Pei Chun Public
Callie Tan:
And another puzzling thing is the briefing only involve the children... For me, I have to \"squeeze\" whatever information my DD can remember so as to know more about the few CCAs...
haha .. at least you are able to \"squeeze\" from yr DD. My son was not well that day and did not attend school. I totally got no clue about it. Anyway, I have opted for sports class for him and will not be considering any other CCA for him
Btw, are you opting for the swimming class? I will most probably opt out cos I am concerned with the ratio 1:10. -
Hi mummies
When it comes to PC communication, i really find myself swimming in murky waters most of e time...
Talking abt swimming....For the SwimSafer Prog, is it meant to be for beginner swimmers or any level? Not much info was given.
Looks like the P3 students will have to stay back after school for at least 3 days a week (Wed-CCA, Thur-swim, Fri-Chinese enrichment class?)??
And on PTC, do they only hold it once a year? I rem'ber i only went in June last yr and May this yr...
Also dont even know how the new principal looks like...sigh... :faint: -
iLoveChubby:
Yes, PTC is only once a year as far as I know. My kid is P3 this yearHi mummies
When it comes to PC communication, i really find myself swimming in murky waters most of e time...
Talking abt swimming....For the SwimSafer Prog, is it meant to be for beginner swimmers or any level? Not much info was given.
Looks like the P3 students will have to stay back after school for at least 3 days a week (Wed-CCA, Thur-swim, Fri-Chinese enrichment class?)??
And on PTC, do they only hold it once a year? I rem'ber i only went in June last yr and May this yr...
Also dont even know how the new principal looks like...sigh... :faint:
Hi -
angie69:
Oh ya... I totally forgotten about the P3s have to start swimming lessons! Is it compulsory? So how do we opt out?? My girl is already having private swimming lessons... she is already at swim safer stage 3...Callie Tan:
And another puzzling thing is the briefing only involve the children... For me, I have to \"squeeze\" whatever information my DD can remember so as to know more about the few CCAs...
haha .. at least you are able to \"squeeze\" from yr DD. My son was not well that day and did not attend school. I totally got no clue about it. Anyway, I have opted for sports class for him and will not be considering any other CCA for him
Btw, are you opting for the swimming class? I will most probably opt out cos I am concerned with the ratio 1:10.
Yes with soooo little information given to children as well as parents only in the last 2 weeks of the school, I think a lot of parents might also facing issues in the selection of CCAs. In fact, recently my girl brought back a feedback form on the school's entire operation system and I gave very frank and honest opinions.... My girl is in PCPS for 2 full years and seriously, I can say now that the school's communication channel and efforts put in to reach out to parents are below average.... very very disappointing. -
iLoveChubby:
I share the same sentiments... a lot of the time, I have to get information through this forum because I have no clue at all as to what is going on!! Eg. my recent CCA and DSA issues. Totally no idea at all!! The school never give any info on this aspect. This year was really worst than last year.... as my girl's chinese teacher and form teacher were all on maternity one after another in March and Oct... I can see that her lessons are a bit disorganized... quite upset.Hi mummies
Also dont even know how the new principal looks like...sigh... :faint:
Is it a norm to only have one Parent-Teacher meeting in a year?? What are the other schools' practise? I would prefer to have it 2 times a year... at least we can hear from the same teachers to know whether any improvements etc at the end of the year. I doubt many parents have ever met the principal at all... Actually why the communiation so lag huh? Just cannot comprehend!! My friends told me that their DDs or DSs schools all very responsive and always full of PN to constantly update parents about the whats-going-on in school...
SwimSafer got a few levels according to my understanding... but it is the beginning towards the bronze, silver and gold stage...My girl is at level 3 of swimsafer programme.
The children have to stay back at least 2 times a week for HCL and the CCA. I think for the 1st half of P3, still ok. For some CCAs, trainings may step up (when there are competitions) and the kids might have to stay back 3-4 times a week by then. Quite tedious hor? Btw, is it a norm (again) for HCL to be conducted after normal school hours? What are the arrangements for other schools? -
Hi All
The swimming lesson is not compulsory and you can opt out. I opted out for DS who is doing his private swim safer lessons. There are other lessons like Malay language which I opted out too. Hope this will clear the doubt on swimming.
There is this a program mandated by MOE - known as Learning Journey. I recalled my DS went for some activities at the science centre as part of LJ and there were only two LJ activities during this entire year. LJ programs are conducted on Wednesday.
