Soup, glorious soup...

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    454 Posts 55 Posters 149.7k Views 1 Watching

Time for me to make soup..

Andaiz

Time for me to make soup..
        time to delegate to hubs liao lah...since he volunteered to try the ABC recipe published.... šŸ˜‰

Wish i cud.. :roll:

He's at work. šŸ˜›

Mac Donalds anyone?

Andaiz

Wish i cud.. :roll:

He's at work. šŸ˜›

Mac Donalds anyone?
            man, that's what I'm thinking of right now...no mood to work but still in office leh!

Half day lor. :politebleah: Urgent leave...

Urgent lazy day leave... and blame Monday
              blues for that too! :lol:

Andaiz

Half day lor. :politebleah: Urgent leave...

Urgent lazy day leave... and blame Monday
                blues for that too! :lol:
                Heee, strange that you mentioned it...was due to go on half day on Monday anyway...to ready house for DH's department party at my place.
                Took last 2 days off to sleep off the party, cut hair, then spend time with kids before the end of the year :!:

Today, going back to work...hopefully half day again šŸ˜‰ (actually boh hua to take full day leave but work half day :? )

• 1 Offline
                  18dotdot

kiasimom:
                  I am preparing papaya pork ribs soup tonight!

Ingredients:
                  1 x 500g papaya
                  500g of spareribs
                  30g white fungus
                  1 small carrot
                  20g ginger slices
                  1800 ml of water
                  Seasonings:
                  Some salt

Method:
                  1. Skin, de-seed and cut papaya into cubes
                  2. Soak white fungus in water till soften, remove the tough bits
                  3. Cut carrot into cubes
                  4. Bring 1800ml of water in a pot to boil, add all ingredients and boil again over high heat. Turn to medium heat and continue to cook for about 1 hour. Add salt to taste and turn off heat.

P.S: Choose a ripe papaya when making this soup.

Happy boiling šŸ™‚

The soup is great! Try out this soup and the chicken feet and peanuts soup last night using your recipes and having praises from my picky eaters..

Just some changes to the portion and cooking methods I made cos using a double cooker...(that why I cook 2 soups at one time).
                  So great.. going to try out more.. keep the recipe coming..

A good soup beats anything. Just a yummy nice home-cooked soup with a bowl of rice is sufficient for me. Can keep young somemore. šŸ˜‰

duriz

A good soup beats anything. Just a yummy nice home-cooked soup with a bowl of rice is sufficient for me. Can keep young somemore. šŸ˜‰

I cannot agree more šŸ˜„

CJS

Poonie:
                        kiasimom:

I use pork bone and dried scallop for the soup base.

Scrape out the seed of sharkfin melon, peel the skin. Put it to boil till it becomes very very soft.
                        Use a stirrer to stir and the flesh of the melon will come off and looks like sharkfin.
                        I add wolfberry to the soup.
                        I use a slow cooker.

Ta da, the soup is ready šŸ™‚

Any tip on how to scrape out the flesh easily? There are just too many seeds?

My MIL just peel the skin but does not remove the seeds. She cook the melon with seeds in. After boiling for 2-3 hours, most of the seeds will detach and sink to the bottom of the pot.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 8 / 46