Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?
Some comic relief to lighten the atmosphere here...
There was a parody of Count on me Singapore on 9GAG Singapore's FB page...
Went something like that... replacing the words \"We can achieve, we can achieve\" with
\"We can be squeezed, we can be squeezed\"... :faint: -
sunflower:
It is unfair to fund this kind of investment through tax because there is a huge profit after the land is created. just consider the number of condos that can be built with 50% increased land area, the value is huge over the price paid for the sands.
Oh yes! Forgot one more point. Be prepared for whatever tax increase if Singapore is to buy sand/soil from other countries for your suggested huge project.
ponyo:
there's another issue I am concerned with: with 7 million or 6.9 million by 2030, how are we going to ensure we can cope with the additional energy consumption? Next whitepaper -- Nuclear power?
Can put wind turbines on top of each HDB block in the future. Very the windy up there. :rotflmao: -
Dora1:
Thermal scanners at MRT Stations? :evil:
I think most people in SG is not aware that flu can be deadly. The Spainish Flu was one of the most deadly epidemic in man kind history. And to control epidemics, it's not just hospitals, it's also containment etc. Luckily Sars hit SG before the influx of immigrants, if not I'm seriously not sure how we are going to control the situation. Imagine 1 SARS super spreader on mrt in the morning :scared: -
pirate:
No space on top of HDB. Got water tanks and sometimes double up as pool and jacuzzi for swimming and suntan. But nowsadays suntan might be a problem after they plan to install solar panels.ponyo:
there's another issue I am concerned with: with 7 million or 6.9 million by 2030, how are we going to ensure we can cope with the additional energy consumption? Next whitepaper -- Nuclear power?
Can put wind turbines on top of each HDB block in the future. Very the windy up there. :rotflmao:
sinoboy:
No space on top of HDB. Got water tanks and sometimes double up as pool and jacuzzi for swimming and suntan. But nowsadays suntan might be a problem after they plan to install solar panels.pirate:
[quote=\"ponyo\"]there's another issue I am concerned with: with 7 million or 6.9 million by 2030, how are we going to ensure we can cope with the additional energy consumption? Next whitepaper -- Nuclear power?
Can put wind turbines on top of each HDB block in the future. Very the windy up there. :rotflmao:
[/quote]No lah. Sky parks on top of the water tanks, which will also serve as ponds and water features in the sky park. Then wind turbines on top of sky parks. Solar panels on side walls facing afternoon sun. Swimming pool goes in the basement. Suntan use ultraviolet lamps. But HDB blocks have swimming pool quite an improvement from current ones liao.
don’t understand what the fury and noise is all about for the eventual 6.9 million people
sooner or later we will reach there, target or no target, worst scenario or not, if not 2030, may be 2040 or 2050
is better that the power-to-be plan and cater for it than to pretend it will not happen and let the squeeze continue
for those who think the PAP is just to get more votes via the new citizens (and not everyone of the population increase is a citizen btw), think again! knowing the hue and cry from the ground, they know full well the negative perceptions and this is a vote loser than a vote gainer, and yet they still think it is right to bring it out and bring it up now than not to do anything - they are not so foolish
many of you in the SMEs are laughing secretly in view of the increased business opportunities catering to the demands and needs of a larger population than a ageing and dying population
and many of you would be secretly heaving a sigh of relief for more younger people to shoulder the economic responsibility of looking after the aged and paying the cost of it -
Dora1:
I think most people in SG is not aware that flu can be deadly. The Spainish Flu was one of the most deadly epidemic in man kind history. And to control epidemics, it's not just hospitals, it's also containment etc. Luckily Sars hit SG before the influx of immigrants, if not I'm seriously not sure how we are going to control the situation. Imagine 1 SARS super spreader on mrt in the morning :scared:[/quote]Oh yes, am aware that there are deadly flu virus around. Agree with you that most Singaporeans will find flu virus relatively mild, so me stop short of further elaborations on that. The reason why I mentioned “deadly disease” (may be known or still to be discovered), sounds more serious.
If flu still not too bad. What I'm worried is some contagious and deadly disease. So yeah, as I've mentioned in one of my earlier posts, hospitals need to be prepared.sunflower:
[quote=\"Dora1\"]Singapore has the highest risk of developing flu pandemics. The previous time the study was released in 2009, SG was not even in the top 10. According to the study countries like UK who is 2nd on the list of risk, are also on the top 10 list of having the infrastructure to cope in case an epidemic develops. SG has the highest risk but is not on the top 10 list of having the ability to cope. Now we still want 6.5 million :skeptical:
http://maplecroft.com/about/news/influenza_pandemic_risk_index.html
Yah, agree that definitely not only hospitals need to have plan B, community engagement etc will also be needed. Just too lazy to repeat what I've mentioned in my earlier post (appended below) lah.sunflower:
I’ve a concern that with high population density, the spread of disease causing epidemic is fairly easy. Hospitals and community need to have contingency plans for that.
Also, Singapore needs to ensure there is enough resources (either imported but best can innovate with technology) such as adequate food and water supply, able to generate enough power (Singapore so hot, most will be using air-con), and have measures in place to control air-pollution caused by industries and cars (although they say reduce car numbers, on average will still be more than now lah). -
Moonsun55:
OK, got you. If we calculate livable area, then HK population density much higher. Anyway, the main crux of my post is to compare future Singapore and current Shanghai, both having similar population density.You quoted HK figure is wrong because the figure is divided by total land area & not total liveable area (HK has many hilly areas not conducive to be residential estates), hence HK density is definitely much higher than Singapore.
sunflower:
The population density of Singapore in 2012 was approximately 7793 people/sqkm, and for Hong Kong, it was 6787 people/sqkm.
http://www.photius.com/rankings/geography/population_density_persons_per_sq_km_2012_0.html
For Shanghai, it was 9589 people/sqkm in 2012.
http://www.ecns.cn/2012/08-16/22079.shtml
If I remember correctly, TCH said something like by 2030, Singapore’s population density should be about 10,000 people/sqkm (think it was in the news). Anyway, it'll be quite comparable to the population density in Shanghai now. Do we anticipate ourselves living in a crowded but vibrant city in future that is similar to the current Shanghai? -
WeiHan:
Aiyah, fair or not, we also can’t choose.
It is unfair to fund this kind of investment through tax because there is a huge profit after the land is created. just consider the number of condos that can be built with 50% increased land area, the value is huge over the price paid for the sands.sunflower:
Oh yes! Forgot one more point. Be prepared for whatever tax increase if Singapore is to buy sand/soil from other countries for your suggested huge project.
Anyway, land sale only after land filled, so before that, still need to come out with cost first. Am just citing one POSSIBLE way that the gahmen can get money nia.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.