I have not heard of other schools making their students stay back for HC. School like Kong Hwa who also does HC, dun make their students stay back. Seems like PCPS is the only one. Well, if you think positively, the extra HC is in fact beneficial to our children because there are too many components that they may not have enough time to cover during the normal school hours given that each period is only 30mins. I understand from my DS that during the extra hours, they will drill the children in compo, lc and also textbook learning. Also, just take note, for PCPS CL compo, the P3 will still do one picture compo when many schools are already doing 4 pictures come P3. This may be a bit confusing for the child especially those who does group tuition because group tution normally prepares the child for 4 pictures.
Communication - Sick and tired complaining about this issue. For the whole entire year, I only received one communication from our FT. We had a v good FT during P1 and 2 whom will drop parents emails and SMSs on important communications and even season greetings. The FT was always easily available to attend to our queries. But, not anymore this year. My conclusion is - Different teachers work differently. If lucky, you get a devoted one. Our FT this year simply bochap. My DS has been complaining of her since day one and when I was there for the PTS, I found out that other parents have the same comment.
Callie - I did not see any feedback form. When was that given to your DD? I must ask my DS today. -
Hi iluvjr2,
Thank you so much again… am really thankful that PCPS parents are always ready to share in this forum.
May I check is there a column in the CCA form to indicate our intention to opt out from swimming? How to opt out??
Yes LJ I know!! hehehe… my P2 girl is going to Jacobs Ballas @ Botanic Gardens next week as part of the LJ programme. However I didn’t know it is mandatory by MOE… thought it is an initiative by PCPS.
Initially I have no qualms about staying back on friday for HCL. However, when I was trying to arrange my girl’s enrichment classes I start to realize that all afternoons will all be taken up eventually… just a bit concerned that my girl will be burnt out… but this is something I have to teach her to cope with lah… Yes everything must think positively!!
Oh Oh but this 01 picture VS 04 pictures compo thingy is something I don’t know at all!! Why the difference in PCPS??? How did you know this?
Yes I do agree that different teachers work differently, and the teachers’ workloads are heavy. However, consistent communication with the parents is essential… need not be weekly but a monthly email would be good. An email to 30 students’ parents… I think it’s worth the effort mah. And according to my friends with kids in ACS, MGS and SCGS, they said that the school does set some min guidelines for all FTs to follow… to ensure that FTs know what to be expected of them.
I filled up the form last week… it’s a green form… asking questions like what we think of PCPS efforts in cultivating a holistic character in our kids etc… Totally have no idea what the school has done for these areas how am I supposed to rate?? So instead of rating, I put " I don’t know" in most questions… -
Callie Tan:
This swimming is not part of the general CCA program hence you do not do the opt-out in the CCA form. This extra swim safer lesson comes with a fee. I recalled the school gave another form together w a list of other programs (such as the malay language etc) at beginning of this year. That is the form that you should complete.Hi iluvjr2,
Thank you so much again... am really thankful that PCPS parents are always ready to share in this forum.
May I check is there a column in the CCA form to indicate our intention to opt out from swimming? How to opt out??
Yes LJ I know!! hehehe... my P2 girl is going to Jacobs Ballas @ Botanic Gardens next week as part of the LJ programme. However I didn't know it is mandatory by MOE... thought it is an initiative by PCPS.
Initially I have no qualms about staying back on friday for HCL. However, when I was trying to arrange my girl's enrichment classes I start to realize that all afternoons will all be taken up eventually... just a bit concerned that my girl will be burnt out... but this is something I have to teach her to cope with lah... Yes everything must think positively!!
Oh Oh but this 01 picture VS 04 pictures compo thingy is something I don't know at all!! Why the difference in PCPS??? How did you know this?
Yes I do agree that different teachers work differently, and the teachers' workloads are heavy. However, consistent communication with the parents is essential... need not be weekly but a monthly email would be good. An email to 30 students' parents... I think it's worth the effort mah. And according to my friends with kids in ACS, MGS and SCGS, they said that the school does set some min guidelines for all FTs to follow... to ensure that FTs know what to be expected of them.
I filled up the form last week... it's a green form... asking questions like what we think of PCPS efforts in cultivating a holistic character in our kids etc... Totally have no idea what the school has done for these areas how am I supposed to rate?? So instead of rating, I put \" I don't know\" in most questions....
