Pilot or Stewardess?

52 Posts 15 Posters 10.9k Views 1 Watching
      limlim

I guess. it’s fair to expect highly skilled economist, lawyers, engineers, CEOs, etc… plus a mixed of pple-oriented candidates in parliament…

But doctors…? where they come into the picture ar? If there is one quality that a doctor possess that is valuable to the electorate… I would guess it is compassion… not technical surgery skills…

And… to run the country effectively, it would need highly educated/skilled executive body…

I’m not too sure if technical competency for all MPs are so very important for the legislative body…? Maybe a few for the critical ministers? no need the whole parliament to be filled with highly educated doctors rite?

• 3 Offline
        3Boys

Ministers are like pilots..

MPs are like stewardess.

We need highly skilled pple to be the pilot.. (You can have a few pilots distributed among the GRCs to ensure they get in).. Are ministers appointed or elected?

I don't need a pilot to serve my personal in-flight needs.. a stewardess is more preferred :evil: If necessary, she can convey my concerns to the pilot.. 😉
        According to some school of thought, PE cannot elect someone who is too highflying. Too smart, too busy, cannot, must be of the laobaixing.

Strparent

3B,

thank u for yr analogy. I agree with you.

the thing is, nowadays MIW mainly focus on looking to recruit potential pilots, and started neglecting the need for stewards and stewardesses.

So u have a plane with good pilots and a bunch of pilot wannabes on board. Nobody want to do the stewardess duties. Then how ?

Would u fly on a plane with all pilots and no stewards everytime ?

so, if WP provides steward service on some of the planes who are flown by these good pilots, u dont wan meh ? same fare, same good pilot.

It’s not about ONLY wanting the local issues over the national issues. The situation is that many stewards all dream to be pilots and neglect their duties almost totally, only walking every 5 hrs down the aisle giving hot towels and nothing else.

Please do not think we are so blinkered minded as to only focus on the small issues. So many elderly neglected and collecting carton boxes and empty cans daily in a first world country IS not morally correct.

• 3 Offline
            3Boys

Strparent:

I have lesser qualms withe the newer batch of MIW candidates, given time and compassion, I am sure PAP can be more effective in the future.
            They need to weed out the some of the jia liao bee first , previously deployed simply due to meritocracy, imho
            I'm not sure pirate or limlim would agree with you.

• 3 Offline
              3Boys

Strparent:
              3B,

thank u for yr analogy. I agree with you.

the thing is, nowadays MIW mainly focus on looking to recruit potential pilots, and started neglecting the need for stewards and stewardesses.

So u have a plane with good pilots and a bunch of pilot wannabes on board. Nobody want to do the stewardess duties. Then how ?

Would u fly on a plane with all pilots and no stewards everytime ?

so, if WP provides steward service on some of the planes who are flown by these good pilots, u dont wan meh ? same fare, same good pilot.

It's not about ONLY wanting the local issues over the national issues. The situation is that many stewards all dream to be pilots and neglect their duties almost totally, only walking every 5 hrs down the aisle giving hot towels and nothing else.

Please do not think we are so blinkered minded as to only focus on the small issues. So many elderly neglected and collecting carton boxes and empty cans daily in a first world country IS not morally correct.
              I know you do. The next time you are in the mix, when people are yelling down highly qualified candidates as being too detached, I am holding you to be the reasonable voice to push back and say, \"Hang on, this ain't right.\"

sunflower

Strparent:
                I have lesser qualms withe the newer batch of MIW candidates, given time and compassion, I am sure PAP can be more effective in the future.

They need to weed out the some of the jia liao bee first , previously deployed simply due to meritocracy, imho
                Agree with you on this.

pirate

Ministers are not like pilots. The civil servants are the pilots. Ministers are like the :censored: airline executives on the ground telling the pilots how to fly their planes. And if the plane does kaboosh, he/she may lose his job, but at least he/she was not on the plane.

Some ministers may be qualified pilots, but the majority don't know how to fly a plane any more than the stewardess. Since when does a medical doctor know more about town planning than a town planner?

limlim

Ministers are like pilots..

MPs are like stewardess.

We need highly skilled pple to be the pilot.. (You can have a few pilots distributed among the GRCs to ensure they get in).. Are ministers appointed or elected?

I don't need a pilot to serve my personal in-flight needs.. a stewardess is more preferred :evil: If necessary, she can convey my concerns to the pilot.. 😉

According to some school of thought, PE cannot elect someone who is too highflying. Too smart, too busy, cannot, must be of the laobaixing.

\"Cannot be\" high flying is a bit unreasonable lah..

I would say.. \"not necessarily\" high flying.. but the \"too busy\" part.. i tend to agree lor.... should not be \"too busy\" lah.. but if they somehow got extraordinary talent and can manage well.. why not? :evil:

• 3 Offline
                      3Boys

pirate:
                      Ministers are not like pilots. The civil servants are the pilots. Ministers are like the :censored: airline executives on the ground telling the pilots how to fly their planes. And if the plane does kaboosh, he/she may lose his job, but at least he/she was not on the plane.

Some ministers may be qualified pilots, but the majority don't know how to fly a plane any more than the stewardess. Since when does a medical doctor know more about town planning than a town planner?
                      You watched too much 'Yes Minister' on the BBC. (And if you haven't, I highly recommend it)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yes_Minister

You forget that although our system is Westminster in appearance, the actual execution is far different from how it is in the UK and other jurisdictions. Our ministers are far more into policy details than is typical for politicians elsewhere.

The ministers are MOST definitely the pilots in our context, quite often they outlast the perm secs even.

limlim

The ministers are MOST definitely the pilots in our context, quite often they outlast the perm secs even.
                        You've said it.. ministers.. Not MPs..

We don't need a cabinet all ministers and no \"purely\" MPs ya......? :evil:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 6

FranceeF
                        Francee