River Valley High School [*IP]

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    4.0k Posts 203 Posters 1.5m Views 2 Watching
      WeiHan

Every initiative must have an objective.

Is there a well defined objective for ipad program?

===

Off from my head, I can see how ipad can be used to make lessons more engaging. Teachers can test instantly in class to gauge if the students have understood certain section of the topics. The gauge questions can be send to the ipad of each students and they are expected to revert the answers immediately. Sleeping students will be exposed and the teachers can get a real time feel of the progress of each students in their understanding.

worriermum

Hi everyone,

I m a newbie as u can see from my writing. My eldest dd is in RV yr 1. I hope to know more about the sch n more importantly about academics matters.

koguma

concernedparent999:
          snowman.697:

Is there any proof that results decreased after iPad implementation? There may not be an obvious improvement but there's no decrease either. Being a student myself i can confidently say that the iPad has not resulted in weaker results. Not all students game. In my class, I don't recall anyone using the iPad for illegitimate purposes ever since school started.

I'm not defending the iPad program because I'm a student. In fact after the iPad was introduced, I basically put all my notes into google drive, which is synced with my gmail, which is synced with my phone and computer yada yada yada, which means I don't have to take out annoying notebooks all the time to do revision. And if a friend requires notes, or I lost mine, I just share the doc... Takes 5 seconds and its done.

IMO, if the child ends up using the iPad as a gaming/networking tool, then his results will reflect. There will be people who will learn it the hard way at the end of the year. I've personally been through it, and I think that's a more than enough way to make one reflect on himself. Furthermore, since all RV students are expected to be of good character... Theoretically, this problem shouldn't even exist, no?

Hi, are you blind? Where got students use iPad don't play one. Waste money sia :spank:

Very insensitive to say someone is blind , even if you did not agree with the posting.

WeiHan

An article in Zaobao. New P talks to the media.

===

首次举办校友文化艺术汇报展 立化新校长展现信心迎校庆
            (2013-01-09)
            http://i50.tinypic.com/ngdjsw.jpg\">

陈能端 报道

特选学校立化中学今年不仅迎来第九任校长李惠棣,还将首次举办“校友文化艺术汇报展”欢庆建校57周年。

立化是新加坡第一所政府华文中学,每年的1月16日都会举行校庆。李惠棣(54岁)上任两个星期就投入庆典的筹备工作,同校友会密切配合。

她日前首次以立化新校长身份接受记者采访说:“我们要借着庆祝建校57周年让大家都知道立化大家庭的团结一致。无论是学生、教师、家长、校友或是咨询委员会成员都对学校非常支持,这让我有信心能打造更好的立化。”

上个月19日,教育部发表文告说立化前任校长许永正被贪WU调查局传召协助调查,教育部原计划协调办公室副司长李惠棣在距离新学年开始不到两个星期受委出掌立化。

这名原籍马来西亚的资深教育工作者小学就读华校,中学进入会馆设立的学校,双语流利。

李惠棣对领导立化的任务充满期待,她说:“我感到很荣幸,能有机会和一支如此优秀和专业的教师团队共事。立化学生的素质也很好,学习态度积极,有潜质面对更多挑战。”

家长反馈令人鼓舞
              在上星期六的迎新活动上,李惠棣有机会与家长交流,他们的反馈让她感到鼓舞。她说:“我逐一和家长谈话,感觉几乎所有家长都对学校很有信心。对于立化的教育方针和发展方向,他们都给予肯定。”

配合校庆,立化校友会从去年10月开始联络活跃于文艺界的毕业生,请他们为这次的展览提供画作和文学作品。展览16日(星期三)开幕,在学校图书馆一连举办四天,20日结束。这次参与展出的立化校友主要是上世纪60和70年代的毕业生,包括画家周壁珊、黎才专、张溧花,书法家何钰锋、李士通,作家张挥、尤今等。

立化首届毕业生萧小龙(72岁)是展览的策划人。他受访时指出,中正中学和华侨中学等特选学校已多次举办书画展,而立化其实也不乏这方面的人才。通过这样的平台,不仅能展示立化人的多才多艺,也能激励在籍学生发展他们在文学和美术方面的才华。

李惠棣认为,展览能获得立化前辈校友的支持,说明立化培养的学生其实为国家不同领域做出了许多贡献,校友的成就充分体现了母校“立德立功,化愚化顽”的校训。

接下来,校方有意加强校友与在籍学生的联系,让学生有机会多和成功校友交流学习。

校友会会长:

希望校友为母校加油打气

这次庆典还有另一个别出心裁的项目,就是校方将把在籍学生和校友对母校的祝语,利用科技程序集结成虚拟的“百衲被”,为立化纳福。

立化第三任校长谭德明是校庆活动主宾,他当天会为虚拟百衲被主持推介仪式。

立化57周年纪念庆祝16日早上10时开始,学校开放让各届校友回母校参与活动。校友会会长陈彦(42岁)呼吁校友回来立化走走,和其他同学、校友重新建立联络,还有为母校加油打气。

陈彦说:“去年发生了一些负面的事情,但其实都是个人行为,和学校没有直接的关系。不过,校友觉得这多少会对老师和在籍的学弟、学妹有影响,所以我们希望校友可以回母校,以实际行动表示关怀。”

• Y Offline
              Yeesim

Hi, does anyone know how much is the school fee n when it is deducted?? Their web page doesn't mention anything n the school did not say a thing.... :scratchhead:

DD first yr in rv... N she feels v tiring already...it's overwhelming w new subjects n the school activities... I hope she can survive though this week... Practically came home like a zombie after school.

Any advice from the senior here in rv? This coming friday, CCAC, all I heard was join the cca or uniform group you got higher points n stuff, but I dun understand how they work n contribute to the students, am v puzzle... Pls enlighten me

Thank you

:lovesite:

annielim15

I also have a full set of French books to sell as my girl drop her French class as well.

worriermum

r they supposed to choose 1 cca fr the uniform gp out of the 3 choices? I also wld like to know the sch fees as it is not stated anywhere. Does the sch hv study week prior to test/exam since they hv to stay for cca for 2/3 days, by the time they reached home they r too tired to do anything but zzz. Any parents/ seniors can help?

peach68

WeiHan:
                    Every initiative must have an objective.

Is there a well defined objective for ipad program?

===

Off from my head, I can see how ipad can be used to make lessons more engaging. Teachers can test instantly in class to gauge if the students have understood certain section of the topics. The gauge questions can be send to the ipad of each students and they are expected to revert the answers immediately. Sleeping students will be exposed and the teachers can get a real time feel of the progress of each students in their understanding.
                    My daughter was asked to bring a dictionary to school, wondering they are not using ipad anymore?

A Bit Kiasu

worriermum:
                      r they supposed to choose 1 cca fr the uniform gp out of the 3 choices? I also wld like to know the sch fees as it is not stated anywhere. Does the sch hv study week prior to test/exam since they hv to stay for cca for 2/3 days, by the time they reached home they r too tired to do anything but zzz. Any parents/ seniors can help?

You can refer to http://www.rivervalleyhigh.moe.edu.sg/cos/o.x?c=/wbn/pagetree&func=view&rid=1136087 about the school CCA.

For Singaporean, the school fees is S$23 a month. You can opt for GIRO payment. I don't know about non-Singaporean.

There will be a few study days before year end exam. Secondary school curriculum is quite a big jump from primary school. Don't worry. Your kid will be able to adjust to it after a few weeks.

RVHS

Anyone can share this year HCL O level result?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 279 / 401

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog