In-law problems?
Her logic of being a garung kuni is unexplainable :slapshead:
She asked SIL if she has many cutlery from airlines, since eldest son has to fly for work...this SIL is only one who can manage the 2 old ones.
There is so much junk in her cupboard...those free plates from buying toothpaste...on display.
My hubby inherited sickening habit of keeping...so when I do spring clean, he cannot be around. -
verykiasumummy:
this happens when they were poorer back then?? for my case yes, both pils were poor in their good old days so everything also want to keep...SAHM Chew:
Yap yap. Same same. My mil also pick up the things that i threw away. Sometimes, i have to wait for the collection truck to come, then i can throw it away. If not, i will see the items at home again. Even my kids old toys, she will pick them up again....
ya so true... all mils have the same pattern... mine also karung guni...
keep until the whole kitchen n storeroom full of things liao right, nvm...
we went for 1 week holiday wit dh and dc and when we return, i see things along the walkway outside our room... some things in my dc room... i secretly threw them away while she was sleeping, pretending that i dunno anything, put walkway is rubbish so i throw... who knows next morning she woke up and go pick them back... and the following week i threw them again and this time i threw them at the rubbish collection... no more return!!!! -
Now my hubby knows the meaning of sticky floor and smelly toilet.
My clothes are white when they should be, blue, red and not rojak. It took me a long time to train my hubby on what hygiene is.
But don’t bother talking about cleanliness to her…bcos she will tell me I am fussy and ridiculous. That’s HER. -
Hmm, my mil is not fm poor family. She has a nanny and the nanny looked after DH n SIL till the nanny passed on. But since mil is a girl, nothing was given to the girls when DH's grandfather passed on.
verykiasumummy:
this happens when they were poorer back then?? for my case yes, both pils were poor in their good old days so everything also want to keep...[/quote]verykiasumummy:
[quote=\"SAHM Chew\"]Yap yap. Same same. My mil also pick up the things that i threw away. Sometimes, i have to wait for the collection truck to come, then i can throw it away. If not, i will see the items at home again. Even my kids old toys, she will pick them up again....
ya so true... all mils have the same pattern... mine also karung guni...
keep until the whole kitchen n storeroom full of things liao right, nvm...
we went for 1 week holiday wit dh and dc and when we return, i see things along the walkway outside our room... some things in my dc room... i secretly threw them away while she was sleeping, pretending that i dunno anything, put walkway is rubbish so i throw... who knows next morning she woke up and go pick them back... and the following week i threw them again and this time i threw them at the rubbish collection... no more return!!!! -
At least, your hubby is trainable. My DH, one ear in, one ear out. Maybe to maintain peace in the house. :rotflmao: He never tell me what MIL said about me... And whatever i told him to tell MIL, nothing is done... :rotflmao:Now my hubby knows the meaning of sticky floor and smelly toilet.
My clothes are white when they should be, blue, red and not rojak. It took me a long time to train my hubby on what hygiene is.
But don't bother talking about cleanliness to her...bcos she will tell me I am fussy and ridiculous. That's HER. -
SAHM Chew:
Ok I think he will not tell me what his mother said...or else I will boom.
At least, your hubby is trainable. My DH, one ear in, one ear out. Maybe to maintain peace in the house. :rotflmao: He never tell me what MIL said about me... And whatever i told him to tell MIL, nothing is done... :rotflmao:janet_lee88:
Now my hubby knows the meaning of sticky floor and smelly toilet.
But don't bother talking about cleanliness to her...bcos she will tell me I am fussy and ridiculous. That's HER.
But I did show my concern by asking him to tell his mother to eat proper meals. He said he told her many times. His mother said she cannot find pots/pans in the house.
Frying an egg at home is healthier than the egg outside...at least oil used at home is cleaner and not recycled. Hubby told me he has given up. -
I was just telling myself a few days ago... Wah.. good, nobody seem to have MIL problems lately... not bad, not bad... :evil: :evil:
My MIL is one of those super saver type. Back when I just married DH... If I am taking shower in my master bathroom, she will be reading outside my bathroom door (semi-transparent plastic door will lend some light)... leave the entire house dark - save electricity!! If I read on my bed, she will sit on the floor and read there. If I move from one place to another, she will trail me around the to make sure that I switch off anything that is not in use. :siao: :siao: Extreme, right?
