Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?
octoberbaby:
can they just screen these FT first? creating social problems.
Got screen what. You never hear WP rally meh? They screen out the husbands/wives of Singaporeans and the mothers/fathers of Singaporean babies. Then they give the PR/SC to I don't know who.
And this one I know personally - they also screen out the PRC boss of a multinational company whose Singapore subsidiary employs tens of Singaporeans (apparently because he has to fly here, there and everywhere to run his business so not stay in Singapore long enough), and then give the PR to the PRC who...
:mad: -
Think hor, qing qing cai cai give one lah.
Check the quality of people before giving out PR.
questionable one is ‘study mama’. Don’t think they can afford to stay home whole day with no income. Moonlighting job is very common. Look at one the shopping centres in chinatown basement. Full of spa, massage, etc
octoberbaby:
questionable one is 'study mama'. Don't think they can afford to stay home whole day with no income. Moonlighting job is very common. Look at one the shopping centres in chinatown basement. Full of spa, massage, etc
A friend of mine who hails from China told me those 'study mamas' are mostly divorced or separated...most hardly have skills but have to support their kids studying here. Some do part time as cleaners...but not many. -
‘study mama’ should be asked to pay non-refundable deposit $50,000 or more.
Those who wants to bring the whole generation, also pay non-refundable deposit for each person.
Imagine bring in 2M in years times $50,000 , rich…rich…can buy more MRT trains. -
octoberbaby:
What on earth is a non-refundable deposit? A deposit is refundable, if its not refundable, it's a fee.'study mama' should be asked to pay non-refundable deposit $50,000 or more.
Those who wants to bring the whole generation, also pay non-refundable deposit for each person.
Imagine bring in 2M in years times $50,000 , rich....rich.....can buy more MRT trains.
Real xenophobe aren't you? -
This topic of ‘study mamas’ has been discussed before…if we send our kids overseas, we have to ask ourselves if we have the means to do so. At most either parent accompany their kids for a week or 2 until they settle in and return to Singapore. Study mamas remain here…and there are many of them here.
What on earth is a non-refundable deposit? A deposit is refundable, if its not refundable, it's a fee.
Real xenophobe aren't you?
in 1982, all foreign students who came to Singapore to study were required to pay a 'deposit' to MOE $8000. This was not refundable until today.
in 1983, the 'deposit' was increased to $10,000. Not even refundable till today.
Not sure what MOE meant by 'deposit' at that time. -
It’s not whether we can squeeze in 7 million, 10 or even 12 million people in this small island, with proper planning, or course we can. If there’s a will, there’s a way. We can reclaim land, dig up graves and use up every inch of land or even build water city!
We can build more flats, extending up to the sky, expand transport networks, build more amenities, and even carve out areas where only the rich can afford to pay for the much needed spacious living, the likes of the Sentosa Cove.
However, is this type of environment conducive for living? People crowding everywhere, in parks, gardens, recreational facilities, where you can hardly find enough “space” to think, reflect and relax. Even our homes are built so small that people will feel rather catastrophic, especially when more children (this is encouraged, right?) come along. With everything planned and built, we would feel everything is so artificial, with no or very few nature surrounding us.
I anticipate such high density living would surely have some ill-effects on people’s mental and physical health. So yes, I do hope there IS a reasonable limit so that ordinary people like us can live in a more conducive environment. Stressful living environment created by space crunch CAN be avoided if we have a more holistic view when crafting policies, which do not just focus on numbers only. Or do we want an environment where only the elitists have the luxury of space? Frankly, I feel even the dead need some “breathing” space!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.