Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      Mylittletrumpet

Ya PinkyBear/Desertwind, that’s what I mean lor. Last time I do let her use Hp at night but because she doesn’t have much money to top up her card everytime, she will control her usage. But now that she has her full salary, she can spend more on calling card, hence the yakking on the phone every night. But I think most maid will slack after a while, mine also. But Desertwind, you are really nice to provide her with Pad because right from the start, I told my maid that I won’t provide her with sanitary pad because I feel that this is something personal she needs to provide for herself. We have 2 bathrooms, me and HB will use the one in master bedroom and my maid will have the common bathroom all to herself so I will buy toiletries (shampoo, shower cream and toothpaste) separately for her because we don’t share bathroom.

She doesn’t really know how to cook, if she cooks, it will usually be fried rice or some simple one dish meal. She don’t expect her to do housework during weekdays except for mopping the floor only we are back home because she is taking care of my 1 year old boy.

We will usually bring my boy out in the early afternoon on weekends and return at night leaving my maid alone at home to do the housework but still, her cleaning is not thorough enough. She will request for her hp the moment we are out with my DS. Even if we do bring her out shopping, she will shop as well. Occasionally, we still have to wait for her when she buys her stuff. Am I too nice to her? But the one thing good about this maid is that she doesn’t have an attitude problem and can take instructions well and she won’t talk back if I reprimand her. But I am prepared that this will change once she has her off days.

Is it reasonable if I ask her to plan her own time to go out as long as she finishes the housework like ironing the clothes before she goes out?

• pinkybearP Offline
        pinkybear

Actually it was also my fault to give her hp and use our laptop. I did tell her off if I caught her ironing, using hp, cooking using hp, etc. She would listen and only used her hp after work (but would forgot at times). She would talk till 11-12midnight and yet she could get up at 5.30am to make breakfast for dd and send dd to take school bus.

She is a very good maid. Her chinese cooking is delicious! She would look at the cookbook and prepared the exact meal for us. She had to go home due to family issue.

I bought her everything that she needs. All her money was saved. She reads newspaper whenever she is free. :scared: She has an entrepreneur mind. She saved her money and set up Biz in Indonesia.

• DesertWindD Offline
          DesertWind

Hi littletrumpet,

For pads, I feel it is really up to the employers, there is not hard and fast rules or right or wrong. Just depends on circumstances lor. For our maids during the loan period of half a year, really no money hence got to supply most stuff, including pads. So when I buy for myself, just take another pack and give to her. But for my mother’s maid, don’t expect my mother to supply since she already menopaused…get what I mean? So for those maids looking after old folks, don’t expect ah ma to supply them with the pads hor…ke…ke…ke!

As for the timing during off days, it is better for you to talk to your maid and agree with her what time she wants to go out and what time you expect her to come back. I feel the time to go out can let maid decide (if it is not too early). For the time to come back, it is better for you to tell her what time latest she can come back.

My maid told me her friends will go out very early eg. 7 or 8 am and go back home at about 10 or 11 pm. It is unacceptable to me to come back so late hence my maid go out at 10 am and come back by 8 pm.

Sounds like you are treating your maid pretty well too!

Mylittletrumpet

Wow Pinkybear, you treat your maid so nice by lettting her use your laptop. I keep my maid’s hp during the day and only let you have hp at night after my boy sleeps. Can’t afford to let her have access to hp while taking care of my boy and moreover, she is alone at home with my boy. My maid sleeps with my boy but she will yak on the phone till midnight sometimes but I will "close one eyes"

Haha, yes desertwind, I know what you mean. You are right, I can’t imagine an ah ma going out to buy pad for her maid. Lol. I think I will let her decide the time she wants to go out as long as she arrange to finish the housework before she goes. 11pm is really too late for a maid to be hanging out and I would definately not allow that as well. Haiz, no choice lar, have to treat my maid nicer as my son is in her hands! Haha. But must really strike a balance if not they will take things for granted.

peapot

My maid goes off at 9am and come back by 6pm. She has 2 offs in a week. I don’t buy toiletries for them.

lynn2009

Talking about my own experiences with maid.

i have renewed my previous maid after her 2 years contract ends. Her hp is with her 24hrs and she has a laptop. she said she got the laptop from her auntie. we have mutual undertstanding and agreement that we safekeep her passport and money. we gave her the money usually one day before her off day. I let her choose her own agent for renewing the contract. with her new contract, she was allowed to rest twice a month. as a nice employer, we will give her some money (that month salary ) plus her balance for her first rest day although the payment schedule stated that specific day of the month.she acknowledged by signing. The remaining of the salary will pay to her on her second rest day. we have done this since her very first day with us. Things got nasty after we renewed her contract. one incident was my son was playing with her and it got rough till she grabbed my ds both hands and let go so hard that he fall onto the floor. she went back to her room without checking my son’s condition. my son cried and has to go to her room to say sorry to her. we found out when my son said his head got bump. we understand our son could play very rough at times but he means no harm. he is just a kid. we explained to her. things does not get better as my son and her does not get along well. we are working parents and no one is at home to monitor them. then, one day i accidentally saw her hp got some pictures that i have decided to ask her to go. again, as a nice employer, i let her choose her own agent as per her request. i even advised her what she should wear during the interview. she got 2 offers and she got to choose one ang mo family that allows her to rest after 9pm, go out every week. on the day of transfer, i waited together with her at my place, carpark area. this agent walked towards us. i have never seen her before and asked my maid if she was the one. my maid said she looked different and said maybe she put on make-up. the agent stopped in front of me and started to confront me on keeping her money and passport. she even recorded our conversation without i aware. I dont know which agency that she is from, what is her license no and i only know her by name as my ex-maid told me.

