MOE to stop publishing names of top students?
Freesia:
Right.....
Even if you want to compete for your country be it academic or sports; it is because of your passion not because you expect to be recognized and honour.
If one is humble and rich in soul, one does not need recognition and honour and your country to rejoice and celebrate your achievements,
just like you do charity out of your own goodwill; you do not need the recognition.
So why do they give out medals at the Olympics then? No one who competes in sports should seek recognition for their accomplishments?
By who's rule? Please don't assume to extrapolate your world view. -
To some extent, I don’t think publishing names of top students will add to the stress of parents. I think that most parents are not stress because they are concerned if their children will emerge top in the PSLE. Rather, they are concerned if their children can get into their dream schools, may it be IP or non-IP schools.
Good question. I think 3Boys has already answered it for me in his first post regarding the slow dilution of our education system into mediocrity.[/quote]Bingo.SAHM_TAN:
[quote=\"ChiefKiasu\"]I don't think the issue is whether it is fair or not fair for top scorers' names to be published. I am more concerned with the innuendo that MOE feels that publishing names of top scorers actually creates an \"over-emphasis on academic results\". If that is the case, then we should stop going for International academic competitions, Math Olympiads, etc because they promote unhealthy celebration of academic prowess amongst students.
Why are you concern abt that?
It's the signal it is sending.
It's uncool to be smart.
It's uncool to do well in school.
If you are either.....shhhushhh.......or people might actually feel offended or stressed by your accomplishments....
.....and no, we should never place such 'stressors' on people. -
Bingo.ChiefKiasu:
[quote=\"ChiefKiasu\"]I don't think the issue is whether it is fair or not fair for top scorers' names to be published. I am more concerned with the innuendo that MOE feels that publishing names of top scorers actually creates an \"over-emphasis on academic results\". If that is the case, then we should stop going for International academic competitions, Math Olympiads, etc because they promote unhealthy celebration of academic prowess amongst students.
Good question. I think 3Boys has already answered it for me in his first post regarding the slow dilution of our education system into mediocrity.
It's uncool to be smart.
If you are either.....shhhushhh.......or people might actually feel offended or stressed by your accomplishments....
.....and no, we should never place such 'stressors' on people.[/quote]
:goodpost: :goodpost: -
Sun_2010:
I don't view top scorers as you do, as inspiration. What others can or cannot do doesn't affect my expectations of my kids.
No pity involved nor is it about unfairness to them.SAHM_TAN:
Was watching a jap cartoon. Suddenly I thought so strange of us adults to feel pity for the top scorers, their name not published this year. But what if the top scorers don't care :rotflmao: of course not knowing that they are the national top scorers, assuming no one investigate and then with absolute certainty told them that they are, they might not feel it's unfair to them that now MOE don't announce their name.
Heehee
Its not just about the topscorers. Just knowing the top scorers is a kind of boost to all Primary school kids. It tells the aspiring students - this is within you, strive for it , reach out for the stars , even if you dont quite reach them , you will definitely reach higher than where you are.
If we take the view that ultimately we do our best, what does it matter how good we are in comparison with others, then why olympics , why the nobel prize, why the oscars, why the grammys?
The best may not always be honoured, but these awards inspire millions and so even though only a handful receive them , the awards serve the purpose of pushing the the millions to go the extra mile.
So glorifying these few toppers is not about academics , its about (wo)man's quest for excellence, to rise above ourselves and shine.
I view academic competition such as maths olympiads, as extra fr education Kids go for those if they wish to DSA, develop a particular academic niche/ talent or to build portfolio for whatever ends.
I do not view education and learning as competition like sports competition, arts competition or other types of competiton. I have nothing against competition. I just don't think that education and learning is a form of competition.
As for Oscars, I'm a cynic liao, I view it as a mechanic to generate revenue.
Noble prize, I don't know much abt it really. There's an objective I guess for it's set up. Do great pple set out to do great things to be recognised by the committee ? I dunno. But I will feel sad if that's their primary motivation.
I'm ok either way, to publish or not to. -
Bingo.
Good question. I think 3Boys has already answered it for me in his first post regarding the slow dilution of our education system into mediocrity.ChiefKiasu:
[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]
Why are you concern abt that?
It's uncool to be smart.
.....and no, we should never place such 'stressors' on people.[/quote]Then Cham liao, MOE has failed to reach out to me. Becos I don't get that msg.
Whatever MOE release to the media, I always look at the end objective. Now for primary school the end of it all is PSLE. I look at the format, it's all abt written test, no S&T, no performing arts, no show case of holistic devt of the child. I take my cue fr there. Next I look at the COPs, and I work out a plan.
Does the gvt want to achieve zero stress? It does not even believe in total happiness. :evil:
It's like the number of kids thing. Do you think I have 3 kids becos the gvt dish out the bonus and told us we do not have enough to replace? No lah, it's becos hubby loves kids hor. -
Till its too late.....[/quote]I don't know how it would be like 10, 20 yrs down the road. Will Singapore become medicore? I don't know. Whatever happens, we just have to learn from it. There's a cycle to everything.
Then we will wait.........SAHM_TAN:
[quote=\"pirate\"]
I don't think MOE will consciously dumb down the syllabus. Dumbing down is seldom the intention. It is often the unintended consequence that sneaks in. -
pirate,
Just to chk, your post abt materialistic and mercenary is it in response to any of my posts? If it is, I will post a reply, if not then I will not. -
I have different views from most of you. I am agreeable to not publishing the top scorers or top schools. I wrote some time ago that it is important what we glorify in the media. We glorify sports, artistic excellence, and other fields etc., and we should not glorify exam excellence, esp those like PSLE exam, because it does not add value to a holistic learning environment. Ultimately, if the goal has been set on making PSLE an exam to distribute children into secondary schools, there is really no point in naming who are the ultimate best. Just my opinion.
I am agreeable to glorify the more ‘academic subjects’ like Math Olympiads, abacus and internation chess competitions - in fact, I think these should be strongly encouraged, and I see these forms of ‘academic competitions’ as healthy competition, although i would prefer to name them ‘specialized skills’ competitions, like in sports and the arts. -
will it backfire if this year’s top PSLE student is from a neighbourhood school? i guess this move is not to let the public focus too much on the top few pri schs which most of the years produced top PSLE students… perhaps this is one of the moves to convince the public that "all schs are good schs"…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.