Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down
FQW:
You mean you're still young in 2011? :siam:[/quote]If you see his spirit you know he is still young now3Boys:
[quote=\"Mdm Koh\"]Right. Hard decisions like how to fix the opposition by terminating their software contracts? I try to empathize with our leaders and I hope that the party will change from within. However, it seems that my American friend may be right. They will only change when they lose power.
Mdm Koh, I will agree with you that their politics are DREADFUL. For the better part of my young adult life, I really bristled at their arrogance. It was the reason I voted against the MIW in 2011.
But the pendulum has swung too far, I won't be doing that again......
Most of my expat friend luurrvve the PAP actually.
Right from my school days I never understood democracy.
My retarded brain says if the party which has majority support wins, we know that the majority in a given group is average, so the party should be sort of average , no? Where is the wisdom in that?
Anyways like my teacher wisely told it is said in a Democracy there is a government of the people for the people by the people, and the unsaid part is the government is what the people deserve. That is why we need to choose wisely. -
They couldn't even if they tried. ICA have tightened up significantly.
Have your friends become citizens yet? Do they intend to take the Pledge?Mdm Koh:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]
Mdm Koh, I will agree with you that their politics are DREADFUL. For the better part of my young adult life, I really bristled at their arrogance. It was the reason I voted against the MIW in 2011.

And oh, have you missed all the vitriol being poured on 'new citizens' in this forum and others?
You feel like speaking up against it?[/quote]No sure if people still remember why we need immigrants
[pap's fault, what else :evil: ] -
Angelight:
OK, this is just a guess only harβ¦WP might feel boundaries may be re-drawn and PE may not be a SMC come next election. There may be intention to field other candidates, depending on the composition of candidates in the party at that point. Also, with the Aljunied crisis (AIM), they need more people to help out there and at the same time, let those party members with potential gain experience in running a constituency.From what I see from this by election, WP won not becos they have a better candidate than the other parties but rather they have a huge followers who vote by party brand instead of by the calibre of the candidate. Of cos, the rivervale plaza issue was also a main factor that cost the ruling party their vote.
Personally, I didn't feel LLL deserve to win becos after the last election when she lost in punggol east, she didnt stay on to 'walk the ground' but instead went over to aljunied, unlike SDA's Desmond Lim. I respect that guy for his determination and sincerity. Pity those qualities did not translate into more votes for him.
It will be interesting to see which wards WP is going to conquer in the next GE. I won't be surprised they will target Pasir Ris-Punggol and maybe another ward in the north east. -
Enjoy.
Why Low Thia Khiang is downplaying the WP win
http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Asian%2BOpinions/Story/A1Story20130127-398263/2.html
\"To many supporters of the Workers' Party (WP), its performance in the Punggol East by-election was a result beyond their wildest expectations.
Its candidate Lee Li Lian, 34, a sales trainer, won the single-seat ward with 54.5 per cent of the vote and a convincing margin over her main opponent, the ruling People's Action Party (PAP) rookie Koh Poh Koon.
Yet at the post-result press conference on Saturday, WP chief Low Thia Khiang had a sombre expression. The only substantial answer he gave during the 20-minute press conference was even more intriguing.
Instead of expressing joy over the big win or rubbing salt into the PAP's wounds when asked about the by-election's significance to WP's future growth, Mr Low replied that the party would assist \"whenever we can\" alongside the Government in improving policies and Singaporeans' lives.\"........... -
I went to Vietnam for a vacation with ds last yr. In Vietnam, the poor pple there are really poor (as in don't even have 3 proper meals/no education that kind). I honestly believe they'll give an arm for the things we take for granted here. DS said he felt lucky to be born in S'pore during that trip. I concur.
No. But all the old hurt and feelings resurfaced with LKY's infamous 'repent' comment.......
So on one hand, I'm grateful for the things the earlier batches of MIWs done for my generation. While on the other hand, when I see the earnest faces of the MIBs, I tell you it's dilemma, dilemma.
I figured the best way out is to be totally agnostic about politics. Save my energy to be a ksparent instead.
Wow, just found out I could click through the 'like' button for my posts! To those of you writing in comments and support, it is much appreciated, you know who you are......

Sun_2010:
If you see his spirit you know he is still young now
You mean you're still young in 2011? :siam:FQW:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]
Right from my school days I never understood democracy.
My retarded brain says if the party which has majority support wins, we know that the majority in a given group is average, so the party should be sort of average , no? Where is the wisdom in that?
Anyways like my teacher wisely told it is said in a Democracy there is a government of the people for the people by the people, and the unsaid part is the government is what the people deserve. That is why we need to choose wisely.[/quote]They are very very sure that they deserve the individual attention and assistance to solve their (personal) problems, even though much of the problems could be the result of themselves. :evil:
I encountered a couple, domestic violence going on weekly, police had to be called ever so often, each time 2 police petrol cars and 4 policemen were deployed, you know what the husband asked the MP in his weekly MTP secession--- ask the police NOT TO answer my xiao wife's request to come over to interfere!! Why you police got nothing else better to do??
[has he paused and asked himself can the police not doing their duty, not come to investigate?]
Of course he swing his vote to WP after the MP failed to stop the police to ignore his wife's calls.
See, how very the pai dang! :sad: -
Harlequin:
And guess how the wife and neighbours are voting also..........Wife: \"Wah liao, how come never arrest my xiao husband after so many calls??\" ....Neighbours: \"Why so disruptive, my children need to go school in the morning leh, MP cannot do anything meh?\"
Of course he swing his vote to WP after the MP failed to stop the police to ignore his wife's calls.
See, how very the pai dang! :sad:
Not the hubby fault, not the wife fault, but zhenghu's fault, because the couple too stress at work, cannot have children, cannot afford COE.... -
There are people complain that the parking lots drawn are too narrow (by about 8 inches) on their side of the block, which is nearer to their void deck compares to the opposite side's carpark lots. This is due to landscaping but it would automatically become pap's fault.

Harlequin:
No sure if people still remember why we need immigrants
They couldn't even if they tried. ICA have tightened up significantly.3Boys:
[quote=\"Mdm Koh\"]
Have your friends become citizens yet? Do they intend to take the Pledge?
And oh, have you missed all the vitriol being poured on 'new citizens' in this forum and others?
You feel like speaking up against it?
[pap's fault, what else :evil: ][/quote]Just have this funny feeling that when the FT/population target (KPI) was set, people at the next level just accepted without questioning (or questioned with no significant effects), and once target disseminated down, everyone scrambled to meet KPI so βluan luanβ approved PR, WP etc etcβ¦
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.