Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down

2.0k Posts 114 Posters 414.3k Views 1 Watching
      concern2

sinoboy:

Wah, good siah, then I don't have to squeeze with the crowd and have a chance to go get some autographs.. πŸ˜†

Maybe best is not to idolize them or else people start to choose a handsome one and end up with more BGR problem again. Reelection after reelection buay sian meh? :scratchhead:

πŸ˜† Never mind lah, then mango biz will boom. Hor, Strparent hor, can think of more business ideas some more :rotflmao: Buay, buay sian! 5 years too long to wait liao! :laugh: Some more garmen always have good news during elections. Aiya, sinoboy, I say for fun onie lah, I very shy one you know.. :rotflmao:

concern2

Strparent:

http://i45.tinypic.com/2diqf6u.jpg\">
        see the young man on the left of the picture ? :evil:
        :yikes: Oh my goodness! How old was he then?!

concern2

But why should I change my mindset, or any other PAP supporter for that matter? What is compelling about the WP that I should vote for them?

Ideas? Behind SDP. Moral courage? Pirate says LTK is just another Wiley politician.

What is is about the WP other than they have capitalized on discontent with the PAP to swing a GRC?

Why should PAP voters move when they firmly feel its the WP voters who have lost their marbles?

Vote for a co-driver? Puhleez......
          Voting opposition is not about having our problems resolved immediately, although the faster it can be done, the better. Voting in oppositions is voting for the future of our children, for an alternative voice in Parliament, for an alternative government should the current one fails or corrupts, a future where no ONE political party dominates, a future that calls for our action NOW, not when it is needed or when it is too late.

Like what we are doing with our kids now, regular follow-ups, setting our expectations, attentiveness, participation, knowing when to let go and when to hold back, knowing how to listen to both sides of the stories/rationale, giving the benefit of the doubt, learning what we do not know about and being opened to new ideas, squeezing out the truth when we identify foul and when our trust has been taken for granted....whatever it is, we care for our kids, we care about their future, so we need to start now.

Certainly there will be people who feel they are not ready to accept parties other than the incumbent. Means they are happy where they are, and that's fine with me. They don't mind the high COEs, the high cost of public housing, the ever-increasing transport fares, they feel it is very creative of the garmen to find ways to squeeze them while they continuing to enjoy high salary and high profits. 🀷 ζœ‰ηš„ζ„Ώζ‰“οΌŒζœ‰ηš„ζ„ΏζŒ¨οΌŒ ζˆ‘εˆζœ‰δ»€δΉˆεŠžζ³•οΌŸ 🀷

impetuous

This is what people mean by voting for the sake of opposition. If WP was sincere they would have place a better person for a candidate. Which they should have… Not someone who said she is contented to remain where she is and then later state that joining the election is a β€˜natural’ process. Looks like the co-driver needs to be careful who they choose to represent them. Maybe eventually she would also quit because its the β€˜natural’ decision.

• 3 Offline
              3Boys

Strparent:

3B, mai lidat la. they reaching out to a different group of people ma, sure have to use these topics and comments to stir the crowd la.

imho, the reason why they can garner votes is NOT that they are a fantastic political party with ideas, but they actually reach out to the lower income class of citizens, who are truly struggling and getting little help ( or no idea how to ) from the ruling party. IF u always kena step on, then someone stretch his hand come help you a bit, you dont appreciate meh ?
              Alternate govt ? not in my lifetime......

3B, its not just the agenda, I urge you to attend one of the WP rallies for yrself and see the mood, the atmosphere, and FEEL the people's sentiments. I dont know why, but there is a sense of patriotism ( mis-placed maybe ) inside when you hear the crowd. But I always want my kids to see the other side, so I bring them to attend a WP rally once a while, else they always live in their own world nia nia. just my personal view.

I have said a couple of times, it not the opposition MPs that scare me, it's the supporters of the opposition.

A big test of a party is their ability to take their followers where they may not want to go, and have the moral courage to do so.