lesson learnt :
                if you let the maid choose their own agent, make sure that you know the company name, agent name and their license number.
                talk to the agent as in my case, the agent did not know what is happening and just listen to what my ex-maid say. i would appreciate if this agent could talk to me to find out more and not confronting me and video recording of our conversation.
                when you signed the transfer form, make sure that it has their company name on the paper.
                whatever agreement that you have with the maid, stated in black and white and signed by both parties.
                one thing i know is that if the passport is lost, employer has to pay for the replacement.

lastly, my ex-maid bought another acer laptop which she said that she dont need to pay single cents for the first 3 months. i dont know how it works and i did not pursue as she was leaving us but leaving us a very ‘memorable’ experience. one more thing, i have received her letters from Dell and reader digest after she left us.

if anyone can provide legal advise, plese pm me.

Michii

Hi i have created a site for information about errant maids. The site is more for information and to warn and protect employers on employing these maids.

It is new, and is mostly geared towards Indian maids as i had many horrible indian maids, but feel free to provide information about other maids too.

indianmaidsinsingapore.tumblr.com

Thank you!

peapot

Michii, I see you are new in the forum maybe you have not read previous postings on maid. But I do hope you read the Straits Times. HOME will take legal issues with your blog if you make public Maid’s name and WP and Passport number and photo of maid. FYI only.

sad citizen

Michii:

I thought you have a few cases to illustrate, went into your blog to see only one FDW listed. :roll:

Are you an Indian?
                      Hope you can share more.

Having Indian FDW is becoming a 'can-try' because Philipines and Indonesia embassies are getting too 无法无天 唯恐天下不乱 自私自利
                      They fought so hard in this little red dot for these and that yet refused to pay similiar to their own people!! Thought Sg employers are ATM machines? 😓
                      Really hope MOM can get more good and Value$ source countries.
                      Employers forked our huge amount of agency fee yet agency has nothing to bear, so unfair! Went to Nxxxxx, was quoted S$1688 :siam: Cheapest $488. Most in the range of $688 to $988.

Myanmar is ok if their people can read and understand simple English. Want employers pay $420 for fresh maids, they should send M-maid for English lessons before stepping into Sg. One chick and one duck, how to communicate? Draw??

Don't be surprise M-maid come in with mobiles and hugging them 24/7. Where they got the money, guess lor. Some just want a free holiday, have some cash on hand. Are they really in need of the income, obviously no!! One M-maid that I've interviewed told me she needed the phone to speak to her mum and sisters (working in Sg) to ask how to carry out chores. I said you don't know anything, should check with employer, ask her, not somebody else not living in the same house. You believe such lies? Since mobile is a must, she said not keen to work. Told M-maid, you can chat as long as you like during off days, use too much mobile will waste money, she said no need, got free incoming calls .... so who pays for subscription or card? Not her? Some nice man? Can't be employer right?

Sg employers are made to be ATM machines by MOM. Sucked our $$ as levy and then shake legs. Refused to see how much we've suffered.

Pay and Pay
                      😢 :gloomy:

• panickymumP Offline
                        panickymum

:goodpost:

sad citizen:
                        Michii:

I thought you have a few cases to illustrate, went into your blog to see only one FDW listed. :roll:

Are you an Indian?
                        Hope you can share more.

Having Indian FDW is becoming a 'can-try' because Philipines and Indonesia embassies are getting too 无法无天 唯恐天下不乱 自私自利
                        They fought so hard in this little red dot for these and that yet refused to pay similiar to their own people!! Thought Sg employers are ATM machines? 😓
                        Really hope MOM can get more good and Value$ source countries.
                        Employers forked our huge amount of agency fee yet agency has nothing to bear, so unfair! Went to Nxxxxx, was quoted S$1688 :siam: Cheapest $488. Most in the range of $688 to $988.

Myanmar is ok if their people can read and understand simple English. Want employers pay $420 for fresh maids, they should send M-maid for English lessons before stepping into Sg. One chick and one duck, how to communicate? Draw??

Don't be surprise M-maid come in with mobiles and hugging them 24/7. Where they got the money, guess lor. Some just want a free holiday, have some cash on hand. Are they really in need of the income, obviously no!! One M-maid that I've interviewed told me she needed the phone to speak to her mum and sisters (working in Sg) to ask how to carry out chores. I said you don't know anything, should check with employer, ask her, not somebody else not living in the same house. You believe such lies? Since mobile is a must, she said not keen to work. Told M-maid, you can chat as long as you like during off days, use too much mobile will waste money, she said no need, got free incoming calls .... so who pays for subscription or card? Not her? Some nice man? Can't be employer right?

Sg employers are made to be ATM machines by MOM. Sucked our $$ as levy and then shake legs. Refused to see how much we've suffered.

Pay and Pay
                        😢 :gloomy:

:goodpost:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 763 / 1032