MOE to stop publishing names of top students?

852 Posts 79 Posters 185.7k Views 1 Watching
      SAHM_TAN

[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]

Why are you concern abt that?

Good question. I think 3Boys has already answered it for me in his first post regarding the slow dilution of our education system into mediocrity.

Bingo.

It's the signal it is sending.

It's uncool to be smart.

It's uncool to do well in school.

If you are either.....shhhushhh.......or people might actually feel offended or stressed by your accomplishments....

.....and no, we should never place such 'stressors' on people.[/quote]Then Cham liao, MOE has failed to reach out to me. Becos I don't get that msg.

Whatever MOE release to the media, I always look at the end objective. Now for primary school the end of it all is PSLE. I look at the format, it's all abt written test, no S&T, no performing arts, no show case of holistic devt of the child. I take my cue fr there. Next I look at the COPs, and I work out a plan.

Does the gvt want to achieve zero stress? It does not even believe in total happiness. :evil:

It's like the number of kids thing. Do you think I have 3 kids becos the gvt dish out the bonus and told us we do not have enough to replace? No lah, it's becos hubby loves kids hor.

SAHM_TAN

[quote=\"pirate\"]
        I don't think MOE will consciously dumb down the syllabus. Dumbing down is seldom the intention. It is often the unintended consequence that sneaks in.

Then we will wait.........

Till its too late.....[/quote]I don't know how it would be like 10, 20 yrs down the road. Will Singapore become medicore? I don't know. Whatever happens, we just have to learn from it. There's a cycle to everything.

SAHM_TAN

pirate,

Just to chk, your post abt materialistic and mercenary is it in response to any of my posts? If it is, I will post a reply, if not then I will not.

concern2

I have different views from most of you. I am agreeable to not publishing the top scorers or top schools. I wrote some time ago that it is important what we glorify in the media. We glorify sports, artistic excellence, and other fields etc., and we should not glorify exam excellence, esp those like PSLE exam, because it does not add value to a holistic learning environment. Ultimately, if the goal has been set on making PSLE an exam to distribute children into secondary schools, there is really no point in naming who are the ultimate best. Just my opinion.

I am agreeable to glorify the more ‘academic subjects’ like Math Olympiads, abacus and internation chess competitions - in fact, I think these should be strongly encouraged, and I see these forms of ‘academic competitions’ as healthy competition, although i would prefer to name them ‘specialized skills’ competitions, like in sports and the arts.

KSP

will it backfire if this year’s top PSLE student is from a neighbourhood school? i guess this move is not to let the public focus too much on the top few pri schs which most of the years produced top PSLE students… perhaps this is one of the moves to convince the public that "all schs are good schs"…

august24

Maybe not publishing the name/sch of top students will somewhat reduce the stress on P1 registration the following year for that particular sch?

Twinkies

Stop publishing the names of the top students would be able to "balance the over-emphasis on academic results" ?

august24

How come no option for those sitting on the fence - doesn’t matter whether publish or not?

• 3 Offline
                      3Boys

[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]

Then we will wait.........

Till its too late.....

Whatever happens, we just have to learn from it. There's a cycle to everything.[/quote]That's assuming we will have the will to learn from it. That everything is cyclical is alas, too true. Our leadership had already stated it, the life span of small nation states is usually pretty short, no matter how brightly they shone.

It's too bad, I did like Singapore to be a home for my kids and beyond.....

SAHM_TAN

KSP:
                        will it backfire if this year's top PSLE student is from a neighbourhood school? i guess this move is not to let the public focus too much on the top few pri schs which most of the years produced top PSLE students.... perhaps this is one of the moves to convince the public that \"all schs are good schs\".....

Qifa produced a top PSLE too and several students with good scores but the P1 registration take-up rate is still pretty normal. Rulang on the other hand has been popular before the top student last yr. There are many factors that parents consider.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 86