Money matters - living a simple life, frugally
Cooking awhile at home.. I became picky on the food that we eat outside.. sometime I fuss it too salty, oily, sweet or too bland... not saying I am a great cook but at least I am eating something natural and healthier.. hopefully cheaper!
Going to wet market to get fresh meats, cold storage to buy fresh veges!
Hi ladies,
I cook until don’t know what to cook? so sianz!
How do you look for ‘fresh’ ideas to cook? recipe books, internet or something else? -
I watch Poh’s Kitchen, 5 Rencah 5 Rasa, Best Wan etc mostly asian food shows for dinner ideas. The angmoh shows are a bit of a stretch coz the kids are not adventurous.
Sounds good! I like the ang moh kinda of cooking but the kids dun really like it.. but other asian food cooking shows sounds good! will do!
Thanks!
I also trying to short cut my cooking as I am working from home.. lazy to do double or cook three times a day.. sometimes so sianz... i just cook pasta.. with their favorite peanut sauce!
haha! -
"How much do your home cook meal cost on the average?"
lunch n dinner…but most of us either ate lunch or dinner…
for daily…4 adults…2 teenagers n 1 kid –> $30
1 big chicken –> 8.50\9
nuggets –> $4.50 (buy on offers cheaper)
veg–> $4
side dish -
not sure about the calculation of the everyday meal… but roughly my monthly groceries bill goes around 200+ to high $300, i cooked only lunch n dinner, breakfast depends.
two thoughts came to mind when i saw this topic on frugality:
Opportunity Cost
Feeding the soul
Both are quite difficult to measure or quantify. Both do not necessarily need money either. But both, to me, are important. Not sure if i am on the right track here with this post, please let me know. -
When I do shopping or buy groceries, I will buy only what I really 'need', not what I 'want'.
Since young, here is my practise:
No Branded Stuff
No Clubbing
No Boutique Clothes
No Pets
No Expensive Hobbies (Golf,Photography,Traveling etc)
Least Restaurant Dinning (Average twice a month?)
But still struggling with current pay....No Life?? Sad....:( -
Maybe it is time to change to get extra income?
Working part time online can be an option if you have a few hours free everyday.
I am have online biz, which works well for me. 
VemmaMom:
Which online biz r u in?Maybe it is time to change to get extra income?
Working part time online can be an option if you have a few hours free everyday.
I am have online biz, which works well for me. 
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.