Primary 1 English so hard?
the purpose of the worksheet is to find out which students has parents that are kiasu
if this were a ‘real’ graded worksheet that is indicative of grades inflation, I’m off to find tuition for my sperm and wife’s eggs (as mrbrown puts it) -
Maybe this paper was prepared and handed out by parent volunteer during contact time. My kids have been given worksheets which were beyond them. Some were general knowledge, others riddles or brain teasers.
Personally I used to hate it when my kids were test on fact or myth when they were in lower primary… I thought it was quite challenging for kids that age to tell if a statement is a fact or a myth.
Who cares? I figure that if my kiddo reads one Geronimo Stilton a week and watches enough TV, her Engrish will become more powderful than any enrichment centre/tuition can teach in a year. And it will cost me the whole of... 50 x $10 = $500.
Fluency in languages cannot be taught in classrooms or tuition. It comes from actually using it. They can take those P1 tests and stuff it. -
pirate:
:goodpost:Who cares? I figure that if my kiddo reads one Geronimo Stilton a week and watches enough TV, her Engrish will become more powderful than any enrichment centre/tuition can teach in a year. And it will cost me the whole of... 50 x $10 = $500.
Fluency in languages cannot be taught in classrooms or tuition. It comes from actually using it. They can take those P1 tests and stuff it. -
pirate:
:goodpost:Yes exactly, reading is the key to doing well in English and the more the child reads the stronger the language skills.Who cares? I figure that if my kiddo reads one Geronimo Stilton a week and watches enough TV, her Engrish will become more powderful than any enrichment centre/tuition can teach in a year. And it will cost me the whole of... 50 x $10 = $500.
bebebub:
Ahhh....personally, I write all the rest of the given alphabets with more strokes (as the way the kids are taught in a standard English handwriting class). So if I were to take the test, I would still get the first question right, except that my reasoning is different. That doesn't say much about my level of English, does it?
Becos 'S' is made up of 'curve' while the other 3 alphabets has 'curve n straight line' :laugh:concern2:
Why 'S' har? Because it is written only with one stroke while the rest with 2 or more is it?
Then should be an art question, no?
Interesting hor, I prob. don't mind my girl having those questions, rather than complain about it - just don't take it into the grading lah..
pirate:
Hmm…DD1 reads a lot, English very the 烂. DD2 reads a lot, English very the powderful. I read a lot, engrish still 半桶水. All also watch TV.Who cares? I figure that if my kiddo reads one Geronimo Stilton a week and watches enough TV, her Engrish will become more powderful than any enrichment centre/tuition can teach in a year. And it will cost me the whole of... 50 x $10 = $500.
Fluency in languages cannot be taught in classrooms or tuition. It comes from actually using it. They can take those P1 tests and stuff it.
On the other hand, I also don’t believe in tuition. How leh? :scratchhead: -
sunflower:
Hmmm...I always thought there is a high probability of the younger siblings being stronger in their languages since they have someone there to 'talk to' from birth, unlike first borns who are likely to be less vocally stimulated?
Hmm…DD1 reads a lot, English very the 烂. DD2 reads a lot, English very the powderful. I read a lot, engrish still 半桶水. All also watch TV.pirate:
Who cares? I figure that if my kiddo reads one Geronimo Stilton a week and watches enough TV, her Engrish will become more powderful than any enrichment centre/tuition can teach in a year. And it will cost me the whole of... 50 x $10 = $500.
Fluency in languages cannot be taught in classrooms or tuition. It comes from actually using it. They can take those P1 tests and stuff it.
On the other hand, I also don’t believe in tuition. How leh? :scratchhead: -
BigDevil:
[/quote]Since it is a diagnostic (analyse), DD try it,A comment on the Facebook post...
[quote]Qiu Yung Again, this is a diagnostic test. It's not about passing or failing the test. It is administered to primary 1 pupils to help teachers guage their mental capability, in particular, logical thinking and reasoning skills. That is, their cognitive ability.
DD answer:
1.\tS
2.\tO
3.\tL
4.\train
5.\tdwelling
:?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.