -
bebe:
Dun need to cry..they will give also send us \"Thank you for participation\" letter once the results are released right?[/quote]Really? I hope so...in case DS doesn't get selected, at least still got something to show for DSA.
Aiyah....didn't make any copy...given back the test slip already at the end of today's test.Miracle Child:
[quote=\"Nebbermind\"]And By the way, keep the rd 2 invitation properly. Even if u donch get into gep, I think it'll still help in dsa.
Cheers!
FireflyMom:
Centres may not even have to ask. Parents will probably be complaining why questions are different and training not very effective. Free feedback :rotflmao:
The centres probably ask their current students to tell them the questions asked in the papers in preparation for the next batch. -
FireflyMom:
:rotflmao: dats why my ds always say forget all the question liao. But when i probe more, he will juz summarised the nature of the questn e.g GA II-alot of patterning, math paper-lk SA test paper but abit more difficult....He must be hoping to stop me from further questioning and yet for me to gt an idea what the tests are about.
Not all the questions. Probably about 5-8 questions usually. The ones she was not sure of. Honestly speaking, I think some street-wiser kids will not choose to ask their parents about the questions after the papers. If I made a silly mistake, you'll scold me. When I get the papers back, you'll scold me a second time. What for?PiggyLalala:
U mean yr gal can tell u the questions tested today? My boys cannot. Maybe boys are diff fr gals.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.