Club Breastfeeding Mums
Hi buds, when i started breastfeeding, he took some bottle feeding in the first week. After my supply came in, he was purely latch on for about 5 months before i went back to work. He was okay with bottle feeding from 6th month until recently hitting 18 months old, he start to reject bottle feeding and he is more clingy to my breast than before. I wonder what went wrong...he turn my breast into comfort item, he wasn't on pacificer at all from birth till now.
Sembgal, u breastfeed for 4 yrs? Dumex All in one...hmmm thanks...maybe will try that out if the situation continues. Mine is willing to feed ebm on bottle with music and entertainment at the background for now
Tano, sound like your situation is similiar to mine. I pump once at work currently but couldn't drop the pumping because by 2pm, i had full breasts....dun think can tahan till 8pm! I just pump enough, and leave more for latch on at night. Currently i only pump out 100ml, planning to stop if the supply dropped to 30ml but, it stayed at 100ml to 120ml for half a yr already! -
Shin Yan:
Your situation is what I had gone through for myself. I used to pump once during lunch break. It will get engorged but u will get used to it. In evening, the child latched on all the time and is a source of comfort and will only fall asleep while breast feeding. It takes time and patience to breast feed a child. Yah 4 long years till I felt that my supply is not doing any justice to my child and will get my child to try milk powder sample hoping she weaned off breastmilk slowly. Initially Dumex All in One was the favourite till it was replaced by Gain IQ. Now it has been replaced to Pediasure as it helps to lengthen my child's body.Hi buds, when i started breastfeeding, he took some bottle feeding in the first week. After my supply came in, he was purely latch on for about 5 months before i went back to work. He was okay with bottle feeding from 6th month until recently hitting 18 months old, he start to reject bottle feeding and he is more clingy to my breast than before. I wonder what went wrong...he turn my breast into comfort item, he wasn't on pacificer at all from birth till now.
Sembgal, u breastfeed for 4 yrs? Dumex All in one...hmmm thanks...maybe will try that out if the situation continues. Mine is willing to feed ebm on bottle with music and entertainment at the background for now
Tano, sound like your situation is similiar to mine. I pump once at work currently but couldn't drop the pumping because by 2pm, i had full breasts....dun think can tahan till 8pm! I just pump enough, and leave more for latch on at night. Currently i only pump out 100ml, planning to stop if the supply dropped to 30ml but, it stayed at 100ml to 120ml for half a yr already!
All breast feeding mums who have to work in the day and have to wake up in the middle of nite to breast feed will tell you that it is no easy feat. Be proud that you breast feed your child. 一切都是值得的! -
Shin Yan: my ‘fullness’ problem is smaller than urs. i pump once mid/late aftern, over time i have successfully endure & drop some supply til nearer to off-work time. next step is to get thru the whole day w/o pump. u pump to supply that bottle (ebm) when u are out to work right? me too. if i drop the pump, will hav to feed fm liao.
sembgal: not all bf mums i knw wake up in the middle of night. i think i am just amg the unlucky ones that my girl hasnt slept thru at 18mths. mayb it is not my girl’s fault, might be some accidental parenting i hav done.
Don’t u all find that it is such a weird situation? in the earlier days we try our best to latch latch latch. success! then nw we try to cajole them use bottle bottle bottle… -
Tano, yes, i pump that bottle ebm while at work. Although i say mine is full, but it yield only 100ml after pump with one side more full than the other. I tried delay the pump to late afternoon for a few consecutive days but kena engorgement on one side in the end, with fever running. So guess i got to go back to the natural course to let the supply reduce slowly over time.
Well, i am also the unlucky one whom still need to wake up in the middle of the night to breastfeed, up to sometimes 4 times at night! I haven’t heard of the lucky ones though. Maybe it is not the milk that matters, is the character of the child. However i am thankful that i am not waking up to prepare fm, that is even worse. At least while latching on, i can just fall asleep anytime and let my boy do self service at the milking "machine", haha. -
perhaps u do a quick 5min relieve-pain pump (or use hand to release) at noon & do a mid aftern pump (to make up ur ebm feed). that will help u work towards ur later pump time target.
:hugs: my records of waking up is 1-4X a night too. & i hav an early riser whom will ask for morning milk at 530am. i try to get to bed by 1030-11pm to survive. my fren's bb is 5mths nw, she bf & her bb has already slept thru. of cos, each bb's nature matters. -
Hi all, joined this club as I am a breastfeeding mum too. Breastfeeding my 17 month old now and he’s on total breastfeed since birth. Sadly, I’m having sensitive and painful nipples due to pregnancy (now 4 month preg with second one) and hope to wean son off breastmilk but he’s too determined on having his milk milk. Not easy to wean him off!
Tano:
buds, u mentioned u continued to bf while working ya? til ur kid is rather old? did u pump at work or totally stop pump & only latch whenever u are hm? my current situation is trying to drop the one pump. problem is i go hm w a full & slightly painful *ahem* supply and that is her dinner time; she usually only latch on abt 9pm bedtime.
Yes, one feed before i'm off to work. Sometimes latch on directly if i have more time to spare. If not, mumsie will feed from the bottle. I would have expressed a full bottle for her before leaving for work in this case. 250ml... but most times more.
Because i express till it's an empty sock before i reach my office, it takes up till max 2pm (if i take late lunch break) to be fully engorged. Read : rock hard melons. I usually express before going for lunch or sometimes i just eat in. My threshold of pain is kinda good cos the longest i've lasted without expressing was till the time i reached home... yes since the last morning expression. By then, one of the parents (of the students i was teaching) gestured with a chin-up and with a look her corner of the eye and told me when i dismissed the students...\"Go home, go home, quick! Your baby is hungry liao.\" My breast pad was leaking. It was nice of her to lemme noe. We are no longer parent-teacher now but instead, friends till today. I flagged a cab that day and fed DD immediately once i was home and expressed the other breast.
DD used to have one feed once i reached home and another after dinner when she goes off to sleep.Tano:
:yikes:btw Nihauma, my girl still refuses the bottle. i fd that it is faster to spoonfeed her (she happily takes it via spoon) than to persuade her repeatedly to use the bottle teat properly! i think cc teacher can do that right? spoon feed? intending to send her to cc in another half yr.
:faint: -
buds' supply superb...
I also had a leaking experience. on the way hm on mrt... fortunately i was in black blouse
cant wait to retire my trusty pump!
i think cc teacher can do that right? spoon feed?
DON'T do that la...
perhaps the teacher will entertain me? i am v surprised my sil's cc teacher agree to feeding supplement (fish oil) on her behalf during cc time.
will intro cup to dd2 soon. she fed herself some rice last night, aiming power not bad :rahrah:
hello lyra! congrats on ur 2nd! -
hi i am trying to continue latching my 11mth #1 as my supply drop as i now have #2 edd Oct 2013.
Any mummies have similar experience? my supply is very pitiful now… -
[email protected]:
http://kellymom.com/hi i am trying to continue latching my 11mth #1 as my supply drop as i now have #2 edd Oct 2013.
Any mummies have similar experience? my supply is very pitiful now...
this website answered a lot of my qns. mayb u can read up there?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.