200 SMRT bus drivers refuse to go to work over pay issue
I think SMRT management is not handling this issue well.....
Where is the CEO ....on holidays....???
Our local Media is also not reporting the actual news...
200 PRC drivers , 171 PRC drivers..... ???
Singapore leaders nowadays.... the standard ...very disappointing....
I really cannot see where is Singapore is heading......
One bunch of troublemakers FT ...all the leaders...all do not know how to react...
:censored: :censored: :censored: :censored: -
bupashu:
:goodpost:dimsum:
According to ST, it costs more to rent HDB flats. So, SBS is providing better benefits for the PRC drivers. The living condition in the dorm apparently was bad, drivers kana bitten by alot of bed bugs.
bed bugs ? that is personal hygiene
without personal hygiene, they will still get bed bugs if you put them up in St Regis or Four Seasons -
pirate:
I thought SMRT CEO is a train engineer put there to fix rail breakdowns? And the last one was a retail specialist hired to rent out shop space in MRT stations.
Wonder if they are still aware what is their CORE Business and Responsibility/obligations.
Tax payer paid for the stations and trains.. They are supposed to run the operations smoothly. -
MR06:
Shouldn't it be always Entry/Exit instead of having the driver to trigger? Why they need driver to manually trigger it? doesn't makes sense..
Btw, if you exit a bus from the entrance, be sure you see \"Entry/Exit\" mode on the card reader before you tap your card. If you tap your card at the \"Entry\" mode when alighting from the entrance, you will be charged the full fare twice because your second tap is considered a new trip. You are charged the maximum fare for 2 trips because you entered twice and there is no record of your exit.
However, I notice that the 2 scanner at the entrance are not the same. The one next to driver is always Entry only. To exit, tap on the one beside the door. -
dolphinsiah:
They may not have chosen the correct way to raise their displeasure or unhappiness but I do not think we should label them trouble makers.I think SMRT management is not handling this issue well.....
Where is the CEO ....on holidays....???
Our local Media is also not reporting the actual news...
200 PRC drivers , 171 PRC drivers..... ???
Singapore leaders nowadays.... the standard ...very disappointing....
I really cannot see where is Singapore is heading......
One bunch of troublemakers FT ...all the leaders...all do not know how to react...
:censored: :censored: :censored: :censored:
This is poor HR management by SMRT. When managing staff, we have to think about their emotions as well. We can say all we want about the drivers signing a contract, blah, blah, blah, but if there is a sense of being treated unfairly, it needs to be addressed with care and not with that piece of paper shoved in their faces. Lets hope SMRT improve their process and communication with their staff going forward. -
if everything throw contract, then confirm workers will lugi oneβ¦
Still awaiting to see how the authorities react to this illegal strike. Regardless of who they are & where they come from, as the Chinese saying goes, a house has its own rules, a country has its own laws. Ignorance of law should not be an excuse for any crime committed. Will the authorities take no harsh, appropriate & immediate action on them because of SIN-CHN politics, OR, should they follow our great LKY footsteps in the SIA pilot strike saga, swift & harsh punishment for those who take their laws into their own hands, a lesson for all, so that strikes like this will not occur again in a country that is aiming to be First World?
Joule:
Wah, SMRT not as smart as sbssbs is smarter
they put their drivers 6 to a 3 room flat
scattered around the island
But seriously, it does help in prevention. Come to think of it, it is the same for HDB lodgings - all races distributed in HDBs island wide, to prevent 'racial gang-ups'. But hor, I see potential problem when I go Tekka leh... lodgings of other nationalities there in concentration.. and abundance... -
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1239889/1/.html
Providing an update at a media conference, transport operator SMRT said that 20 bus drivers from China and SMRT personnel are assisting the police in their investigations.
SMRT added that disciplinary action will be taken against those who didn't turn up for work and didn't have valid reasons but did not disclose what the disciplinary action would include. -
Failing to draw candidtates' attention to the fact that they are signing up for a job in public transport which requires them to give 14 days notice before a strike is also poor HR.They may not have chosen the correct way to raise their displeasure or unhappiness but I do not think we should label them trouble makers.
This is poor HR management by SMRT. When managing staff, we have to think about their emotions as well. We can say all we want about the drivers signing a contract, blah, blah, blah, but if there is a sense of being treated unfairly, it needs to be addressed with care and not with that piece of paper shoved in their faces. Lets hope SMRT improve their process and communication with their staff going forward.
Is this where we are supposed to ask about the nationality of the HR manager? :siam:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.