Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down
wonderm:
Yah. If all these foreign people with their newly minted US$, euro and yen want to come here and buy up our crown jewels, better make them pay through the nose. :evil:
Think you got it the other way round. Keeping S$ high actually hurts our economic growth as it hurts export, but high S$ helps to control runaway inflation because we import a lot of things. MAS needs to strike a balance, and at the moment it worries more about inflation than hurting exports, hence the high S$. -
sinoboy:
Boss say if not happy, 2 million+ FT waiting at the door to replace me at half the cost wor. :rotflmao: He say that if he knew that I'm so troublesome, he would hire someone who is single (no child care leave), ugly (so not going to get married) and female (no reservist). {ok ok, I made all that up.}
Then you beg your boss lah.
Send him/her messages say luvly things. Say you are local talent got kids in IP school pay high school fees plus tuition fees, got parents all living together with you so need to pay for a big property, you need to drive a car to be on time for work because mrt quite crowded and breakdown often. If you need to operate in Singapore can't siam all this staff costs one right? So how much is my increment? 
wonderm:
Think you got it the other way round. Keeping S$ high actually hurts our economic growth as it hurts export, but high S$ helps to control runaway inflation because we import a lot of things. MAS needs to strike a balance, and at the moment it worries more about inflation than hurting exports, hence the high S$.[/quote]Yup you are probably right. It helps keep inflation in check and it makes foreign acquisition cheaper too. I don't exactly know which one is priority. Paiseh. :scratchhead:
When inflation was high then interest rate was also high. Now inflation high interest rate is still low only our S$ high so more money come here and make inflation higher. Can't imagine if one day interest rate here goes very high. :scared:sinoboy:
[quote=\"Irrelevant\"]
But hor, why the last time (like the 80s & 90s) inflation not as high wor? -
sinoboy:
Yup you are probably right. It helps keep inflation in check and it makes foreign acquisition cheaper too. I don't exactly know which one is priority. Paiseh. :scratchhead:[/quote]I also very paiseh, cos i really don't understand why you said with the high S$ can made foreign acquisition cheaper.
Think you got it the other way round. Keeping S$ high actually hurts our economic growth as it hurts export, but high S$ helps to control runaway inflation because we import a lot of things. MAS needs to strike a balance, and at the moment it worries more about inflation than hurting exports, hence the high S$.wonderm:
[quote=\"sinoboy\"]
When inflation was high then interest rate was also high. Now inflation high interest rate is still low only our S$ high so more money come here and make inflation higher. Can't imagine if one day interest rate here goes very high. :scared: -
Harlequin:
I also very paiseh, cos i really don't understand why you said with the high S$ can made foreign acquisition cheaper.
Maybe he meant when we go and buy up stuff overseas it will be cheaper. -
@Sinoboy: To kill the foreign interest must we kill ourselves first?
Thailand 18% interest, but foreign $$ hardly even want to make a transit there.
pirate:
Ya buy or invest. Stuff like companies and banks would appear cheaper?Harlequin:
I also very paiseh, cos i really don't understand why you said with the high S$ can made foreign acquisition cheaper.
Maybe he meant when we go and buy up stuff overseas it will be cheaper.
Isn't the below policy workable to provide sufficient supply of resale HDB flats so that HDB flat prices will not go out of control?
\"The problem is insufficient HDB flats for majority, MND allows people to retain HDB flat after buying private properties now. They should go back to good old day where these HDB up-grader must sell their HDB flat within 6 months after buying their private property so that they do not hog the HDB flat and create under supply of resale HDB flat.\"
Remember, above policy was in force previously in the 199x-200x. At that time, that HDB flats prices are stable and we know it will never go high because of this policy. Given what we know, Are you now saying that at that time that Minister of National Development created the above policy that is totally useless? :yikes:
Now, back to my next statement:
\"They should concentrate on their efforts on providing sufficient HDB flats for majority\"
We know the spiral effect: Once resale HDB flat prices drop, new HDB flats will sure have to drop because Govt already said the new HDB flats are pegged to resale HDB flats prices. They should focus their effort on increasing the supply of new HDB flats quickly (rather than ask citizens to wait 3-4 years for their new BTO HDB flats), rather than thinking about how to milk extra revenue via ABSD etc from private properties. You think people don't know they did not stay focused on solving the over-priced and under-supply HDB flats problem? Otherwise why MND still can find time thinking about how to milk extra revenue from ABSD, SSD and put them into good excuse as \"cooling measures\" etc rather than having solved the HDB flats problem?
Next,
\"They should concentrate on their efforts on providing sufficient HDB flats for majority and leave the private property market alone as the old saying those rich people can take care of themselves. Let that be a free market and make people to work hard to achieve to own private property. Why they impose ABSD on Rich foreigner, let them pay premium for high end private property since we are selling them space in the air. This will benefit citizen.\"
The above ABSD appears to be policy designed to collect extra revenue, at the expense of local property owners, and in the process also benefiting foreigners. The ABSD policy will hit private property prices, where many Singaporeans hold either 1 HDB flat and 1 or more private properties, where more than 90% of Singaporeans own their properties. Given the draconian much lower Loan-to-valuation and loan tenure, many citizens may need to sell to foreigners (since many locals will be priced out), especially the high-end private properties where mostly only foreigners can afford, and foreigners will depress their offer price since they will deduct the ABSD amount from their offer price. So, isn't the ABSD cooling measures hit the local Singaporeans hard while benefiting the govt and foreigners?
Given all the above, is it any wonder they lose Punggol East by-election by a wide margin? :slapshead:3Boys:
Can you explain how the paragraph in blue above translates into a workable policy without creating all sorts of internal contradictions?JannettLee:
What I wrote that are contradicting myself left right and centre?
What serious misperceptions about the intent and implementation of the housing policies I have?
It is meaningless to make sweeping statements without elaborating.
[quote=\"JannettLee\"]They should concentrate on their efforts on providing sufficient HDB flats for majority and leave the private property market alone as the old saying those rich people can take care of themselves. Let that be a free market and make people to work hard to achieve to own private property. Why they impose ABSD on Rich foreigner, let them pay premium for high end private property since we are selling them space in the air. This will benefit citizen.
The problem is insufficient HDB flats for majority, MND allows people to retain HDB flat after buying private properties now. They should go back to good old day where these up-grader must sell their HDB flat within 6 months after buying their private property so that they do not hog the HDB flat and create under supply of resale HDB flat. Instead of tackling this problem, they implemented cooling off measures!3Boys:
Janett, you are contradicting yourself left right and centre. Seriously, you have serious misperceptions about the intent and implementation of the housing policies.
In another thread, you say it's now difficult for HDB upgraders to move on to condo. If one does place a cap on condo prices (via ABSD, for instance), how does the condo price stay affordable?
Does the ABSD on foreigners not translate into a 'premium', in terms of tax revenues for the g'ment that can be deployed for other uses? If they want to buy the property despite the ABSD, I say, power to them. And it caps the prices of condos for locals.
Just some examples of an internal contradiction, there are others......[/quote] -
wow so many nice photos here
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151447436571383.544745.14440041382&type=1
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.