Of all the supporters of the WP, what do you understand of their stand on various policy issues?

Recent property curbs, what's WP's stand? Agree? Don't agree? Any alternative?

Education policies, apart from generalities about stress, equalisation and so forth, what specifics do they have at this point? Foreigners in schools, tighten? Loosen?

COEs, what's the WP's position? SMRT, nationalise or don't nationalise, anybody know?

How about NS?

How about taxes? Will they be willing to stand to and say, we raise taxes to fund social programs (which I support, by the way)

What scares me is that one is willing to cast one's vote for an UNKNOWN entity.

Many don't even know what the WP's stand is (apart from watchdog) on many issues, which may even be diametrically opposed to their own, BUT, they would willingly cast their vote for them. With zero analysis.

The only imminization against thoughtless voting is if the party itself has a backbone and says, 'Hey, that's not on, I won't support that (or stay silent) just to keep your vote'.

So far this is the single thing they have failed to do. If they grow that backbone, even in lieu of specific policies, they will be much closer to getting my vote.

A vote for the future? If this is how we choose our political parties, we HAVE no future, but I've been saying that for over a year already.

Political rallies?

The more emotional and passionate they are, the more turned-off I get. I want substance on the stump, not rhetoric. For the record, I attended 5 rallies the last GE, PAP, WP, SDP x 2, and NPP, 4 of them with my kids.

I found them all tedious. Lots of fire and fury and smart alec retorts, but zero substance, even the PAP's was deliberately simplified. All boring.

Want a nationalistic, passionate speech to rouse the nation?

http://youtu.be/eGhdX1SI3KY

LTK is not Hitler and Pritam is not Goebbels, but you'll pardon me if I have an allergy to rhetoric. When the discussion gets to how cute LLL is with a teeth gap, is when I bail.

To concern2, perhaps you prefer the Singapore of tomorrow to be different from today, but if could be different in a way you may not have wished for.

impetuous

Strparent:

3B, mai lidat la. they reaching out to a different group of people ma, sure have to use these topics and comments to stir the crowd la.

imho, the reason why they can garner votes is NOT that they are a fantastic political party with ideas, but they actually reach out to the lower income class of citizens, who are truly struggling and getting little help ( or no idea how to ) from the ruling party. IF u always kena step on, then someone stretch his hand come help you a bit, you dont appreciate meh ?
                Alternate govt ? not in my lifetime......

3B, its not just the agenda, I urge you to attend one of the WP rallies for yrself and see the mood, the atmosphere, and FEEL the people's sentiments. I dont know why, but there is a sense of patriotism ( mis-placed maybe ) inside when you hear the crowd. But I always want my kids to see the other side, so I bring them to attend a WP rally once a while, else they always live in their own world nia nia. just my personal view.

I have said a couple of times, it not the opposition MPs that scare me, it's the supporters of the opposition.

A big test of a party is their ability to take their followers where they may not want to go, and have the moral courage to do so.

Of all the supporters of the WP, what do you understand of their stand on various policy issues?

Recent property curbs, what's WP's stand? Agree? Don't agree? Any alternative?

Education policies, apart from generalities about stress, equalisation and so forth, what specifics do they have at this point? Foreigners in schools, tighten? Loosen?

COEs, what's the WP's position? SMRT, nationalise or don't nationalise, anybody know?

How about NS?

How about taxes? Will they be willing to stand to and say, we raise taxes to fund social programs (which I support, by the way)

What scares me is that one is willing to cast one's vote for an UNKNOWN entity.

Many don't even know what the WP's stand is (apart from watchdog) on many issues, which may even be diametrically opposed to their own, BUT, they would willingly cast their vote for them. With zero analysis.

The only imminization against thoughtless voting is if the party itself has a backbone and says, 'Hey, that's not on, I won't support that (or stay silent) just to keep your vote'.

So far this is the single thing they have failed to do. If they grow that backbone, even in lieu of specific policies, they will be much closer to getting my vote.

A vote for the future? If this is how we choose our political parties, we HAVE no future, but I've been saying that for over a year already.

