Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?
pirate:
Firstly, you are wrong, there is property tax on gain from property trading/speculation, (sell more than 3 properties within 3 years, you will receive a letter/call from IRAS to ask you to pay property gain :evil: ).
I never say property tax wor. I say increase income tax on rental income. I also say impose income tax on gain from property trading/speculation. Only rich got more than one property to have net rental income and trade in properties.
If you talk about increase income tax on rental income, then the rich has already paid for all these tax at the higher bracket. Let me tell you, most rich are buying properties to preserve value and they will leave those properties for very very long term..
Think about increasing high income tax bracket for high income la and think about how to help Singaporean from hitting hard on GST for those who are not working or ill (SAHW, retire, children, poor sick etc.).
I don't say abolish GST.. -
JannettLee:
It's good fun trying to debate tax policies with people who don't know the difference between income tax and property tax.
Firstly, you are wrong, there is property tax on gain from property trading/speculation, (sell more than 3 properties within 3 years, you will receive a letter/call from IRAS to ask you to pay property gain :evil: ).pirate:
I never say property tax wor. I say increase income tax on rental income. I also say impose income tax on gain from property trading/speculation. Only rich got more than one property to have net rental income and trade in properties.
If you talk about increase income tax on rental income, then the rich has already paid for all these tax at the higher bracket. Let me tell you, most rich are buying properties to preserve value and they will leave those properties for very very long term..
Think about increasing high income tax bracket for high income la and think about how to help Singaporean from hitting hard on GST for those who are not working or ill (SAHW, retire, children, poor sick etc.).
I don't say abolish GST..
I can talk to you about the difference between a flat rate income tax on rental income and a marginal rate income tax on rental income, but that would be like :stupid:
I say 3 properties within 3 years is too liberal. Even 1 property should be considered trading if not owner occupied and sold within 10 years. Long-term investment is good. Short term flipping is bad. :evil: -
pirate:
It's good fun trying to debate tax policies with people who don't know the difference between income tax and property tax.
Firstly, you are wrong, there is property tax on gain from property trading/speculation, (sell more than 3 properties within 3 years, you will receive a letter/call from IRAS to ask you to pay property gain :evil: ).JannettLee:
[quote=\"pirate\"]
I can talk to you about the difference between a flat rate income tax on rental income and a marginal rate income tax on rental income, but that would be like :stupid:
I say 3 properties within 3 years is too liberal. Even 1 property should be considered trading if not owner occupied and sold within 10 years. Long-term investment is good. Short term flipping is bad. :evil:[/quote]You don't even have the property for rent (as I know you are trying to get one) and you don't incur the property tax, you don't know the bigger picture about the overall income tax calculation and started to belittle others' statement.
I purposely put down selling 3 properties within 3 years for property gain to see how knowledgeable you are about the property investment! hahaha.. and you are indeed fallen into my trap. The example of property gain tax are the old trick liao la >2 years ago.
Those who are knowledgeable will know what is the equivalent charges now be it speculate for short term or long term. :evil:
BTW, you don't even debate the tax policies!
Anyway, I'm not here to teach you more and become smart. -
JannettLee:
Har? You got one to sell meh? Nobody cares any more about your ramblings on property and tax anyway.You don't even have the property for rent (as I know you are trying to get one) and you don't incur the property tax, you don't know the bigger picture about the overall income tax calculation and started to belittle others' statement.
I purposely put down selling 3 properties within 3 years for property gain to see how knowledgeable you are about the property investment! hahaha.. and you are indeed fallen into my trap. The example of property gain tax are the old trick liao la >2 years ago.
Those who are knowledgeable will know what is the equivalent charges now be it speculate for short term or long term. :evil:
BTW, you don't even debate the tax policies!
Anyway, I'm not here to teach you more and become smart.
It's really good fun rattling your chain. You never notice I got nothing better to do than sit around and write inane posts on KSP all day meh? -
After 130+ pages, this is indeed the BEST post I have read in this thread.. :goodpost:
I take every opportunities to tell the kids why they need to go to school - one of the things is learning responsibility.
