Catholic High School
Hi Phankao.. Long time no 'see' you at KSP.. How have you been? How is your DS doing at CHS? He should be in Sec-2 this year..
That's bc they set the affiliated COP.
Non-affiliated COP cannot differ too much from other years bc seriously, how many more kids with high 250s-260s can there be. Surely most would still go to RI/HCI/NUSH and so CHS would still be receiving roughly the same type of students as before, just that now they qualify for IP and don't need to do O-levels.
the good thing about being in a dual-track school is that, if really the child cannot cope in the end in IP, can move to O-level track. Likewise, if the child is a late developer, can move to IP track at Sec 3. This is what is practised all these years at ACS(I) which was previously the only Dual-Track IP/O-lvl school.
Wow, COP for affiliation was 240 last year? I remember it was 230 in 2011 (DS1's psle year), right? I have been wondering why CHS needs to raise its Affiliation COP for O Levels track, just because it also offers IP.. No relationship or clash between the two, right?
Also heard that CHS no longer accepts DSA via aesthetics (CO, Choir etc).. Is it true? Exploring options for DS2, who is in P5 and with CHS(P) Choir.. -
firefly38:
Hi, firefly38. I've ben around KSP leh. But yeah, with 3 kids that I'm mostly handsoff now, there isnt' all that many topics that interest me as much. After next year, youngest would be in CHS - then I'll have even more free time! ;D
Hi Phankao.. Long time no 'see' you at KSP.. How have you been? How is your DS doing at CHS? He should be in Sec-2 this year..
Wow, COP for affiliation was 240 last year? I remember it was 230 in 2011 (DS1's psle year), right? I have been wondering why CHS needs to raise its Affiliation COP for O Levels track, just because it also offers IP.. No relationship or clash between the two, right?
Also heard that CHS no longer accepts DSA via aesthetics (CO, Choir etc).. Is it true? Exploring options for DS2, who is in P5 and with CHS(P) Choir..
I dunno what's Mr Lee's thinking about raising the affiliated COP. I wonder what is the affiliated COP for SCGS and SNGS. Anyone knows?
And yes, last year's DSA was only for 2 main domains - IP & Sports. Actually I've not ever seen DSA-choir? So my son who's now in sec 2 was among the last batch to be accepted under DSA for CCAs (other than sports) during their p6 year 2011.
That sec 2 boy is managing lah. Not last boy in cohort happy liao. Thankfully he managed to leave a comfortable cushion at the bottom of the cohort so he doesn't fall there. He nearly hit bottom of class last year, but non-affiliated boy cheated and ended up last in class. -
firefly38:
Yes, there is a relationship between the 2 of them. The main reason is due to the places for O level track decreased. The no. of places offered for O level has been decreased to 155, therefore the COP went up. 175 places has been reserved for IP track.
Wow, COP for affiliation was 240 last year? I remember it was 230 in 2011 (DS1's psle year), right? I have been wondering why CHS needs to raise its Affiliation COP for O Levels track, just because it also offers IP.. No relationship or clash bIs it true?phankao:
That's bc they set the affiliated COP.
Non-affiliated COP cannot differ too much from other years bc seriously, how many more kids with high 250s-260s can there be. Surely most would still go to RI/HCI/NUSH and so CHS would still be receiving roughly the same type of students as before, just that now they qualify for IP and don't need to do O-levels.
the good thing about being in a dual-track school is that, if really the child cannot cope in the end in IP, can move to O-level track. Likewise, if the child is a late developer, can move to IP track at Sec 3. This is what is practised all these years at ACS(I) which was previously the only Dual-Track IP/O-lvl school. -
Soβ¦ The 1-9 for this year isnβt Sports Class?
I didnβt know that -
Ichigokun:
So... The 1-9 for this year isn't Sports Class?
I didn't know that 
Think its 1-8 -
Thanks Phankao & Mummy So Kiasu for your replies..
Wishing all CHS boys & parents a Happy Lunar 'Snake' New Year!!! -
cheated?
non-affiliated boy cheated and ended up last in class. -
JonC:
Yes, in the SA2. So he got zero for his paper, hence became last in class. Actually boys who came in Non-affiliated, should be of good standard. Don't know why need to cheat.
cheated?phankao:
non-affiliated boy cheated and ended up last in class. -
Many possible reasons. Maybe felt pressured to do well due to stress fr parents, self or teacher.
Careermum:
Many possible reasons. Maybe felt pressured to do well due to stress fr parents, self or teacher.
Some more it was for English Paper.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.