Club Super Aunties

666 Posts 61 Posters 318.5k Views 1 Watching

Maybe cos among my friends, I go grocery shopping more than I do fashion shopping and I am preferring wet markets to supermarkets.

sama sama.

I do not go to wet markets...prices of vegetables subject to stallholders' fancies. If I go to supermarket, I can buy a handful and yet price is still fixed.
      Buy more, buy little...up to me.

I go to Popular more often than Robinsons or Ion.

Harlequin

highheels:
        All Super Aunties, I have a question. Any way to tell if apples/oranges/pears/plums etc are sweet?

Grapes I know, because I always eat one or two before buying :yikes: Dont judge me, im sure some of you do too!!!

But as for other fruits, always at a loss, then always end up with sour fruits..
        i judge by the weight, the heavier of the same size is the sweeter and juicier one.
        For pear, the smoother the skin, the sweeter.
        For orange, the weight and the smoothness of the skin.

Ahem, guess I am a super auntie too πŸ•Ί

How come packaging state prime ribs for raw meat, I still get dry meat when cooked in soup? Any tips for choosing ?

iFirefly

Harlequin:
            highheels:

All Super Aunties, I have a question. Any way to tell if apples/oranges/pears/plums etc are sweet?

Grapes I know, because I always eat one or two before buying :yikes: Dont judge me, im sure some of you do too!!!

But as for other fruits, always at a loss, then always end up with sour fruits..

i judge by the weight, the heavier of the same size is the sweeter and juicier one.
            For pear, the smoother the skin, the sweeter.
            For orange, the weight and the smoothness of the skin.

Ahem, guess I am a super auntie too πŸ•Ί

:yikes: I Thot you were a DADDY !!! :shock: :siam:

I thought she was Mamago!

To be safe, think now i betta-go. :siam:

So, that makes me the most auntie, topping at 15 points, right? πŸ˜“

I also scored 15 points leh... but for obvious reasons, I don't qualify as super aunty πŸ˜†

Aiyoh, gender issue nia mah.
                Just change title oni.

I got one! :idea:

Super Ah-Pek for you then, yah? πŸ˜†

Cool.. It's been some time since I checked off this kind of test. Mebbe the last time was from one of those Teens magazines from school days, you know... those that ask you to self-test for.. \"Try this to see if you are a loving girlfriend..\" or \"Check off this list to see where you stand on Are You A Good Friend..\"... etc etc.. So... I'll have a go at this quickie from Chiefy. :evil: (answers in bold + reasons in the same shade)

Chiefy's Quickie Super Aunty Test

OK... here's my 6-point Super Aunty Test. Give yourself 1 point for A, 2 points for B, ... and so on. Add all up and report your score.

1) Grocery shopping
                  a. Is something that others do for you
                  b. Is a chore
                  c. Is therapeutic
                  d. Is a chance to save, save, save!

Yes, therapeutic. Even with the babies. They love it too. :please: Educational ok? Kill two birds with one stone. No wait. Make it three, since I have two boys. πŸ˜„

2) Plastic bags provided by supermarkets
                  a. kill the environment
                  b. cannot be brought into high class restaurants
                  c. are useful for bagging rubbish for disposal
                  d. are useful for wrapping presents

Bo-pian hor! I don't have a garbage chute from inside the house! Quit looking at me like I purposely wanna kill environment hor. :rant:

3) When canned food expire for less than 1 month,
                  a. Just throw away lor
                  b. Give to ah dog or ah cat
                  c. Give to the maid
                  d. Make a lot of noise at supermarket until they exchange new one for you.

Plan A : I don't necessarily make a lot of noise most times. In my nicest tone, I ask a guy tending the cans.. :please: Sorry, but can help me? :please:

Plan B : If the above doesn't work, I morph into my serious I wanna speak to your manager.. and yes, I'll wait.. with my arms folded in and fingers tapping on my arm.. :evil:

4) Talking loudly to store clerks
                  a. Is rude and uncouth
                  b. Is needed only if the CNY music is too loud
                  c. Makes things move faster
                  d. Loud? I loud meh?

I where got loud. Tactful nia. :preen:

5) Going to shopping centre in slippers/sandals
                  a. I would rather die first
                  b. Only if I am on MC and I wear some really dark shades
                  c. Is practical and comfy for shopping
                  d. Provides competitive advantage since you can get to sales faster than anyone else

My edge is that I have closed door membership sale because I have the CARD. Member hor. We get to sample the mangoes first. :evil: What's wrong with wearing slippers? Neighbourhood mall nia mah. Just a nice pair of shorts or skinny jeans and a cool tank top, nobody even looks down at my feet to check if I'm in slippers. πŸ†’

6) Doggy-bagging unfinished food in restaurants
                  a. I would rather die first
                  b. Can be lunch for ah dog or ah cat
                  c. Can be lunch for the maid
                  d. Can be my breakfast, dinner and lunch for the next day.

Who say cannot? Too shy to ask? Ahah! That's why they have BYOB day. πŸ˜‚

PS : The only time I was 'gently' advised I couldn't bag them was during the 1 for 1 at Swensens. :razz: I got a : We are sorry ma'am.. These can't be packed off due to the nature of the promo. You hafta finish everything on the table within the restaurant. As I quietly whipped out my own tie-string baggies, he turned and gestured a no-no finger at me and mouthed.. 'cannot take away'.. :frustrated:

Ya. We all went out bloated and pretty much STUFFED!

The plus? No need to eat dinner.

longmao.irene:

Wahaha... I can!!!!
                    In order smore!!! Beginning wif d \"thickest\"!!!
                    1. Cold storage
                    2. Ntuc
                    3.sheng shiong
                    4. N d worst..... Giant!!!!! :xedfingers:

OK. You are confirmed super auntie, just like buds πŸ˜† I learnt it from her.

longmao.irene : :hi5:

Chiefy : :heresmyfish: Here's fish from my plastic bag.

By the way, you learn fast. Good good. πŸ˜‰

piyobaby

I scored 13 points for the test.... :imcool:

Hit any shopping mall, by default will auto pilot to supermarket to look look see see. Even if I forced myself to shop, it will be over in a flash but could spent so much time in supermarket even if thr's nothing to buy. 🀷

If ever there is a war, my kids would never ever suffered. Judging from my stockpile of formula milk, diapers, wet wipes etc, beat the provision shop downstairs hand downs anytime :rahrah:

piyobaby:
                        Hit any shopping mall, by default will auto pilot to supermarket to look look see see. Even if I forced myself to shop, it will be over in a flash but could spent so much time in supermarket even if thr's nothing to buy. 🀷
                        My store room has many packs of toilet rolls & tissue...esp Hello Kitty ones. 2 for $8.45...boxes so pretty, can't resist.

For me, when I hit shopping mall in town, first dept is children.
                        I managed to get several good buys when I went to Taka atrium.

As an aunty, I always make sure I have sufficient stand by items of everything...coffee powder, filter bags, shampoo, Lux, Jiff, detergent etc etc.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 22 / 67

tigroxbystellaT
                        tigroxbystella
                        shijieS
                        shijie