DD was supposed to complete an art last week, and bring it to school today. I had been reminding her to quickly get it done, but she procrastinated, until today, she woke up crying remembering her unfinished art. That's when I hit on the punch line, \"See, this is why you need to go to school - to learn to be responsible and bear with the consequences of your action!\" She likes to be a good student and wants to be in the teachers' good books, but she had work on it to achieve it. Many good lessons and life skills can be learnt from going to school. I'll see how she deals with the 'consequences' today.. :evil: -
firefly38:
:oops: Oh my, with such a compliment, good thing I am just in front of a computer - I am turning crimson, with head swelling that my eyeballs are popping out! Better take 5! :siam:
After 130+ pages, this is indeed the BEST post I have read in this thread.. :goodpost:concern2:
I take every opportunities to tell the kids why they need to go to school - one of the things is learning responsibility.
DD was supposed to complete an art last week, and bring it to school today. I had been reminding her to quickly get it done, but she procrastinated, until today, she woke up crying remembering her unfinished art. That's when I hit on the punch line, \"See, this is why you need to go to school - to learn to be responsible and bear with the consequences of your action!\" She likes to be a good student and wants to be in the teachers' good books, but she had work on it to achieve it. Many good lessons and life skills can be learnt from going to school. I'll see how she deals with the 'consequences' today.. :evil: -
:oops: Oh my, with such a compliment, good thing I am just in front of a computer - I am turning crimson, with head swelling that my eyeballs are popping out! Better take 5! :siam:[/quote]Wa, didn't know you are so Drama Mama wan..
After 130+ pages, this is indeed the BEST post I have read in this thread.. :goodpost:firefly38:
[quote=\"concern2\"]
DD was supposed to complete an art last week, and bring it to school today. I had been reminding her to quickly get it done, but she procrastinated, until today, she woke up crying remembering her unfinished art. That's when I hit on the punch line, \"See, this is why you need to go to school - to learn to be responsible and bear with the consequences of your action!\" She likes to be a good student and wants to be in the teachers' good books, but she had work on it to achieve it. Many good lessons and life skills can be learnt from going to school. I'll see how she deals with the 'consequences' today.. :evil:
But i meant every single word I said..
Just relax:
Unfortunately PMETs who are non-Malaysian FTs seem to look down on locals. I wonder why :?
bcoz the govt have been telling everyone that we need them(FT), and we would not have jobs w/o them(FT) repeatedly and repeatedly like a broken record?
Hence, FT get the impression the local are relying on FTs to survive.. the country needs them....... etc.. -
Then commercial & industrial properties owned & monopolized by a few big players how? Can ask govt to introduce cooling measures here by banning them from buying & owning whole building or >1 unit etc? Many people's businesses are suffering from jack up rentals & have no choice but to pass some down to consumers. Cooling measure for commercial & industrial properties are long overdued!
pirate:
Firstly, you are wrong, there is property tax on gain from property trading/speculation, (sell more than 3 properties within 3 years, you will receive a letter/call from IRAS to ask you to pay property gain :evil: ).JannettLee:
[quote=\"pirate\"]I never say property tax wor. I say increase income tax on rental income. I also say impose income tax on gain from property trading/speculation. Only rich got more than one property to have net rental income and trade in properties.

I say 3 properties within 3 years is too liberal. Even 1 property should be considered trading if not owner occupied and sold within 10 years. Long-term investment is good. Short term flipping is bad. :evil:[/quote] -
Moonsun55:
Then commercial & industrial properties owned & monopolized by a few big players how? Can ask govt to introduce cooling measures here by banning them from buying & owning whole building or >1 unit etc? Many people's businesses are suffering from jack up rentals & have no choice but to pass some down to consumers. Cooling measure for commercial & industrial properties are long overdued!
There are sufficient commercial & industrial properties (not very well managed) where rent is not very high. Most of them are in old strata-titled buildings. Ok lah, they are not very nice. But if you want nice location, nice building, nice human traffic... then you pay a premium lor.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.