I wrote to our CL teacher this year in order for me to better understand why PCPS is so special in terms of CL compo. Frankly speaking, I do not like the idea of doing one picture at P3. There will be a big gap between the P3 compo and P4 comp. I hope my DS will not have a shock come next year when he is required to do 4 pics in P4.
Below is the extract of the response from our CL teacher regarding the rationale for 1 picture CL compo:
[i]1) Compo –one pic
Yes, we acknowledged that the format of P3 CL compo is different from EL, in fact, we may be the only sch in Singapore doing this. Rationale: Pupils learn EL Compo writing in P2. As for CL, they started by constructing simple sentences in P1, then learn to write 5 sentences about a picture in P2. It is a fact that the majority of Chinese Race pupils (about 60% now?) come from English Speaking homes, hence, though pupils in Pei Chun learn “Higher Chinese”, the language, when compared to EL, is actually their “second language”. Pupils in general are fluent in EL, thus they can learn to expand the story and learn more expressive vocab at a faster pace. However, in the case of CL , pupils are usually lacking in vocab and even do not know how to write a complete grammatically correct CL sentence. Therefore, we find it necessary to train pupils well in their foundation years to express themselves accurately in CL, which is why sentence construction was emphasized in P1 and P2. In P3 we focused on training them in expanding the content of one picture. We used one pic instead of 4 (BTW, PSLE have 5 pictures plus 1 question mark) with the intent of training them to write in detail. Perhaps this is best explained in Chinese, so pardon me,
我们要训练学生把一张图看仔细,写仔细,而这需要一定的想象力。学生必须写出人物的对话,心情/表情和动作。(in my opinion, it is more difficult to write on 1 pic instead of 4, therefore pupils are not “shortchanged” in the training of skills) If pupils can write one pic in detail, it is our hope that when it comes to 4 pic in P4, they will have no problem. Actually this is explained in our 作文校本,which is actually their 作文file. During SA1, it is not the first time that pupils were required to focus on the pic contents. Since the first compo practice, I have repeatedly reminded them, and have even brought to their attention that CL compo requirement is different from EL compo. I acknowledged that some pupils are confused between the two, and they may even be some whose tuition trs taught them the 4 pic writing techniques and they are even more confused. Nevertheless, whether it is during exams or daily practice, when pupils write “beyond” the pic, they are not “penalized” as in marks will be deducted. As the instructions of the paper indicated:
仔细观察这张图画,然后根据图意,以至少50个字写一段话。你可以写出图中人物在做什么、说什么,以及他们当时的心情。We look out for contents based on the picture itself, if pupils wrote beyond that, the marker simply do not take that part into consideration. Therefore if pupil A wrote one whole page based on the picture and another page “out of context”, we will grade the first page, which will get quite good grades because for P3, one page is lengthy enough. However, if pupil B wrote only 4 lines based on the pic, and another 1 ½ page “out of context”, of course the 4 lines do not warrant high marks because he/she most probably would not have written enough about图中人物在做什么、说什么,以及他们当时的心情.
The school’s CL writing package takes the gradual approach in teaching pupils the skills of CL writing. We started using this package in 2009. Though the first batch of P3 using this approach will be sitting for their PSLE only at end of the year, we are confident that they will perform just as well as their seniors, if not better -
Like all parents here, yes, I agree that the communications part is lacking. In fact, this year seems to be worse than last year.
Regarding extra classes after school, I thought it’s the norm. I have colleagues’ children in Cat High, who also stay back on some days of the school for extra classes, especially more during P5-P6 to prepare for PSLE. I thought it’s good initiative of PCPS to have these extra classes, as this would help the teachers to have a better grasp of the children’s capabilities and no need to rush during normal curriculum time. And I see these as enrichment classes for the kids by the school teachers, which are much better than external enrichment because at the end of the day, teachers are the ones who set the papers! lol…
iluvjr2, thanks for sharing the information abt the CL compo. I agree on this part: "in my opinion, it is more difficult to write on 1 pic instead of 4, therefore pupils are not “shortchanged” in the training of skills". This is true because 4 pics shows the flow of the story, so there is little need for imagination. During the revision for the MA4, DS tried a chinese compo with 3 pics, and he could write it in a "story" form. For 1 pic, the outcome was more narrative, and he took a longer time, cos he need to think about the flow. -
Ok staying back in the afternoons will be a norm… have to prepare my girl…
Well, seems like PCPS has it’s own initiative in teaching the CL compo… will monitor and see how things go…
Really hope that the school can improve the communication channel next year…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.