Political rallies?

The more emotional and passionate they are, the more turned-off I get. I want substance on the stump, not rhetoric. For the record, I attended 5 rallies the last GE, PAP, WP, SDP x 2, and NPP, 4 of them with my kids.

I found them all tedious. Lots of fire and fury and smart alec retorts, but zero substance, even the PAP's was deliberately simplified. All boring.

Want a nationalistic, passionate speech to rouse the nation?

[youtube=]
                http://youtu.be/eGhdX1SI3KY[/youtube]

LTK is not Hitler and Pritam is not Goebbels, but you'll pardon me if I have an allergy to rhetoric.

To concern2, perhaps you prefer the Singapore of tomorrow to be different from today, but if could be different in a way you may not have wished for.

:goodpost: Finally someone who exactly reads the manifesto of the different parties

• 3 Offline
                  3Boys

They don't mind the high COEs, the high cost of public housing, the ever-increasing transport fares, they feel it is very creative of the garmen to find ways to squeeze them while they continuing to enjoy high salary and high profits. 🀷 ζœ‰ηš„ζ„Ώζ‰“οΌŒζœ‰ηš„ζ„ΏζŒ¨οΌŒ ζˆ‘εˆζœ‰δ»€δΉˆεŠžζ³•οΌŸ 🀷

Are you willing to live with traffic congestion? If your loved one was in an ambulance stuck in rush hour traffic, what would you say?

Are public transport fares unaffordable for the majority? Do the minority who cannot afford get some form of community assistance?

Why don't you blame the US Federal Reserve's QE that's driving property bubbles all over Asia-Pac?

concern2

impetuous:
                    This is what people mean by voting for the sake of opposition. If WP was sincere they would have place a better person for a candidate. Which they should have.. Not someone who said she is contented to remain where she is and then later state that joining the election is a 'natural' process. Looks like the co-driver needs to be careful who they choose to represent them. Maybe eventually she would also quit because its the 'natural' decision.

Oh? When did she say that?

concern2

They don't mind the high COEs, the high cost of public housing, the ever-increasing transport fares, they feel it is very creative of the garmen to find ways to squeeze them while they continuing to enjoy high salary and high profits. 🀷 ζœ‰ηš„ζ„Ώζ‰“οΌŒζœ‰ηš„ζ„ΏζŒ¨οΌŒ ζˆ‘εˆζœ‰δ»€δΉˆεŠžζ³•οΌŸ 🀷

Are you willing to live with traffic congestion? If your loved one was in an ambulance stuck in rush hour traffic, what would you say?

Are public transport fares unaffordable for the majority? Do the minority who cannot afford get some form of community assistance?

Why don't you blame the US Federal Reserve's QE that's driving property bubbles all over Asia-Pac?

Blame? I thought I was expressing helplessness and how I am trying hard to swallow a remedy pill that is prescribed to me. Your questions thrown out to me is to tell me there are worse prescriptions if I don't take this one?

• 3 Offline
                        3Boys

[quote=\"concern2\"]They don't mind the high COEs, the high cost of public housing, the ever-increasing transport fares, they feel it is very creative of the garmen to find ways to squeeze them while they continuing to enjoy high salary and high profits. 🀷 ζœ‰ηš„ζ„Ώζ‰“οΌŒζœ‰ηš„ζ„ΏζŒ¨οΌŒ ζˆ‘εˆζœ‰δ»€δΉˆεŠžζ³•οΌŸ 🀷

Blame? I thought I was expressing helplessness and how I am trying hard to swallow a remedy pill that is prescribed to me. Your questions thrown out to me is to tell me there are worse prescriptions if I don't take this one?[/quote]If one understands the situation one would perhaps be a little more able to see if the g'ment were doing a reasonable job or not. And yes, the remedy could be far worse, and in the hands of an untrained doctor, perhaps kill the patient.

Do read my response to Strparent also.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 75 / 198

WordWizardsW
                        WordWizards