Raffles Institution (Year 1-4)
Yes, it’s Meridian…in Pasir Ris…the jc that’s been classified as bottom ranking in another thread. The JC that students in the East go to if they can’t make it to VJC or TJC. But I’ve complete faith in the principal and VP in the way they motivate their students.
I’m fortunate indeed, edanson. To have much time on my hands now that both kids are sensibly matured for their age. Thanks. -
edanson:
That's great! That's what I understood from the dsa briefing too. Son is hoping to have his classmates with him still.I am not too sure about the grouping but heard that there will be GEP classes. Top PSLE students will join the GEP classes. There will also be a class for students who gain entrance through DSA using sports.
Hope the above help. -
mathsparks:
Welcome to the Rafflesian family. Last year, the registration day was quite well organised. It is not so bad as decribe in the forum. Take your time and spend half a day in the school. Get your child to attend some of the talks. The most it will take about 45 mins. My son and myself finish the purchasing the books, shirts/trousers/PE attires and registration at about 12 pm. . One of the advise to the new parents is to attend the subject talks organised by the RPA. It will help you a lot. There are a lot of interesting activities to look forward in RI.Went to bibi baba this morning. Quite crowded, had to park all the way to the 10th floor. Shop was crowded too...and only 2 fitting rooms.
Good thing we came here to get, otherwise next week, I wonder how'll the boys try on their pants. There'll sure be lotsa red-faced boys if they've to try it there on the spot among their frens. :oops:
So, our loot:
2 shirts - 8.60 x 2
1 polo-T (for Fridays, I was told) - 9.10
3 shorts - 9.60 x 2
Total 55.10
Wonder why the staff there is so cat. They couldnt find the sample polo T for trying, dh asked them to let son have a new piece, they said must pay up first, and exchange if it doesnt fit. So cat for what, there'll be others who need to try also. :?
Anyway, we're almost done. So, next Wed, we only need to get his PE shirt plus show him how to take the MRT to Bartley where I can pick him up..just in case I cant fetch him home.
Looks like I'm more excited about him starting school than he is. He looks so smart n sharp in his white uniform :love: , but he said he looks strange.
You will not get to know your class on registration day. It will only be released in first day of school. Keep your son fit to attend the Orientation camp...It will make him proud to be a Rafflesian after the camp. -
kiasuson:
ha ha...did you get kiasuson's hint?
Keep your son fit to attend the Orientation camp...It will make him proud to be a Rafflesian after the camp. -
hey fairy, son's been sick for almost 2 weeks liao, already finished 1 round of antibiotics, plus the bad weather plus the internet addiction how to train?
hey kiasuson, you're scaring me leh..is it like the army or really got taupok incidents??
thanks for the welcome. I thot all sec1s take the same subjects, how come must attend subject talk? -
Hi All,
I read in the RGS forum where there were queries about the leadership positions available in the sec 1 level. What about RI, anyone can share? Are they like RGS where teachers will nominate the prefects while students / classmates will volunteer, nominate and vote for the class chair and vice-chair.
In short how are the leaders in RI being selected - volunteer ? nominated ?
Thanking in advance to whoever that is kind enough to share. Cheers -
mathsparks:
Not so scarely lah.. Just keep them heathly for the camp. They will enjoy it and felt welcome. The parents could also feel it too.hey fairy, son's been sick for almost 2 weeks liao, already finished 1 round of antibiotics, plus the bad weather plus the internet addiction how to train?
hey kiasuson, you're scaring me leh..is it like the army or really got taupok incidents??
thanks for the welcome. I thot all sec1s take the same subjects, how come must attend subject talk?
The subject talks are organised by the RPA. You can understand what the teachers will be teaching and assessing your child. From there, you can judge if you need to get extra tution for your son, etc. You can also know what your son be learning and the average scores for the subjects.
Subject talks are organised next year and not during registration day. On the registration day, there will be talks on MEP, AEP, third languages and also RSP (Regional Studies Programe). -
Fairy:
RGS will have to be under RI(JC) & hence, looses it's identity.
Actually they don't have to merge but it would be good if they can move next to the RI(JC) and make that the Raffles hub. Then they can also have more economies of scales for events conducted.Fairy:
Is this exam requirement by sec2 & sec 3 for swimming specific to RI(JC) only?By sec2, the boys must pass NASSA bronze & sec3, silver - i think.
BGR will flourish in the area... there is a bridge for crossing over. soon it will also be termed as 'Love' bridgeFairy:
RGS will have to be under RI(JC) & hence, looses it's identity.
Actually they don't have to merge but it would be good if they can move next to the RI(JC) and make that the Raffles hub. Then they can also have more economies of scales for events conducted. -
edanson:
There are many leadership opportunities in RI. Base on my son experience, he will try to share the process. First of all, the highest level will be the RIPB. The students have to be nominated by the students and teachers. Then, the teachers will select a few for the interviews. After the interview by the RIPB Exco and teachers, the nominated prefect will have to campaign to be elected by the students. Only about 30 to 40 make it to the elections. After 2 weeks of campaigning, the students and teacher will have to elect the prefects. The whole process is a good learning process and experience for the boy. They learn to get votes and make use of tools such as facebooks, blogs, etc to gather the attention of the students and teachers. It is quite close to our parliamentary election. The number of students elected will depends on the votes.Hi All,
I read in the RGS forum where there were queries about the leadership positions available in the sec 1 level. What about RI, anyone can share? Are they like RGS where teachers will nominate the prefects while students / classmates will volunteer, nominate and vote for the class chair and vice-chair.
In short how are the leaders in RI being selected - volunteer ? nominated ?
Thanking in advance to whoever that is kind enough to share. Cheers
At the beginning of the year, the class will also select the Monitor, Asst. Monitor and Treasurer to form the class executive committee (CEC). This is also another layer of leadership. Teachers will also appoint different students to take care of each subjects. Some students will also given chances to co-ordinate/organise the House activities and internal competitions.
The other leadership opportunities are in the CCAs. In the 4th year, the students can also have opportunities to become the peer support leader to lead the Sec 1 students.
RI has put in place a RLP. You can get more information from http://www.ri.sch.edu.sg/rlp/
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.