Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down

2.0k Posts 114 Posters 416.2k Views 1 Watching
    • Lynn2L Offline
      Lynn2

Passenger plane doesnt fly auto when instruments failed or there is an uncalled situation.

That is why to date, pilots are still needed onboard.

Sun_2010:

How many passenger planes fly auto ?

3B , let me help you , you can use this smiley :torchme:

Limlim, the construction workers working right opposite where I sit, work very very hard, I can tell, you a fraction of my pay. And my helper is hardworking than me. But both have far less responsibility ( jobwise).

It is a minor irritation if the airhostess spills some coffee or serves me the wrong drink. But I would be far far more affected if my pilot messes.

which passenger plane don't fly auto?

You expect the pilot to steer the plane all the way? I really doubt so....

I got say cannot take pilot for granted wor....

And of coz every plane needs pilots..

mummy so kiasu

Strparent:

Actually many voters are like that. All about me me me. \"I want to meet MP, I want to complain\".

Our politicians are too accessible, give rise to entitlement culture.

is that what u really think ?

I dont deny that there are ppl like that, but mostly they are genuinely in need of assistance to rescue them from falling further into the abyss. Seriously, hope more people will actually go down and witness for themselves before making these generalised comments .

Agree with Strparent. There are still people who really in need of help & people who are struggling to make ends meet. I think 3Boys should volunteer to help out in the MTP sessions in order to find out more.

Mdm Koh

mum_sugoku:

I share your sentiment.

In fact LTK had also, in his rally speech, lamented something similar.. and I believe it struck a chord with the audience, prompting many voters to switch camp to WP..

http://wp.sg/2013/01/23-jan-2013-punggol-east-by-election-rally-speech-by-low-thia-khiang/[quote]..我国人民目前面对高生活成本,政府的思维是个关键。只要是政府少赚的,就等于是津贴,PAP的精英们甚至发明了“市场津贴”。比如说,现在新建的政府组屋,政府认为在市场上可以卖50万,政府定价30万卖给你,它就算是津贴了你20万。还有,政府少赚钱,也算是津贴。比如最近政府把好些工业用途的厂房卖给私人企业经营,这间公司是丰树(Mapletree),接着这间公司就根据市场可支撑的租金价格提高租金,许多受影响的小商家都叫苦连天。你们知道谁是老板吗?(Mapletree 是100% 由政府公司淡马锡控股所拥有。)

各位,本来政府有效管理国家的资产,并使国家的资产可以增值是正确的作法,但当一个政府把人民日常生活所需的基本公共服务和会影响人民生活费的服务和设施都商业化,以营利为目标,那就会造成人民的生活负担越来越重。经济情况好,各种收费要涨价,因为工人的薪金提高,人力成本增加。经济不好,公司的盈利减少, 也要涨价,因为生意不佳造成运作成本提高。结果是受薪阶级的收入总是永远追不上各种不断提高的收费。

我这些话不是现在才讲的,在国会里也苦口婆心说了许多年,但政府当成耳边风。2011年大选,阿裕尼的选民敲醒了行动党,我希望行动党好好检讨如何降低人民生活的压力。

年纪比较大的,关心政治的国人就会知道,现在的PAP和以前的PAP 不一样了。他们告诉我,PAP 政府现在什么都讲钱,斤斤计较,平时与民争利,大选时就以各种利益引诱选民,使新加坡成为一个高度自私与功利主义的社会。PAP政府只有在大选的时候才跟你讲人情。

我刚刚踏入政坛的时候,总理还是李光耀先生。我中选的时候是吴作栋当总理,现在是李显龙总理。我也多多少少也看到了行动党的变化。现在的行动党和以前李光耀时代的行动党已经有很大的不同。..
          [/quote]mum_sugoku, thanks for sharing that. 😄

3Boys, what vitriol were you referring to? I think we have to make a distinction between people who are xenophobic and people who are frustrated by the government's immigration policies.

As for the hiring of domestic helpers and unwillingness to give them a day off, I think the root of the problem is that Singaporeans are spending so much time at work that they have become unsure of how to manage their families without any help.

If I had to spend long hours at work every weekday and was reliant on my maid to handle the household chores and kids, come the weekend, I would also feel at a loss if the maid goes for her day off.

I know that many mummies here have maids at home. Perhaps if we have more pro-family policies in Singapore and more companies allow for flexi-work arrangements, we may not even need maids in the first place (except for cases where they are really needed for caregiving of the elderly).

• 3 Offline
            3Boys

Mdm Koh:

mum_sugoku, thanks for sharing that. 😄

3Boys, what vitriol were you referring to? I think we have to make a distinction between people who are xenophobic and people who are frustrated by the government's immigration policies.

As for the hiring of domestic helpers and unwillingness to give them a day off, I think the root of the problem is that Singaporeans are spending so much time at work that they have become unsure of how to manage their families without any help.

If I had to spend long hours at work every weekday and was reliant on my maid to handle the household chores and kids, come the weekend, I would also feel at a loss if the maid goes for her day off.

I know that many mummies here have maids at home. Perhaps if we have more pro-family policies in Singapore and more companies allow for flexi-work arrangements, we may not even need maids in the first place (except for cases where they are really needed for caregiving of the elderly).
            Seems like a lot of excuses for a lot of bad behaviours.