The amount of dishes that she cook for 3 persons, I can finish them all. Because vege is expensive (and need to wash!!), but rice can eat one giant bowl and shower with plain water. Boiling soup? Must be idiot cos it takes so much gas to boil!! How to cook? First, heat up the AMC pot. Then, put exactly 1 drop of oil (because oil is not healthy). Then dump in the veg and then close the lid and switch off the fire. Let it steam itself.... And, the rice will actually be done, even if you switch it off x minutes before it \"ting\"... so she stands at the pot and wait for the moment to arrive, and switch it off. Some days the rice seem just a tad undercook.... :sick: :sick:
Suffice to say, I have not been to her house for 5 years (she continues to come over 3 to 5 times a day, everyday)... maintain minimum communication with her.... probably in doing so save my sanity and my marriage! :faint: :faint: -
straffan23:
Goodness, how do you bear with her all these years, she seems to be like a shadow following you everywhere and watching your moves like a hawk.I was just telling myself a few days ago... Wah.. good, nobody seem to have MIL problems lately... not bad, not bad... :evil: :evil:
My MIL is one of those super saver type. Back when I just married DH... If I am taking shower in my master bathroom, she will be reading outside my bathroom door (semi-transparent plastic door will lend some light)... leave the entire house dark - save electricity!! If I read on my bed, she will sit on the floor and read there. If I move from one place to another, she will trail me around the to make sure that I switch off anything that is not in use. :siao: :siao: Extreme, right?
The amount of dishes that she cook for 3 persons, I can finish them all. Because vege is expensive (and need to wash!!), but rice can eat one giant bowl and shower with plain water. Boiling soup? Must be idiot cos it takes so much gas to boil!! How to cook? First, heat up the AMC pot. Then, put exactly 1 drop of oil (because oil is not healthy). Then dump in the veg and then close the lid and switch off the fire. Let it steam itself.... And, the rice will actually be done, even if you switch it off x minutes before it \"ting\"... so she stands at the pot and wait for the moment to arrive, and switch it off. Some days the rice seem just a tad undercook.... :sick: :sick:
Suffice to say, I have not been to her house for 5 years (she continues to come over 3 to 5 times a day, everyday)... maintain minimum communication with her.... probably in doing so save my sanity and my marriage! :faint: :faint:
I hate people breathing down my neck when I do things. Why dun you tell her 'I need space'. :roll:
Don't understand MILs, why must they make life difficult for DILs and keep an iron grip on them but can be condoning and lax with their own daughters? -
On the part on leftovers, my mum for one would usually try to avoid keeping leftovers.
But my pils are big on leftovers (this seems to be a common trait among old folks) maybe we will be like that when we are old??? My pils will keep even a tiny fish that is left over (eg. size of tic tac container). It will sometimes be there for days.... of course they will keep in fridge but it's just that..... It was a \"culture\" shock for me when I first got married.Things that I saw on the table days ago suddenly appear on dining table again.
Also, those nasi lemak fishes... She asked my maid to fry all at one go and heat up each time :roll: Personally, I prefer to eat those freshly fried as the texture is different.... Maybe that explains why I seldom eat at home...
When we do eat at home, dh will be like finish this and that.... not because we leave little food for them. But rather... if there are leftover, it will end up in fridge and they will eat it over next few days... Maid told mum that sometimes mil will just take the food from fridge and eat... (cold).... mum was like :yikes: maybe she is used to it. When we have monthly family gathering, dh will asked his sisters to please pack leftover home otherwise pils will be the ones eating it over the next couple of days.....
Just had a fairly new maid (2 months??). dh told maid that it's fine that she take the food to eat. We are not sticky with that.... While working from home yesterday, I heard pils talking about maid taking this and that food freely... unlike old maid.... They spent couple of hours on that topic (well.... at least they got a common \"interesting\" topic) but I was like
in my room. I heard mil saying that dh told the maid she can take the food and eat. DH is travelling so I emailed him and told him what happened.... He was like.... can you talk to my dad and ask him to look at the BIG picture. Why because of such little things make himself and the maid unhappy. I told him... I will leave that communication to him when he is back.
Leave me out of the picture...
Wow... more common traits... karang guni. When we moved to our current place 5 years ago, just imagine the amt of packing....there are some boxes still in the storeroom that i had labelled as do not unpack as the last thing I want is for pils to find a place to display those \"obiang\" figurines.... :faint: But the best part that reflect the karang guni was.... one of my sils came to help us to unpack the kitchen and she saw a cup.... she was like.... oh this cup came from our old place (that was like when she was in her teens and sil is already in her 40's...)
Also... during packing... more incidents.... fil will take back the things that we threw away saying it can be fixed.... so you can imagine what happened... He \"literally\" will check through what we throw. We literally had to throw things when he is not home or tell him it's for salvation army.... Pils are very financially secured but alot of things cannot see open.
Oh yes... we realised that dh's eldest sis seems to have inherited pils' genes.... as we used to stay in the same development, she inherited some of our stuff that we wanted to throw away eg. shoe racks, chairs, etc... she also asked for the lights in one of the bedroom and we replaced it with a simple light. Till the extent that bil was like.... :faint: haha obviously he is not the karang guni type..... But she is ok we just let her take whatever....
Well... so much for the sharing.... But yes we are still staying together rather harmoniously. Just got to laugh off some of these stuff and close one/ two eyes. With such mindset, life will be happier. -
:goodpost: Very positive!
Well... so much for the sharing.... But yes we are still staying together rather harmoniously. Just got to laugh off some of these stuff and close one/ two eyes. With such mindset, life will be happier.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.