I forgot, it's never the citizens fault, it's always the zhenghu......

Mdm Koh

Mdm Koh:

Well... expected you to say that. Let's put it this way, it's not productive to blame either the government or the people without suggesting alternative solutions. :roll:

carilyn

Not sure if I’m a out of topic.

The constituency I was staying previously had 2 MPs who are now ministers for departments that are always making unpopular policies.
                One of my relatives has some problems so she asked me to go with to see the then MP. The moment we saw him, he was all smiling, but really, really, I just dun like that smile coz it has no sincerity at all. True enough, when my relative made the request for help, he just "oh, oh, ok, ok, I’ll write in to that department". Mr MP is such a busy man and yet he sounds so convincing he can help that my relative left happily, full of hope. When letter was cc to us, it was just a standard letter. Of coz no results.
                We went to see the 2nd MP later for another problem. The MP was busy running thru some files and he did not smile like the 1st MP when we stepped in. However, unlike the 1st MP, he was intensely listening to our problem. Tho he was not familiar with the dept that we were having problem at that time, he explained to us the root of the problem and why it was not easy to resolve the problem. He gave us some advices which he think may help. When the letter was cc to us, unlike the 1st letter sent by the other MP, it was not the standard type, but with explanations and request for help on how to solve the problems.
                The problem was not solved, but we are always thankful to him for his sincerity.
                Now both of them are MPs, the 1st ex MP is just behaving exactly like how he was when he was a MP. Just taiji-ing and not doing much ( not that he can resolve the problem his department is facing, but he should at least come out from his ivory tower and see the problem himself). The 2nd ex MP, on the other hand, tho also in an unpopular dept and is always criticize for being unable to resolve any problems, goes down to the field personally to experience the problems commoners are facing.
                Ministers must be equipped with enough qualifications, but that is not enough if they dun have the sincerity to resolve problems. If they have tried ( of coz in the best interest of the country and not just to please some individuals for politics purpose) but failed, at least they have done their duty. On the other hand, if the policies is just to satisfy a group so that they dun get boot out from the political field, then, in my opinion, they do not meet the requirement of. Good minister.
                Dun ask me what suggestions I can give to recruit these ideal ministers. I dun know.

winchester

carilyn:

We went to see the 2nd MP later for another problem. The MP was busy running thru some files and he did not smile like the 1st MP when we stepped in. However, unlike the 1st MP, he was intensely listening to our problem. Tho he was not familiar with the dept that we were having problem at that time, he explained to us the root of the problem and why it was not easy to resolve the problem. He gave us some advices which he think may help. When the letter was cc to us, unlike the 1st letter sent by the other MP, it was not the standard type, but with explanations and request for help on how to solve the problems.
                  The problem was not solved, but we are always thankful to him for his sincerity.
                  say who leh. the good and bad ones 🙂 transport and housing?

rains

Mdm Koh:

3Boys,

Your view is too one-sided. Everything that others highlight, you dismiss it as mindless and trivial complaints. I think the pilot and stewardess analogy is hardly an accurate one. Pilots only need to ensure the safety of the passengers. Why should I care if he can appeal to my basic needs? An MP is someone who should serve the needs of the people by ensuring that the country is run well. If the cost of living is suffocating the people while the MP is enjoying the high life, then something is wrong.

You can say what you like about your vote, but who knows who you really voted for? I find it hard to believe that you had cast in the opposite direction of your conviction.

By election is over.

Thanks (or no thanks) to Michael Palmer, PAP lost another seat.
                      Although Punggol East is not a big constituency, it is significant enough for the big guns to come out to help Dr Koh campaign.

Enough has been said. I hope we do not have to see anymore by-elections till 2016.

• 3 Offline
                        3Boys

rains:

[quote=\"Mdm Koh\"]

3Boys,

Your view is too one-sided. Everything that others highlight, you dismiss it as mindless and trivial complaints. I think the pilot and stewardess analogy is hardly an accurate one. Pilots only need to ensure the safety of the passengers. Why should I care if he can appeal to my basic needs? An MP is someone who should serve the needs of the people by ensuring that the country is run well. If the cost of living is suffocating the people while the MP is enjoying the high life, then something is wrong.

You can say what you like about your vote, but who knows who you really voted for? I find it hard to believe that you had cast in the opposite direction of your conviction.[/quote]You can choose to believe whatever you choose to believe. I have written at length about my choice in another thread back in 2011, before the GE ballot, to the shock of many forumers.

My conviction is that the g'ment does a good job, despite the circumstances, and that people don't understand how hard it is to please everyone, and the necessity for hard trade-offs.

My conviction is also that the MIW plays dirty politics, which I detest.

They are 2 separate things and are not contradictory.

In my younger days, before I started working and developing a more sophisticated understanding of how the world works, the second issue was to the fore, I could not stand the MIW.

Now that I've grown up, I begin to see things in a different light. There are many redeeming features of the MIW policies, despite their awful politics. But LKY's comments about Aljunied did it for me. Unlike many voters, I think the current batch are far more suited to 'proper' political leadership in the new era than he ever was.

At any point in time, one may feel one way about one thing, then some other factors may come into it.

If you are cheering the 10+% swing in votes in PE (presumably MIW voters who switched camps), then why do you begrudge me the right to change MY mind?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 169 / 198